Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less $)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GatorsRBst

Member Since 2013
I have 2 cats, one who was recently diagnosed with diabetes. After reading much info, I have been in the process of changing both of their diets to wet food instead of dry. Scamper, my diabetic cat, is enjoying fancy feast classic - yay! Domino, my other sweetie, has a history with Crystals, which is why both cats were eating Hill's C/D (dry) previously. I had a couple cans of the c/d wet that I've been feeding Domino & he seems to like it well enough, but I'm worried about costs. Is there a less expensive, easier to find/purchase wet food that is good for kitties with a history of crystals? Does anyone know of a wet food that would be good for both cats - help with diabetes AND prevent crystals - that I could feed them both?

Thanks for your help and support. It has been invaluable to me in the last week or so since finding out about Scamper's diabetes. I appreciate the advice and thoughtful support you all provide so much!
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

A lot of times, a switch from a dry food diet to a wet food diet can help eliminate the crystals. It's the extra moisture. Adding extra water to the wet food, 1-2 Tablespoons for an applesauce like consistency adds even more water to the diet.

Many people add extra water to the wet food diet for their diabetic cats also. This is so that the cats will urinate more and flush out the kidneys more often. The excess blood glucose levels in the urine create a nutrient rich environment for bacteria to grow. Giving your cat extra water will help to flush out the bladder and kidneys and help to cut down on UTI's (urinary tract inflammation/infection) and kidney issues. If your cat is prone to developing ketones, the extra water helps to flush those out of the system also.

Because cats do not have much of a thirst drive, they often do not drink enough water to compensate for the lack of water in the dry.

This vet, Dr. Lisa Pierson has some good articles on cat nutrition and diseases related to poor nutrition. You may want to read the article on Urinary Tract Health. Feline Urinary Tract Health

Generally speaking, the basic diet recommendation for the average cat with urinary tract issues is a high protein/low carbohydrate canned food with added water.

Taking it one step further, look for one that is low in phosphorus - either below ~1.0-1.2% dry matter (not 'as fed'), or below ~250-300 mg/100 kcal.

A few quotes from that article:
Please review what I wrote about diet issues at the top of this page and also keep in mind what was discussed above regarding the fact that urine crystals are often erroneously diagnosed and the fact that they are NOT necessarily an abnormal finding that needs to be 'treated' with a prescription diet.

I do not use use 'prescription' diets except in rare cases as noted below. They are expensive and contain low quality, species-inappropriate ingredients, and are not necessary in most cases of feline urinary tract disease. I only consider the temporary use of Hill's canned s/d if I know the patient has urinary tract stones ("uroliths") - or a large amount of crystal/mucus/inflammatory cells 'sludge' (especially when the patient is male) - with a high index of suspicion for them being struvite versus calcium oxalate (CaO).

I am finding it increasingly frustrating to watch the veterinary community continue to be fixated on the pH of cat urine and the presence of urinary crystals instead of focusing on the much more important issue of dietary water content.

Many veterinarians have neglected to look at just how illogical it is to feed any cat a water-depleted dry food diet but especially one with urinary tract issues.

Instead of reflexively reaching for the prescription diets when patients present with urinary tract issues, I would like to see the emphasis switch to getting the patient off of all dry food and onto a meat-based canned food with added water.

This diet will help maintain a species-appropriate urine pH and will keep the bladder flushed out.

When I say it is illogical to feed "any" cat a diet of dry food, think about practicing preventative nutrition. Do you really want to wait until your cat develops urinary tract problems before you implement the feeding of a water-rich diet to a species with an naturally low thirst drive?

Think about closing the barn door before the horse is running down the roadway.

Bottom line, feed you cat with 'Uninary Crystals" a wet food diet with added water. The same as your diabetic cat receives.
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

Shortcut shopping list for food - low carb, low phosphorus wet foods.

Shortcut shopping list <250 phosphorus. Adapted from Rhiannon & Shadow’s shortcut list
all values are from Dr. Pierson's updated list, September 2012

carbs in % . . last number is phosphorus ( FKD cats need under 250 phosphorus)

5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Liver entree 241
5% - Friskies Special diet Turkey and Giblets dinner pate 189
5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Chicken Entree pate 242
7% - Friskies Special Diet with Salmon 228

3% Weruva Paw Lickin' chicken 196
9% Weruva Green Eggs & chicken 230
4% Weruva On the Cat Wok 163
5% Weruva Steak Frites 118
7% Weruva MidEast Feast 202

Weruva Cats in the Kitchen canned food
3% La Isla Bonita 166
8% Funk in the Trunk 250
4% Fowl Ball 180
8% Lamb Burger-ini 236
2% Chicken Frick 'A Zee 174
8% The Double Dip 248

5% - Merrick Cowboy cookout 202
8% - Merrick Grammy's pot pie 237
3% - Merrick Surf n Turf 229
9% -Merrick Turducken 219

1% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% beef – 163
2% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% turkey – 178

5% - Wellness Kitten 216
4% - Wellness chicken 219
4% - Wellness turkey 201
4% - Wellness Beef and chicken 226
6% - Wellness beef & salmon 207


8% - Wellness Core chicken/turkey/chicken liver 215
5% - Wellness Core Beef , Venison & Lamb 171

3% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Beef – 248
1% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Duck 191

2% - Natura Evo 95% chicken and turkey 155
4% - Natura Evo 95% beef – 234

2% Hounds & Gatos chicken 241
9% Hounds & Gatos Beef 250
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb/chicken/salmon 225
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb & Duck Liver 244

8% -Holistic Select chicken & lamb 222

3% Soulistic Polynesian Picnic 239
4% Soulistic Celestial Feast 250
7% Soulistic Upstream Dream 234
8% Soulistic Nautical Nirvana 228

9% Max Cat Chicken Supreme 173
8% Max Cat with savory duck 197
8% Max Cat with Savory Venison 214

8% Avoderm Chicken Chunks/gravy 234
2% Avoderm Tuna % chicken w/ veggies 241

9% Halo Succulent Salmon 227

1% Eukanuba adult Entree with gourmet chicken 239
8% Eukanuba adult Entree with Lamb and Rice 230
3% Eukanuba adult Entree with Pacific Salmon 241

7% Evolve -chicken 214
6% Evolve turkey 244

0% Natural Balance O'Fischally Scampi 244

5% Pinnacle Chicken and Ocean fish 175
5% Pinnacle Chicken and Tuna 221
4% Pinnacle Ocean Fish 231

3% Authority Chicken 238
7% Authority Turkey & Giblets 222
8% Authority Beef 249


BFF (Best Feline Friends ) also made by Weruva
BFF 2% Tuna and Chicken 234
BFF 2% Tuna and Salmon soulmates 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Shrimp Sweethearts 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Bonito Be Mine 240
BFF 2% Tuna & Tilapia Twosome 240
BFF 5% Tuna & Pumpkin Valentine 243
BFF 2% Tuna & Chicken Chuckles 234

8% Dr Fosters and Smiths Chicken 204

2% ZiwiPeak Lamb 224
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

If I wasn't already convinced that wet was the way to go, now I definitely am! I've already switched them over this weekend - extremely easy. They both took to the wet food right away, which I wasn't expecting! :razz:

You gave me such a long list of foods that would work for both cats to choose from, thanks! Friskies is the only thing I've seen in Walmart, Publix, etc., but I'm stopping by a pet store soon to find low carb treats for Scamper & will look for some of the other brands you listed while there as well. Have you priced many of them? Just wondering if you already have an idea for the best choice/least expensive option already.

Thank you so much for the help, information & guidance. I truly appreciate it! :-D
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

OTJ means off-the-juice meaning no more Insulin or juice is required. Here is the glossary from the Health Links forum glossary

Wink is a diet controlled diabetic. In remission for the last 3 months and still giving me nice BG (blood glucose) number tests once a week. BG 68 this morning. :mrgreen: Go Green!

He got there quickly after I switched him to low carb food and stopped skipping shots. Wink is a foster kitty from my local shelter and had been uncontrolled for about 4 months at the shelter.

He's doing great since he has been fostered with me.
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

Go Wink (and Deb!)!! That's awesome! I can only hope that Scamper (& Domino) will be helped with a better diet as well. I was nervous to take Domino off the food that had seemed to be working so well for him - no crystals in years since eating the Hill's C/D - but I'm willing to try these other options now, since they seem like they not only may be even better for him but also less pricy!

Thanks for the glossary of abbreviations. I won't seem like such a newbie now! ;-)
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

OK, so I know this is a silly question, but I was trying to put my lovie Scamper's picture up like all of you have in your signature & I'm having trouble. Do I go to the change avatar section of the user control panel? Every pic I try to upload there is apparently too big. How do you get a pic to be between 0-9 KiB? That's the message I get - that my picture files are too big. I don't have a single picture anywhere near that - the smallest picture file I can find is 211KB. Help?
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

There is a website, shrinkpictures.com that will take any picture you have and shrink it down to avatar size.

Select the Avatar function from the shrinkpictures menu list, over on the left hand side of the screen. Avatar size limit is 90 x 90.

Once you have the picture small enough, downloaded to your computer, it's time to update your user control panel.

User control panel, Profile tab, Edit Avatar from selection list on left hand side of screen, select the picture from where you saved it. click to submit and save. You should see the picture of your kitty in all your posts now.
 
Re: Any ideas on replacement for similar to Hill's c/d (less

So easy once you tell me how! Thanks so much, Deb!

(Isn't Scamper beautiful?!?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top