? Any reason not to increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debbie Do

Member
Recap: My crazy vet had Bubba on an wild Prozinc ride, and the end of June he stopped eating. I stopped shooting and visited another vet. She said he probably was having a pancreatitis flare, gave me recovery food to force feed, and said to start him back on 1 unit.

I've worked him up to 1.8 (just shy of 5 on U100 syringe) and his numbers are crazy. He had a couple of instances where he got into the community food, but we've watched him diligently and have had no oopsies since Friday a.m.

I'm in the middle of doing a curve on Bubba today, and he's having high preshots and really low nadir. FWIW, he has always done this since he was diagnosed. The crazy vet kept upping his dose because of this until his preshots were just over 100, and his nadir was in the 50's. She then cut his dose by 2 units, and that's when everything went to hell.

So today he's still dropping more than 50%, but his sugar is still too high. Tomorrow morning I'm going to move him up to 2 units (his original dose), and I guess gradually increase until his midcycle is as low as it can safely go, then hold?

I don't think holding now until he's more consistent is what I should do. Right now, he's back to being lethargic, and is starting to feel bony again, so the current dose isn't helping him. Whatever is going on with him, I feel like I'm killing him right now. :(

I appreciate your thoughts.
 
I think an increase to 2 units may be a good idea. He does drop midcycle (which is good). He has more room to drop - 50 is the top of our hypo range. It is hard to tell if a cycle like his reflects too little insulin or bouncing (when his body perceives a number lower than it is used to and releases extra glucose) or if the insulin is not lasting the full 12 hours. The only way to find out is to change one thing and see what happens. If that doesn't work, then consider the other possibilities.

You are not killing him. :bighug: You are saving his life, testing and keeping him in safe ranges. No, he is not in perfect numbers but his numbers aren't awful either. The first goal is regulation, with preshots in the mid 200s and nadirs in the low 100s and double digits, but above 50.

What is CITK FOOD? Any idea of carb level?
 
Thank you, Sue. I'm reading so much, trying to apply it to Bubba, but he doesn't want to cooperate. :) I'm glad to hear his numbers aren't outrageous. I've worried about holding him at this dose to see if he would level out, which he hasn't, so we will move on!

CITK is Weruva's Cats in the Kitchen. Goldilox is about 4, and I try to stick with foods under 5 (according to the list), and pick foods with protein greater than fat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top