Any help would be greatly appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.
Great news that Vinnie's already benefitting from the lower carbs. :)

Remember to watch your dosage carefully now, and keep an eye on nadirs with your home testing. The BG numbers can get lower really quickly with the diet transition. I suggest that you post asking for help with that. :)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
It's great that Vinnie loves his canned food! When we first started and I learned how bad dry was for my cats, they never got it again. I was really lucky since all my cats loved it! Some cats are horrible kibble addicts and despite all the tricks we can try, just don't want to give it up.

My cats on the other hand looked at me like "So where you been hiding this good stuff all our lives"?:rolleyes:
 
NUMBERS KEEP DROPPING!! PMPS is 330! Vet did find blood in his urine so I'm thinking that is why he was using outside of his litter box. Got a shot of antibiotics and increased his insulin units looking at his numbers. Hopefully they will continue to drop!
 
Hi Becca,

Another reason to monitor very closely is the possible UTI. As your vet has probably already advised, infections can raise BG levels. Assuming that some UTI is present and that the antibiotic effectively treats it, then BG numbers may fall (and thus a dose reduction would be needed). Definitely one to keep a close eye on.

.
 
Hi Becca,

Another reason to monitor very closely is the possible UTI. As your vet has probably already advised, infections can raise BG levels. Assuming that some UTI is present and that the antibiotic effectively treats it, then BG numbers may fall (and thus a dose reduction would be needed). Definitely one to keep a close eye on.

.
Actually my vet didn't mention that, but with that being said and me switching him to wet food, and the increase of insulin, I sure will keep an eye on him and be checking his blood, thank you!
 
As others have said, I hope you'll be able to keep an eye on him this weekend as you have a perfect storm complicating the sugar dance - antibiotics, diet change and the insulin. I am guessing his numbers could start to drop, so I hope you can keep a close eye on him.

I have to admit, with all those variables, I would have reduced a little on the insulin rather than raise. Our theory is that it is best to be lower on the dose and raise slowly as things change, rather than have to react when you get low numbers. I hope you'll be able to get a number 5-7 hours after the shot. Do you have some of the higher carb gravy foods? That is good to bring up low numbers if needed - just a teaspoon full can bring up a low level.
 
If Vinnie goes hypo (glucose falls below 50),

This is incorrect for your meter, Becca. I note from your signature that you are using an Alphatrak 2 veterinary meter. Because of the difference in plasma concentration of glucose between human and cat blood, human meters read lower than pet-calibrated ones.

The hypo threshold for Alphatrak is 68 mg/dL / 3.8mmol/L.

Please can you make a clear note of this number on your How to Treat Hypos guide (it's written for human meter users) and make sure it's somewhere prominent at your testing station. If ever Vinnie were to go low, please make sure that anyone supporting you knows that you are using a veterinary meter. (Most people here use human glucometers and frequently assume that members they're in dialogue with are also using human meters.)


Mogs


(@Cat Ma - I'm really worried about how easy it is to miss that people are using Alphatraks. See this thread.)
 
This is incorrect for your meter, Becca. I note from your signature that you are using an Alphatrak 2 veterinary meter. Because of the difference in plasma concentration of glucose between human and cat blood human meters read lower than pet-calibrated ones.

The hypo threshold for Alphatrak is 68 mg/dL / 3.8mmol/L.

Please can you make a clear note of this number on your How to Treat Hypos guide (it's written for human meter users) and make sure it's somewhere prominent at your testing station. If ever Vinnie were to go low, please make sure that anyone supporting you knows that you are using a veterinary meter. (Most people here use human glucometers and frequently assume that members they're in dialogue with are also using human meters.)


Mogs


(@Cat Ma - I'm really worried about how easy it is to miss that people are using Alphatraks. See this thread.)
Thanks for pointing that out!
 
Thanks for all the reminders, I do have food with gravy ready. I think I will listen to you guys and drop his insulin to 2 in the am and 2 in the pm and just monitor closely! He is doing really well today, numbers are still dropping his PSPM was 218, but like everyone is saying I will be checking his BG everyday! Tonight was his first dinner of just wet food, he loved it! I will keep everyone posted, I think we are still going in all the right directions, and I have all of you to thank!
 
How is Vinnie doing?

I'm sorry I didn't see this on Saturday night because I would have strongly suggested you get another test in later .....It's possible that since you increased his dose so quickly (and by whole units instead of .25 unit increments) that he went much lower overnight and then by Sunday morning was starting to "bounce" (which could explain why he was over 400 by Sun PMPS)

I understand you can't always get mid-cycles during the AM cycle due to work, but that makes it even more important to try to get at least a "before bed" test every night. We want to keep Vinnie safe most of all!!
 
Vinnie is still doing great, numbers are kinda up and down, I am sticking with 2 U @ am and 2 U at PM. The terrible thing is I am leaving to go out of town for a week and I am so nervous. I do have an excellent pet sitter but I just hate leaving him at a time like this. Sitter has emergency vet and regular vet info incase of emergencies. He is doing so well on wet only food, he loves this stuff!!
 
Glad Vinnie is enjoying the wet food! Will the sitter be able to check Vinnies BG #'s while you're gone?
 
I'd try to get a test in before bed tonight Becca

That's a nice low yellow for tonight's PMPS and it'd be useful to see where he goes from here!
 
I am home finally after being away for a week. I checked his BG tonight and it was 58!! I gave him food with gravy and will skip his insulin tonight, I will be checking his levels every hour tonight and feed every two hours. That is what my vet had me do last time his BG was low, any other suggestions, this is so stressful, I am away a lot with work but I want him healthy :(
 
Yes, 68 is hypo with an AlphaTrak meter. When CJ went hypo, I was testing every 30 minutes or so. I'd suggest posting in the Prozinc forum for guidance. You'll get better help there than from what your vet advised.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top