Another hypo??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katsallday

Member Since 2021
Og thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/off-schedule.247895/#post-2796199

So Tuna had a hypo one day ago and his blood glucose was so low at his amps that I decided it wise to do a no shot then reduce to 0.75 instead of 1u. I expected a bounce and I got it the whole next day but now today his amps was 389 and at +4 he's now at 99. 99 was his +4 the day he went hypo as well. Since he's not even close to nadir I assume he's going to go a bit hypo again today so does that mean I need another dose reduction already? It seems really weird right? I'm starting to suspect maybe this is a tooth infection or something? The original reason I brought tuna to the vet was because I thought he had a penis infection, he had brown discoloration around his penis area and the vet did blood work and said he had diabetes. I've sent dental pictures to my fiance's father who is a vet in Texas and he sees a little inflammation around tuna's gum line as well. I know that cats can get stressed at the vet so I'm assuming some of that 475 reading that the vet originally got was due to stress. I'm also assuming the numbers in his spreadsheet that are really high were from the earlier insulin dosages that I followed the vets advice for which was four units of vetsulin!!!! He's gone hypo three times in nine days with decreased dosage after each time!?!

Is this normal for regulating a cat? Or could I possibly be looking at something else?
 
So the vet ruled out any infections?

I think what you're seeing today is another bounce break. It took him awhile to bounce from the previous greens, coupled with the no shot, then today he broke the bounce and came down a bit hard. Very normal.

To clarify hypo - the green numbers you're seeing are perfectly fine and safe, normal numbers for a cat not on insulin. True hypos are the lime greens, 49 and below. So far you haven't seen any of those.

I suspect he will bounce again later tomorrow if his pattern holds. Also very normal. He may bounce for awhile before his body gets more used to the lower numbers and stops "panicking".

Regardless of possible underlying issues, he does need insulin.
 
Hi Katrina, the numbers you are describing as hypo are actually normal BG numbers for a cat.
A hypo is a BG Number that causes symptoms such as unsteadiness, lethargy, extreme hunger, twitching or shivering and seizures.....just to name a few.
The BG would usually be under 50 or even lower for hypo symptoms to appear.

As you are following the SLGS method, you would reduce the dose of Prozinc by 0.25 units when Tuna drops under 90.
Here is the Prozinc dosing method https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/


The higher numbers you are seeing are from Tuna bouncing as that is quite normal. For a newly diagnosed cat he is doing OK.
I would suggest you post each day with his numbers so that we can comment on how he is going and can advices you on dosing.
 
So the vet ruled out any infections?

I think what you're seeing today is another bounce break. It took him awhile to bounce from the previous greens, coupled with the no shot, then today he broke the bounce and came down a bit hard. Very normal.

To clarify hypo - the green numbers you're seeing are perfectly fine and safe, normal numbers for a cat not on insulin. True hypos are the lime greens, 49 and below. So far you haven't seen any of those.

I suspect he will bounce again later tomorrow if his pattern holds. Also very normal. He may bounce for awhile before his body gets more used to the lower numbers and stops "panicking".

Regardless of possible underlying issues, he does need insulin.
the problem was that original vet that diagnosed him didnt tell me anything at all. sent me on my way saying heres insulin do 4u bid. i had to call him 3 times to get the lab work which of course i cant decipher. but my fiances father did see an elevated AST but he had no other indication of an issue so we thought it was just an anomaly reading. I think when im saying hypo, i mean hypo if i didnt intervene if that makes sense?


Hi Katrina, the numbers you are describing as hypo are actually normal BG numbers for a cat.
A hypo is a BG Number that causes symptoms such as unsteadiness, lethargy, extreme hunger, twitching or shivering and seizures.....just to name a few.
The BG would usually be under 50 or even lower for hypo symptoms to appear.

As you are following the SLGS method, you would reduce the dose of Prozinc by 0.25 units when Tuna drops under 90.
Here is the Prozinc dosing method https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/


The higher numbers you are seeing are from Tuna bouncing as that is quite normal. For a newly diagnosed cat he is doing OK.
I would suggest you post each day with his numbers so that we can comment on how he is going and can advices you on dosing.
I will do that, i didnt want to be a pest but i realize you all just want to help. i should have been clear in my usage of the word hypo, i meant hypo if i didnt intervene. because im crazy about testing and a stay at home cat mom i figure he will never actually hit the lime green numbers. i will stay testing him at least 4 times a day until this is all over.



i appreciate you both so much. the amount of panic attacks you have both pulled me out of is crazy. i owe you both so much
 
the problem was that original vet that diagnosed him didnt tell me anything at all. sent me on my way saying heres insulin do 4u bid. i had to call him 3 times to get the lab work which of course i cant decipher. but my fiances father did see an elevated AST but he had no other indication of an issue so we thought it was just an anomaly reading. I think when im saying hypo, i mean hypo if i didnt intervene if that makes sense?


i appreciate you both so much. the amount of panic attacks you have both pulled me out of is crazy. i owe you both so much
It's what we're here for!

One thing that would be helpful - when you do intervene, can you list % carb and amount given? So for example if you saw him dropping at +4 and gave some MC food, you'd note something like "+4: Gave 1tsp 13% wet/dry" (wet or dry is important because dry affects the BG longer). That'll help us see how he reacts to food, and help you avoid overcorrection with food. Sometimes we panic when we see dropping numbers and shoot ourselves in the foot by giving too much/too high carbs when we maybe didn't need to.

If you look at my spreadsheet, the night of April 2nd is the only time I've ever intervened with food. Granted that's on Lantus, but similar concepts apply.
 
It's what we're here for!

One thing that would be helpful - when you do intervene, can you list % carb and amount given? So for example if you saw him dropping at +4 and gave some MC food, you'd note something like "+4: Gave 1tsp 13% wet/dry" (wet or dry is important because dry affects the BG longer). That'll help us see how he reacts to food, and help you avoid overcorrection with food. Sometimes we panic when we see dropping numbers and shoot ourselves in the foot by giving too much/too high carbs when we maybe didn't need to.

If you look at my spreadsheet, the night of April 2nd is the only time I've ever intervened with food. Granted that's on Lantus, but similar concepts apply.
I will definitely be more clear with my food corrections! I have 10 minutes until my +7, I just realized my fiance charted the SS wrong today. Updating now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top