? Anyone switched from Lantus to Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lbwise

Member Since 2016
Hello!! My kitty LB is on Lantus but even with incremental increases his numbers still seem to be going up. I am puzzled and wonder if I should inquire about a different insulin such as Prozinc.. was wondering if anyone else had this experience with their kitty?

Thanks so much!!
 
Hi! You haven't been on Lantus very long. Sometimes it takes awhile to find the right dose. You're feeding low carb wet, but I seem to remember you have one kitty still on dry? If so, are you sure LB isn't getting any? I found that my Cat was finding pieces that my kibble addicts had spilled even though I thought I had cleaned them all up! Also, when a cat has been in higher numbers for awhile, their body becomes used to it and it takes more insulin to break through the resistance, but then they start to come down. I would give Lantus some more time before considering a change. Having said that, the best insulin is the one that works for your kitty! Perhaps @Bobbie And Bubba can shed some light, as she's used both insulins.
 
Hi There! I would agree with Sharon that you need to give the Lantus some more time and I think LB hasn't hit the right dose yet. Bubba was on ProZinc for 6 months and we switched to Lantus 7 months ago and I am so glad we did. But like Sharon said the best insulin for you cat is the one that works. And with some more time hitting the right dose I think you will see some good changes.

It took Bubba to get to 5.25 units twice a day until he started making progress and earning reductions. It is now 7 months later and he is on a micro dose and tomorrow with be getting a drop and hopefully starting soon on an Off the Juice trail. I hope that gives you hope and to be patient with the process because our kitties didn't get diabetic overnight and they aren't going to get regulated over night.

With systematic increases with the SLGS method, you are following, and a low carb wet diet, LB will get there. It looks like you are available to test frequently and if you switched to TR you could do the increases faster than holding the dose for 7 days. Just an idea.
 
Hi! You haven't been on Lantus very long. Sometimes it takes awhile to find the right dose. You're feeding low carb wet, but I seem to remember you have one kitty still on dry? If so, are you sure LB isn't getting any? I found that my Cat was finding pieces that my kibble addicts had spilled even though I thought I had cleaned them all up! Also, when a cat has been in higher numbers for awhile, their body becomes used to it and it takes more insulin to break through the resistance, but then they start to come down. I would give Lantus some more time before considering a change. Having said that, the best insulin is the one that works for your kitty! Perhaps @Bobbie And Bubba can shed some light, as she's used both insulins.
Thanks so much! That is helpful information. Yes I don't believe other then that 1 instance he is getting any dry... going to up Lantus dosage tonight to 1.5.. I also can't help but wonder if I should buy another bottle in case something wrong with this one? Will wait on that.. most likely he just needs more insulin...Thanks again!!!!
 
If you think your insulin is bad, get the pens rather than the vial, you should be able to use it to the last drop. Some pharmacies will sell a single pen and sometimes you can find it in the Supply Closet.
 
Hi There! I would agree with Sharon that you need to give the Lantus some more time and I think LB hasn't hit the right dose yet. Bubba was on ProZinc for 6 months and we switched to Lantus 7 months ago and I am so glad we did. But like Sharon said the best insulin for you cat is the one that works. And with some more time hitting the right dose I think you will see some good changes.

It took Bubba to get to 5.25 units twice a day until he started making progress and earning reductions. It is now 7 months later and he is on a micro dose and tomorrow with be getting a drop and hopefully starting soon on an Off the Juice trail. I hope that gives you hope and to be patient with the process because our kitties didn't get diabetic overnight and they aren't going to get regulated over night.

With systematic increases with the SLGS method, you are following, and a low carb wet diet, LB will get there. It looks like you are available to test frequently and if you switched to TR you could do the increases faster than holding the dose for 7 days. Just an idea.
Thank you so much for your post.This was very helpful information. I am curious if you titrated up to the 5.25 in .25 united or higher. The vet is suggesting 1.75 for LB.. I am thinking I will do 1.5 for 6 cycles and then up to 1.75. I am not formally doing tight regulation but my testing and dosage changes seem to be leading that way. I need to look over sticky some more and make sure I understand it. So happy for you and Bubba. That is exciting!!!
 
Thank you so much for your post.This was very helpful information. I am curious if you titrated up to the 5.25 in .25 united or higher. The vet is suggesting 1.75 for LB.. I am thinking I will do 1.5 for 6 cycles and then up to 1.75. I am not formally doing tight regulation but my testing and dosage changes seem to be leading that way. I need to look over sticky some more and make sure I understand it. So happy for you and Bubba. That is exciting!!!
We moved up in increments of .25 unit. With TR you can take the dose up every 3 days or 6 cycles if nadirs are not desirable.

How about you start posting in the Lantus forum and let the peeps there help you with dosing. They helped me so much! If you need help with dosing, put a ? mark in your title and the peeps there read those first. You are on the West Coast and a lot of peeps are in your time zone. Any questions, just ask away as that is how we all learned and I am still learning!
 
We moved up in increments of .25 unit. With TR you can take the dose up every 3 days or 6 cycles if nadirs are not desirable.

How about you start posting in the Lantus forum and let the peeps there help you with dosing. They helped me so much! If you need help with dosing, put a ? mark in your title and the peeps there read those first. You are on the West Coast and a lot of peeps are in your time zone. Any questions, just ask away as that is how we all learned and I am still learning!
Thanks so much! I have been posting on the Lantus board. I just got curious about the Prozinc today in my frustration. They on LAntus as well as you have been very helpful!!!
 
I switched Leo from Lantus to PZI about a month ago. He was at 9 units twice a day, and nadir of 250-300. So we're trying PZI now. Unfortunately he is requiring high PZI doses too. He probably has one of the high dose problems. Anyhow, he's currently at 10 units twice daily and at 350 nadir. In summary, PZI doesn't always fix unresponsive cats.
 
I switched Leo from Lantus to PZI about a month ago. He was at 9 units twice a day, and nadir of 250-300. So we're trying PZI now. Unfortunately he is requiring high PZI doses too. He probably has one of the high dose problems. Anyhow, he's currently at 10 units twice daily and at 350 nadir. In summary, PZI doesn't always fix unresponsive cats.
Thanks for post. Leo looks so much like LB!!! Yes I talked to my vet tonight as well and she said sometimes the cats just needs more insulin as they are very insulin resistant. Will keep trying the lantus. Hope Loe's numbers go down eventually. When i was googling around last month I read an article by someone who found a pharmacy to compound the insulin for her kitty. Said it was all that worked.
 
No problem. I hope you are able to find a good dosage. I haven't tried compounding. But I'm going to keep pushing PZI doses up until Leo gets a decent nadir. He is responsive, just resistant.

Thanks for the kudo's on the pic. Sorry, that pic is Scoobs who unfortunately just died on July 1. I need to swap the avatar to Leo...who is also a black tabby.
 
Lantus is a good insulin. So is ProZinc. As several have said, really the best insulin is the one that works for your cat. Since you so recently started with Lantus, I'd probably stick with that for now. Working with the Lantus folks as you've been doing will help. If it doesn't work...we're always here and you can always switch later! :)
 
No problem. I hope you are able to find a good dosage. I haven't tried compounding. But I'm going to keep pushing PZI doses up until Leo gets a decent nadir. He is responsive, just resistant.

Thanks for the kudo's on the pic. Sorry, that pic is Scoobs who unfortunately just died on July 1. I need to swap the avatar to Leo...who is also a black tabby.

Jeff, wondering what dose you started on? Any way we can help? We'd be glad to. That is a pretty high dose, so I'm wondering also if you thought of getting your kitty tested for the high dose conditions?
 
No problem. I hope you are able to find a good dosage. I haven't tried compounding. But I'm going to keep pushing PZI doses up until Leo gets a decent nadir. He is responsive, just resistant.

Thanks for the kudo's on the pic. Sorry, that pic is Scoobs who unfortunately just died on July 1. I need to swap the avatar to Leo...who is also a black tabby.
Sorry about Scoobs!! Such a handsome guy! Good luck finding Leo's right dose!!
 
Thanks. Scoobs was an amazing sweet kitty. Hardly an hour goes by when we don't think of him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top