MikeysMom
Very Active Member
Hello all! My name is Amy. My Mikey was diagnosed with FD about a week and a half ago. My vet and I did tons of research on the best protocols and he is on what I think (hope) is a good regimen, and i think we're off to a good start. We are doing his first full curve tomorrow which I hope will yield more answers, but I was so happy to find this board. It helps to know I'm not alone!
We switched him to an all-wet, low-carb diet and started on 1U Glargine 2 X/day. I can see the difference immediately: BG numbers much better (He was over 400 at the vet's the day he was diagnosed, now usually in 150-250 range. Still not ideal, I know, but getting there) and the litter box is decidedly less gross. I haven't done a full curve yet as the vet said you really need to wait a week or so to get a true reading. I have been testing before AM/PM meals (before injection) and about 6 hours out.
The numbers are a bit confusing to me in that there doesn't seem to be much of a pattern. Is this normal at first? For example, the other day he was 260 pre-shot AM, 240 at +5, 228 preshot PM, and 110 at +5 (yay!) from that shot. Except for the last test at bedtime, there seemed to be little change.
But today he was 213 preshot AM, 40 at +6 (gave Karo and food), 276 two hours later (to be expected?) and 209 preshot PM. I'll test him again later.
Nothing was different in feeding or dosage on those two days, but he showed little change on one and dropped WAY low today. Is this normal at first? He is on Clavamox for a UTI, could this be the cause?
A couple of other questions. Even testing WAY low today, he showed no symptoms that I could see. He's an older cat, so he sleeps a lot. I didn't notice a change in his pupils, and he was walking normally and jumped up on the counter just fine for his snack. Part of the problem is that he's very slightly neuro to begin with from a stroke when he was young, so something very subtle isn't noticeable. Short of following him around like a helicopter mom and pricking his poor ears every five minutes, is there anything else I can look for? Hopefully once we get his insulin right, I won't have to worry so much, but at this point, who knows...there's no rhyme or reason to his numbers that I can see. Eek!
Also, I've read on testing for Ketones, but how? I haven't tried yet (vet will test Saturday) but if you so much as poke a nose in the room while he's in the litter box, he hops right out and looks offended. Testing the pee bomb is out as well, because he shares the boxes with two other cats, and the only way to isolate him is to lock him in the bathroom, which does NOT go over well, long term. Any ideas?
Mikey will be 12 in March. He's very skinny right now (needs to gain 2-3 pounds). Any ideas on how to facilitate the weight gain? I know getting him regulated is the biggest thing, but what's the best way to put the most weight on him the fastest?
Thanks in advance for your advice. It's a huge relief to have found a group of people who understand!
We switched him to an all-wet, low-carb diet and started on 1U Glargine 2 X/day. I can see the difference immediately: BG numbers much better (He was over 400 at the vet's the day he was diagnosed, now usually in 150-250 range. Still not ideal, I know, but getting there) and the litter box is decidedly less gross. I haven't done a full curve yet as the vet said you really need to wait a week or so to get a true reading. I have been testing before AM/PM meals (before injection) and about 6 hours out.
The numbers are a bit confusing to me in that there doesn't seem to be much of a pattern. Is this normal at first? For example, the other day he was 260 pre-shot AM, 240 at +5, 228 preshot PM, and 110 at +5 (yay!) from that shot. Except for the last test at bedtime, there seemed to be little change.
But today he was 213 preshot AM, 40 at +6 (gave Karo and food), 276 two hours later (to be expected?) and 209 preshot PM. I'll test him again later.
Nothing was different in feeding or dosage on those two days, but he showed little change on one and dropped WAY low today. Is this normal at first? He is on Clavamox for a UTI, could this be the cause?
A couple of other questions. Even testing WAY low today, he showed no symptoms that I could see. He's an older cat, so he sleeps a lot. I didn't notice a change in his pupils, and he was walking normally and jumped up on the counter just fine for his snack. Part of the problem is that he's very slightly neuro to begin with from a stroke when he was young, so something very subtle isn't noticeable. Short of following him around like a helicopter mom and pricking his poor ears every five minutes, is there anything else I can look for? Hopefully once we get his insulin right, I won't have to worry so much, but at this point, who knows...there's no rhyme or reason to his numbers that I can see. Eek!
Also, I've read on testing for Ketones, but how? I haven't tried yet (vet will test Saturday) but if you so much as poke a nose in the room while he's in the litter box, he hops right out and looks offended. Testing the pee bomb is out as well, because he shares the boxes with two other cats, and the only way to isolate him is to lock him in the bathroom, which does NOT go over well, long term. Any ideas?
Mikey will be 12 in March. He's very skinny right now (needs to gain 2-3 pounds). Any ideas on how to facilitate the weight gain? I know getting him regulated is the biggest thing, but what's the best way to put the most weight on him the fastest?
Thanks in advance for your advice. It's a huge relief to have found a group of people who understand!