Approaching remission too late?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elinor & Sibon

Member Since 2017
I know that if a cat is showing signs of remission and you stop giving insulin too soon, he might fall out of remission quicker and it could be harder to get there again. But my question is if you know if there is a point where I might be the one to blame that my cat is insulin-dependent because his pancreas could handle the BG on its own and I continued to inject?

I hope I made myself clear.
Thanks.
 
You're never to blame for anything....we all do the best we can with the knowledge we have.

Now as far as Simon goes, I think he's looking pretty good, but you are rushing it a bit.

We want to see him in normal numbers (50-120 with most of those numbers under 100) for at least 7 days before reducing the dose again. Looks like you only held the .25 dose for 3 days.

We make it hard for them to earn reductions on purpose because we DO want a strong remission, not a fast one!

We want to see him in normal numbers for 7 days....then reduce to .1.....then maybe even reduce further to 1 drop.....and if he continues in good numbers, then he'd start a 2 week OTJ trial with no insulin at all before we'd consider him in remission
 
You're never to blame for anything....we all do the best we can with the knowledge we have.

Now as far as Simon goes, I think he's looking pretty good, but you are rushing it a bit.

We want to see him in normal numbers (50-120 with most of those numbers under 100) for at least 7 days before reducing the dose again. Looks like you only held the .25 dose for 3 days.

We make it hard for them to earn reductions on purpose because we DO want a strong remission, not a fast one!

We want to see him in normal numbers for 7 days....then reduce to .1.....then maybe even reduce further to 1 drop.....and if he continues in good numbers, then he'd start a 2 week OTJ trial with no insulin at all before we'd consider him in remission

I've read your response several times since last week. I do have another question- Could there be a scenario where a cat could show similar readings if you were to continue injecting tiny amounts of insulin or if you took him OTJ?
I hope I'm making sense.
For example, I always thought that only if BG is below ~55 then I should decrease, but I assume it's not like that with 0.1/1 drop and completely no insulin?
 
If I understand your question, let's see if this helps to explain.

We want our kitties to stay on insulin as long as safely possible to give their pancreas the longest possible time to heal. We make them "earn" each reduction and then make sure that the reduced dose is going to continue to work to keep them in normal numbers. If the numbers start to go up again, then the reduction has "failed" and we go back up to the last dose that worked to keep them in normal numbers as much as possible.

The whole idea is to give the pancreas as much support as possible so we get a strong remission, not necessarily a fast one.

It doesn't matter if they're on 1U or 1 drop......we want whatever the dose is to be getting them into normal numbers (and hopefully below 100)

To "earn" a reduction, they either drop below 50 OR stay in normal numbers for at least 7 days (between 50-120 with most days under 100)

When we get them down to a tiny dose like .1 or 1 drop, the rules are still the same

Once they've either dropped below 50 OR stayed in normal numbers for 7 days on the 1 drop dose, the only "reduced" dose is none, so it's time to start an OTJ trial.

If they can then stay in normal numbers for 14 days with NO insulin at all, we consider them in remission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top