Are we close to remisson or should BG's be below 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
Its has been a while since I posted. I have been working a lot of hours. And I have been working hard to get Frodo to stay in good numbers. As long as I can keep him eating small meals, which isn't to hard as he does not eat a lot at one sitting, his numbers have been really good. I feed him a 1/4 can first thing in the morning after testing & shot if needed. Then give him another 1/4 before I leave for work at 6a.m. His feeder has two meals of a 1/4 can each, so that is 1 can. When I get home I test and feed 1/4 can, shot if needed. When I leave for my second job I put out 1/4 can and reload feeder with two meals of 1/4 each. So there is can number 2.

As you can see from his ss I haven't been shooting very much. I am a little timid about shooting below 110 if I am not going to be there with him. One question is do I need to shot, even the smallest of drops? I was thinking I should be trying to get him down in the green numbers and holding without a shot to be considered in remission. Is this correct? Just not sure where the cut off should be, as you can see on the ss on the 29th he was at 140 I shot .3 then 2 hours later he was down to 47. So you can see why I am so timid.

2nd question is how do you get them to lose weight without compromising their BG? He had lost some weight before I found out he was out of remission and running in the 300's. Now that he is regulated he has gained the weight back, not sure what he weighs as I don't have a scale. When he was first diagnosed with Diabeties he weighed 22 pounds, and when he was diagnosed for the 2nd time he was sitting at 16lbs. I am guessing he is at least 18lbs now. But he has always been a big kitty, when I took him out of the streets he was about 4 months old and weighed 8lbs. He is a big boy in statue and he does have a waist if you look down on him. He is very chesty?!? Plus he is playing so much more than I have seen him do in a long time.

Sorry this is so long, but I am just confused as to what I should be doing now and if low blues are good or I should be trying for greens? And if going for the greens what is to low if there is a 20% variance on the meters? And how do you get them to lose the weight? He seems to be feeling so much better I just don't want to screw it up and have him start feeling bad again.

Thanks for any and all help or comments.
Nancey
 
What a lovely looking spreadsheet! I think you are doing beautifully, Nancey. A cat is in remission when he ranges between 40 and 120, without insulin,with the majority of the time spent in double digits. After 2 weeks in this range, we can have an OTJ party for him!

I think you are doing this just right. Maybe if you get 140 again, give .1 ( I know, a drop!) See if that keeps him out of the 40s.

Other than the first few weeks of this sugar dance, this part is the most nerve wracking. You want him OTJ but giving insulin at lower numbers is scary.

As far as the weight, he seems close. Could you find some foods lower in fats at the same carb level to see if that trims him down a bit?
 
Thanks Sue, I have been so amazed at the difference in Frodo's personality since his BG's are lower. He use to be so mouthy and now he is just such a laid back kitty that is playing more than I have seen him do in several years. He still talks to me but at least he is hollering all the time :-D . I could not have gotten him this far without all the wonderful advice and feedback from this forum. You and Carl, as well as others, have really helped me feel more at ease treating him. I tell anyone that has kitties about this forum and the website as I believe there is good information here even if your cat is not diabetic.

Frodo is continuing to do good this morning dancing_cat , he has been in the double digits since yesterday afternoon!!! YAY!!!!

As for the food, I will look and see what I can find. He has pretty much sworn off chicken ever since he got sick on it a few months back. Plus I do have 3 kittens living with me at the moment, so he has been munching on their kitten foor, Core Kitten. They will be back at their place within the next week so I am hoping that will help. If you have any ideas on a food that is higher protein and lower fat I would appreciate the input. I will pull the spreadsheets and see what I can find. I also like to watch the Ash & Magnesium since there is a potential for one of my other cats to start back eating what he eats if they end up back together as she has had strulite crystals in the past.

Thanks again for all Your advice and feedback.
Nancey
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top