Jenny and Kitkat
Member Since 2017
Hi everybody
I vanished for a while, and Kitkat and I have been fighting on, but it's TOUGH! And my brain is totally fried, I can't remember things in sequence very well - just too much going on...
Here are the edited highlights:
When I started home testing her BG bounced a lot. (please send me the link to that spreadsheet you have - I don't have it and am not sure where to look?)
Last week on Mon morning her BG was HI ( over 33.3mmol/L - or 599.4mg/dL) and again in the evening. It was 29.0 (or 522.0) on Tuesday morning and back HI again in the evening. And she wasn't eating.
Back to the vet we went on Wed morning and they put in a naso-oesophageal feeding tube, and told me to give her 10ml (0.33814 fluid oz) of food with half of the amount of water every hour to 90 mins. I didn't ask and they didn't say how much per day - and I found out on I've been underfeeding her ...
- I wish there was an icon for weeping!
They also did a urine test and discovered that she had a bladder infection so she's been on antibiotics. 1 x Baytril daily.
At some stage after she got the feeding tube she was given a shot of Clopomon.
On Friday she started vomiting - when she had a bowel movement. I thought it may be the feeding tube, but the vet said no because the tube doesn't go into her stomach, but it may be because of the pressure when she defacates. It took me a while and the assistance of the reiki practitioner to figure that one out.
On Sunday night I could NOT get blood for a test, or get hold of anybody to help so I didn't give her her shot.
On Monday morning I took her to the vet for them to test her BG, and realised she'd lost more weight. Down to 3.585kg (7.9lb) from 3.8...8.37 only days before. Her BG was 17.4. I took her back in the evening for another BG test, and again, it was good for a dose of insulin.
The vet did an ultrasound and more bloodwork and discovered that she's in chronic renal failure (she was OK when she was diagnosed) and her liver enzymes are elevated and her bile ducts are enlarged (this by feel and pics from the ultrasound).
She has been getting regular reiki from a wonderful and incredibly knowledgeable animal healer, and we've started some homeopathic remedies - one for depression, one for diabetes, one when she vomits after defacating. I'm also giving her milk thistle tea to support her liver.
The vet gave me amphogel - she projectile vomited after getting the dose the vet recommended, and again when I tried to sneak a much smaller dose into her food.
I have also been given Fortecor for her kidneys. I got badly bitten when I gave her the pill yesterday, and she spat it out (That's my girl!), so I snuck it into her food without any problem, but she vomited up her feed when I did it again tonight.
I didn't test for a couple of days - too traumatised by the struggle to get blood, but she was very lethargic today and so I tested her earlier and her BG was 6.5mmol/L(117mg/dL). When she has bad days, I wonder if it's time, but then she has a good day, and then a whole lot more bad days, and I'm praying that one of you will have a simple suggestion that could really help....
She's dehydrated again too, so we're back to night watch and night feeding.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Jenny and Kitkat
I vanished for a while, and Kitkat and I have been fighting on, but it's TOUGH! And my brain is totally fried, I can't remember things in sequence very well - just too much going on...
Here are the edited highlights:
When I started home testing her BG bounced a lot. (please send me the link to that spreadsheet you have - I don't have it and am not sure where to look?)
Last week on Mon morning her BG was HI ( over 33.3mmol/L - or 599.4mg/dL) and again in the evening. It was 29.0 (or 522.0) on Tuesday morning and back HI again in the evening. And she wasn't eating.
Back to the vet we went on Wed morning and they put in a naso-oesophageal feeding tube, and told me to give her 10ml (0.33814 fluid oz) of food with half of the amount of water every hour to 90 mins. I didn't ask and they didn't say how much per day - and I found out on I've been underfeeding her ...
- I wish there was an icon for weeping! They also did a urine test and discovered that she had a bladder infection so she's been on antibiotics. 1 x Baytril daily.
At some stage after she got the feeding tube she was given a shot of Clopomon.
On Friday she started vomiting - when she had a bowel movement. I thought it may be the feeding tube, but the vet said no because the tube doesn't go into her stomach, but it may be because of the pressure when she defacates. It took me a while and the assistance of the reiki practitioner to figure that one out.
On Sunday night I could NOT get blood for a test, or get hold of anybody to help so I didn't give her her shot.
On Monday morning I took her to the vet for them to test her BG, and realised she'd lost more weight. Down to 3.585kg (7.9lb) from 3.8...8.37 only days before. Her BG was 17.4. I took her back in the evening for another BG test, and again, it was good for a dose of insulin.
The vet did an ultrasound and more bloodwork and discovered that she's in chronic renal failure (she was OK when she was diagnosed) and her liver enzymes are elevated and her bile ducts are enlarged (this by feel and pics from the ultrasound).
She has been getting regular reiki from a wonderful and incredibly knowledgeable animal healer, and we've started some homeopathic remedies - one for depression, one for diabetes, one when she vomits after defacating. I'm also giving her milk thistle tea to support her liver.
The vet gave me amphogel - she projectile vomited after getting the dose the vet recommended, and again when I tried to sneak a much smaller dose into her food.
I have also been given Fortecor for her kidneys. I got badly bitten when I gave her the pill yesterday, and she spat it out (That's my girl!), so I snuck it into her food without any problem, but she vomited up her feed when I did it again tonight.
I didn't test for a couple of days - too traumatised by the struggle to get blood, but she was very lethargic today and so I tested her earlier and her BG was 6.5mmol/L(117mg/dL). When she has bad days, I wonder if it's time, but then she has a good day, and then a whole lot more bad days, and I'm praying that one of you will have a simple suggestion that could really help....
She's dehydrated again too, so we're back to night watch and night feeding.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Jenny and Kitkat




