Fa was at one stage using more than 9 units. As we slowly increased to 9 units, I felt worried that I was not at home to monitor if we were doing an increase. Also there was a stage Fa seemed to need more than one week to settle down the new dose.Just curious - why are you on SLGS rather than TR?
Thanks a lot Wendy. Yesterday our vet said we can get Actilax over the counter. She said we should try to give more water and get Fafa move more before using Actilax. I wish we could but today she licks her lips again and I think that’s sign of nausea. She had it before with upset tummy. I am not sure if I should go get the liquid now.Good luck with the new dose.
As far as constipation, many people use polyethylene glycol, brand name Miralax in the US, Restoralax in Canada. And you need to add plenty of water. Side note: PEG or polyethyene glycol is the ingredient in the Pfizer vaccine that people could be allergic to. I was joking to the doc who gave me about my shot about allergies to my cat's Restoralax. Seriously though, a new website for you: https://felineconstipation.org/
I have just made some pumpkin purée and will add to her food tonight. If she still can’t poop yet I will go get what the vet suggests. I can see Fafa is meowing more and I think she starting to feel it.Constipation can make them feel nauseous. Lip licking is a sign of nausea.
I am more comfortable to TR.
So sorry I have confused you. I actually forgot some of the differences. I cannot remember the 50 and 90 difference.Ok, so I'm more confused - are you saying you're on TR? Your SS says SLGS and also your signature?
And you reduced? I'm not following your decisions - perhaps I missed out on some earlier conversations.
Reductions are typically earned when kitty goes below 50 on TR vs below 90 on SLGS or when using the AT2 meters...
Please correct me if I'm not understanding. Thank you![]()
There is always a lot to remember. You're getting there.Thank you. @Bandit's Mom @Summer and Susie .
I obviously remembered the wrong thing. I thought once nadir is under 90 we skip the shot.
Now I remember it’s only when pre-shot is under 90 then we may skip. Silly me.
My Susie is the same with with taking her time to adjust to a new increase. I increased her dose to 2.75 on 4/23 and didn't really see a big difference until the 29th. 7 days later.Fa was at one stage using more than 9 units. As we slowly increased to 9 units, I felt worried that I was not at home to monitor if we were doing an increase. Also there was a stage Fa seemed to need more than one week to settle down the new dose.
I usually do increase on Friday night so I have the whole weekend to monitor, unless I have more time that I can stay home during work days then I am more comfortable TR.
Having said that, now with the help of FDMB, Fa is using a much lower dose compared to before, I am more comfortable to TR.
I do SLGS mainly because I cannot monitor enough for TR but it is really good to know at least the dose is working after a few more days isn’t it !My Susie is the same with with taking her time to adjust to a new increase. I increased her dose to 2.75 on 4/23 and didn't really see a big difference until the 29th. 7 days later.
I do SLGS mainly because I cannot monitor enough for TR but it is really good to know at least the dose is working after a few more days isn’t it !
Yes, I will take the improvement early or late!I do SLGS mainly because I cannot monitor enough for TR but it is really good to know at least the dose is working after a few more days isn’t it !
Good notes to have on your spreadsheet, Sue.I dunno...you look like you're testing plenty
I too had the same issues - remembering all the different cut-offs, numbers...it's a lot! I had to write down a couple of notes on my SS - if you look at the top you'll see what I use as a rule of thumb for reductions - the type of insulin Luci is on (and has been on)...just some stuff to help me.
I also have some tabs where I keep notes about the food carbs I use frequently..just a bunch of stuff to help me remember all the details![]()
Sometimes my husband managed to get home at lunch time to test. In the past year covid made it possible to work from home every now and then. So you saw more of me testing .I dunno...you look like you're testing plenty
I too had the same issues - remembering all the different cut-offs, numbers...it's a lot! I had to write down a couple of notes on my SS - if you look at the top you'll see what I use as a rule of thumb for reductions - the type of insulin Luci is on (and has been on)...just some stuff to help me.
I also have some tabs where I keep notes about the food carbs I use frequently..just a bunch of stuff to help me remember all the details![]()
Otherwise I won’t be home between 9 and 5.And you SS looks really good . I should try to do this too. Thanks for this . It helps.I dunno...you look like you're testing plenty
I too had the same issues - remembering all the different cut-offs, numbers...it's a lot! I had to write down a couple of notes on my SS - if you look at the top you'll see what I use as a rule of thumb for reductions - the type of insulin Luci is on (and has been on)...just some stuff to help me.
I also have some tabs where I keep notes about the food carbs I use frequently..just a bunch of stuff to help me remember all the details![]()
Hi Wendy. Just so you know we made it. After pumpkin purée, coconut oil and a bit of massage , Fafa finally pooped . I guess coconut oil was the main help. What a relieve.Good luck with the new dose.
As far as constipation, many people use polyethylene glycol, brand name Miralax in the US, Restoralax in Canada. And you need to add plenty of water. Side note: PEG or polyethyene glycol is the ingredient in the Pfizer vaccine that people could be allergic to. I was joking to the doc who gave me about my shot about allergies to my cat's Restoralax. Seriously though, a new website for you: https://felineconstipation.org/