anyone around for lev. question

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
first day on lev.
amps..600+ 1 unit
5.5 275
pmps 279

considering the apparent 'surf', shall i still do another 1u ?
i am both pleased and confused by this...trying to put my pz brain away.
 
Very nice numbers -- stick with 1u for now and lets see how TomTom likes it in the morning.

If you're up for a +3 test -- go ahead and get it for your data.

don't be too surprised if Tom bounces a little when he starts getting into numbers he isn't used to. Should settle down and start to feel ggoooooodd!
 
phoebe i won't be up past +3 to test...are we sure? this is not our normal cycle. we can't afford to drop another 300 points.
 
Agree with the 1U at normal shot time. Welcome to Levemir.

If you are uncertain, feel free to back off to .75 or .5U. It's not unusual for someone new to these longer lasting insulins to be cautious, and that's OK.

You will get your footing in time.
 
phoebe he's a hoover...leaving food out lasts as long as it takes him to eat it. i kinda want to shoot 1u and i'm kinda scared...maybe skinny 1u. i can't believe these unusual #s
 
Welcome to the wonderful world of levemir

it doesn't have the sharp ups and downs of the other insulins

it builds up under the skin and is slowly absorbed as needed. ("shed")

that produces these lovely "surfing" in greens, blues and yellows instead of hitting 500 every day

of course it can lead to Hypo watches that last 20 hours if kitty gets sick / doesn't eat etc
 
welcome to lev is right venita! it's a foreign language...the weird thing is i do not know what i am looking for. these are not good #'s yet they are stabile #'s and i want slightly lower numbers and pzi is fairly predictable and.....obviously i'm lost.
 
It might be a good idea to invest in one of the timed feeders, or freeze some canned food in ice cube trays

putting down a cube or two that will thaw during the night ...
 
ohhhh, 20 hour hypo's. pheobe now i feel sooooo much better.
anyone that knows me knows i sleep like the dead.
i cannot wake up once in a deep sleep and when i do go to thebathroom i'm asleep before my head hits the pillow. one of the reasons i did not want lantus. 8-9 hours a night.
 
:roll: ok i'm shooting the skinny u.
is anyone gonna stop me?
 
pheobe i don't have the little cubes of raw, i have the big hamburger size.
and fwiw, tom sleeps like the dead also. we make good bed mates. i carry him to bed sometimes at 11 from the living room. i lift him over my shoulder and he barely breaks his snore. i lay him down on the bed he snuggles up and never opens an eye.
we are quite the pair! i don't think he would wake up to eat unless i really shrugged him awake.
 
yep, during the day tom lets me know when he's having his classically fast nose dive drop by asking for food and then falling asleep. he likes to drop 300 points in a couple of hours followed by a zoom in one hour. it's been so trying for me.
he's dosed, pilled and fed. i will test at his +3 about 11:15.
i have the 18 carb grilled ff and honey. i won't overreact...at +3 if he's dropped significantly (which is his style) i won't react to it unless it under 60 becuase he nadirs early (on pz) so low carb if above 60 and some HC if below 60. i think i got my plan.
i may end up staying up late :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top