"TR" is Tight Regulation (
aiming to keep kitty in euglycemic or near-euglycemic numbers for as much of the time as possible). This gives the best chance at remission; though not everyone who attempts TR can achieve this kind of control, and there are some kitties for whom it isn't suitable.
There's some general info on regulation (which puts Tight Regulation in a sort of context) in the FDMB FAQ's:
"Q6.1. What is regulation?
A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
- Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
- Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
- Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
- Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
- Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
- Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure."
http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm#regulation
Eliz