Antibiotic shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissBigglesmom

Member Since 2024
Does anyone know if a Convenia shot would affect my cats blood glucose numbers? She went to the vet last night because she was not using her box and leaking urine. They did a cystocentesis, sub q fluids because she was dehydrated and an antibiotic shot. Also they had to manually express her bladder because it not fully emptying and was rather full. Long story short it’s a waiting game to see what is actually going on. She was very stressed last night upon returning home and her glucose was high this am. She is eating and drinking. Also no ketones in urine.
 
Don't feel bad:bighug: Many people are unaware of the risks of Covenia because they trust their vet. I would just keep an eye on the cat and inform the vet of any possible side effects.
 
I’d keep a close eye on the BG and test again soon given that the 83 is on an AT3 meter, you’re newly diagnosed, and it’s the lowest BG you’ve seen so far per your spreadsheet.

Also, the 83 earned a 0.25u dose reduction since you’re using the SLGS method. Your new dose would be 0.75u. Tagging a few members to confirm, and to keep an eye on things. @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Regarding Convenia, I’ve never known it to raise BG. However an infection can raise BG, so antibiotics that resolve the infection could result in overall lower BG.
 
I’d keep a close eye on the BG and test again soon given that the 83 is on an AT3 meter, you’re newly diagnosed, and it’s the lowest BG you’ve seen so far per your spreadsheet.

Also, the 83 earned a 0.25u dose reduction since you’re using the SLGS method. Your new dose would be 0.75u. Tagging a few members to confirm, and to keep an eye on things. @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Regarding Convenia, I’ve never known it to raise BG. However an infection can raise BG, so antibiotics that resolve the infection could result in overall lower BG.
I will retest again before I leave the house and again once I return home. My needles only have full unit markings. I will try my best to eyeball a .75 dose. Thanks
 
I will retest again before I leave the house and again once I return home. My needles only have full unit markings. I will try my best to eyeball a .75 dose. Thanks
Most vets don't have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings when using lantus, You can get them at Amazon without a script from your vet
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

These you probably need your vet send over a script for
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP,UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Most vets don't have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings when using lantus, You can get them at Amazon without a script from your vet
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

These you probably need your vet send over a script for
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP,UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
Just ordered some from Amazon! Thank you !
 
@MissBigglesmom hey I just glanced at your spreadsheet and that 49 is waaay too low on an AT3. You need to feed high carb food NOW to get the BG back above 68 and then test again in 20 minutes. If you don’t have high carb food, add bit of honey or Karo syrup to Miss Biggle’s regular food. Repeat feeding and testing until the BG gets above and stays above 68.
 
Last edited:
@MissBigglesmom hey I just glanced at your spreadsheet and that 49 is waaay too low on an AT3. You need to feed high carb food NOW to get the BG back above 68 and then test again in 20 minutes. If you don’t have high carb food, add bit of honey or Karo syrup to Miss Biggle’s regular food. Repeat feeding and testing until the BG gets above and stays above 68.
Crisis averted! I fed her some high carb food and it is now 101. Ok what do I do now?!
 
Test her again in an hour after the last test. High carb food can wear off a couple hours after giving it, and the numbers can fall back down again.

She definitely needs a lower dose, 0.75 units. Eyeball it for now until you get the new syringes, but don't give her 1.0 units again.
 
Preshot of 135 should I hold off and test in two hours?


Yes, since you're a newbie without much bg data to go on.

Most vets don't have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings when using lantus

I just got a box of half unit marked insulin syringes from my vet, the UltiCare brand.

  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg


Wow! People are still using this picture of syringe markings that I made way back in 2012:D I think this is the first post where I shared it: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-to-give-next-insulin-last-reading-67.66393/ and then the picture directly in a post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/learning-to-inject-insulin-and-its-not-going-well.68273/
 
Yes, since you're a newbie without much bg data to go on.



I just got a box of half unit marked insulin syringes from my vet, the UltiCare brand.




Wow! People are still using this picture of syringe markings that I made way back in 2012:D I think this is the first post where I shared it: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-to-give-next-insulin-last-reading-67.66393/ and then the picture directly in a post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/learning-to-inject-insulin-and-its-not-going-well.68273/
If it ain’t broke why fix it? Your pictures have probably been shared hundreds of time if not more.
 
Sounds like you are skipping tonight. Meaning you can shoot when convenient tomorrow morning as it'll be over 12 hours from the last shot.

Remember she gets a reduced dose tomorrow morning.
 
Perfect! You are all set. Good luck with the new dose. She might be high in the morning due to the 49 (bouncing) and the skipped shot. Stick with 0.75 anyway.
 
I feel like her numbers are all over the place. Her appetite has not been great and I think it’s due to the antibiotic shot. It’s 114 pre shot and again I’m torn on whether to dose or not.
 
If you can't get two shots in a day and are skipping because she's too low (OK to do in this case), I'd lower her dose down to 0.5 units. It's better to have her run a little bit higher and you be able to get two shots in per day. It's so much easier when you are new to go up in dose, than have to fight lower numbers. This is all predicated on you continuing to test to make sure she has no ketones. With an infection and iffy appetite, and a skipped dose, I'd really try to test those ketones.
 
If you can't get two shots in a day and are skipping because she's too low (OK to do in this case), I'd lower her dose down to 0.5 units. It's better to have her run a little bit higher and you be able to get two shots in per day. It's so much easier when you are new to go up in dose, than have to fight lower numbers. This is all predicated on you continuing to test to make sure she has no ketones. With an infection and iffy appetite, and a skipped dose, I'd really try to test those ketones.
I will test again at +3 hrs. She actually seems to be doing better considering how things have been the past week. I will also pick up some ketone test strips. When she went to the vet on Monday they did test for ketones and it was negative. I’m thinking her morning dose should be .50 units and go from there. I would like to get two shots a day in but the night numbers have been tricky.
 
Yesterday’s numbers were ok. Both shots were .50 doses but this am her BG was 64. I did not give her a shot. I’m feeling so frustrated with this
 
Yesterday’s numbers were ok. Both shots were .50 doses but this am her BG was 64. I did not give her a shot. I’m feeling so frustrated with this
The early days of navigating FD can be difficult and confusing but hang in there, you’re doing great.

Good call on skipping the shot. A 64 on a pet meter in a newly diagnosed cat is definitely too low to shoot.

I believe Miss Biggles just earned herself another dose reduction. :) Per SLGS dosing method guidelines, any time BG goes below 90 a 0.25u reduction is warranted. This morning’s AMBG of 64 definitely qualifies. So her new dose going forward would be 0.25u. @Wendy&Neko agree?

Can you confirm what syringes you’re using? The info on the outer package (u-100, 3/10cc, etc) would be helpful.
 
I’m not sure if it’s because her appetite has not been that great. I did feed her some high carb treats and left out three different types of food and she nibbled at them all. This brought her up to 94. I’m using the U100 3/10 cc syringes. I will test again when I’m home from work at 5pm and go from there. Next dose if allowed will be .25 units. Thanks! I know she wants to eat but she is being picky now. She enjoyed the high bath treats wayyyyyy too much so I know it’s not her being nauseous or anything like that.
 
Agreed, down to 0.25 units. Good luck with the new dose.
New dose of .25 units given today at 5:30pm. I will test her again tonight. No ketones and her appetite is not improving. I picked up some mortazapine gel and provable forte probiotic to help stimulate and improve appetite. Any other suggestions on getting her to eat? Food options? I’m willing to try anything.
 
Thank you ❤️ it’s her time, I can see it in her eyes. She’s tired and shes ready to reunite with her sister. I’m going to miss her so much but she deserves to be free of pain and suffering. I promised her she would not die at a vet hospital or alone. She will be home surrounded by love.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top