Angel +4 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherish Gallagher

Member Since 2017
This really sucks. I was so optimistic about Lantus but I'm seriously ready to quit. :( angel is either high as heck, bouncy or so low we are scared she's going to go hypo. She's nowhere near her nadir right now. It's going to be a long night. :(.

Please help. What do I do? I know we need to give her a dose decrease now but was I not supposed to shoot the full amount tonight? This is so beyond frustrating.
 
62 on the Relion is a safe number. Give her a couple tsps of low or medium carb food and test again in 1/2 hour. Sometimes kitties nadir earlier if they are going lower, hopefully tonight is one of those times.

Angel likes Lantus. Earning reductions is a good thing. :) Just hard on the beans. :bighug:
 
62 on the Relion is a safe number. Give her a couple tsps of low or medium carb food and test again in 1/2 hour. Sometimes kitties nadir earlier if they are going lower, hopefully tonight is one of those times.

Angel likes Lantus. Earning reductions is a good thing. :) Just hard on the beans. :bighug:
Nah, she's acting weird and starving.
 
she's acting weird and starving.

It's not unusual for them to look for food when their BG is low.....it's just like a human diabetic ....when their BG goes a little low, they crave food.....with cats, the "trick" is to feed just enough to stabilize them without sending them too high. That's why as long as they're in safe numbers, we encourage you to try a few teaspoons of low carb food and test again in 20-30 minutes

How is she acting "weird"?
 
It's not unusual for them to look for food when their BG is low.....it's just like a human diabetic ....when their BG goes a little low, they crave food.....with cats, the "trick" is to feed just enough to stabilize them without sending them too high. That's why as long as they're in safe numbers, we encourage you to try a few teaspoons of low carb food and test again in 20-30 minutest

How is she acting "weird"?
She's acting ok now after the gravy. I put 1/4tsp honey it it because I got so scared.
 
She's acting ok now after the gravy. I put 1/4tsp honey it it because I got so scared.

That's OK....I remember what it's like when you're not sure, but 62 is a nice safe number so next time (and there will always be a "next time"), try just a little low carb food.

When China was new, I knew to use syrup/honey/Karo, but was a little fuzzy on "how much"....so the first time she dipped below 50, I knew I needed to do something.....so I dumped about half a bottle of syrup into a bowl and let her have it (was surprised that she liked it!).....only later on did I learn I was only supposed to give her a drop or two, not a cup or two....LOL :oops::rolleyes:
 
That's OK....I remember what it's like when you're not sure, but 62 is a nice safe number so next time (and there will always be a "next time"), try just a little low carb food.

When China was new, I knew to use syrup/honey/Karo, but was a little fuzzy on "how much"....so the first time she dipped below 50, I knew I needed to do something.....so I dumped about half a bottle of syrup into a bowl and let her have it (was surprised that she liked it!).....only later on did I learn I was only supposed to give her a drop or two, not a cup or two....LOL :oops::rolleyes:
Any chance you can take a look at our SS and tell me what u think overall. ?
 
Since she's not in any danger, do you mind removing the 911? Thanks.

Her SS on Lantus is looking much better than on Vetsulin. She is doing longer stretches of blues and greens.
 
67 preshot this morning. I gave .5u. Since she earned a reduction from last nignt down to 1.25 and she's super low again this morning I think when she has an appropriate number im going to shoot 1U for anything above 100 and anything below 100, .5u. Does this seeem ok?
 
67 preshot this morning. I gave .5u. Since she earned a reduction from last nignt down to 1.25 and she's super low again this morning I think when she has an appropriate number im going to shoot 1U for anything above 100 and anything below 100, .5u. Does this seeem ok?
:bighug::bighug::bighug: It's scary and hard to deal with at the start. It'll get better. Yes, she earned that reduction to 1.25 u. The previous dose of 1.5 u is still influencing BG this AM, hence the 67. At some point you'll have to take a deep breath and shoot a full dose on a dark green number. The reduction point is 90 for SLGS and you would have had taken back to back reductions if you had followed the 90 guideline - ie. dropping to 1.0 u this AM. I'm not sure what the best response is under these conditions.

There are lots of pros here to help you, Cherish, so next time she throws you a curve ball of a PS below 90, try steeling your nerves and giving the usual reduction of 0.25 u. She'll likely surprise you in her moderate response and it'll give you the experience of getting through the situation. You know how to steer with food and test through a dive if you have to do it. :)
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: It's scary and hard to deal with at the start. It'll get better. Yes, she earned that reduction to 1.25 u. The previous dose of 1.5 u is still influencing BG this AM, hence the 67. At some point you'll have to take a deep breath and shoot a full dose on a dark green number. The reduction point is 90 for SLGS and you would have had taken back to back reductions if you had followed the 90 guideline - ie. dropping to 1.0 u this AM. I'm not sure what the best response is under these conditions.

There are lots of pros here to help you, Cherish, so next time she throws you a curve ball of a PS below 90, try steeling your nerves and giving the usual reduction of 0.25 u. She'll likely surprise you in her moderate response and it'll give you the experience of getting through the situation. You know how to steer with food and test through a dive if you have to do it. :)
We shot the full dose last night and even with high carb food and honey she didn't bounce back up too high then gave me a 67 this morning. This is really hard. I guess I'm not understanding Lantus yet. It's so much different than Vetsulin.
 
We shot the full dose last night and even with high carb food and honey she didn't bounce back up too high then gave me a 67 this morning. This is really hard. I guess I'm not understanding Lantus yet. It's so much different than Vetsulin.
Yes, it's very different. You've only been using it a week and a half so give yourself time. I'm at the 7 month mark with Teasel on Lantus and am only now getting a feel for it with him. Mind you, he's trickier than many kitties.
 
Heyyy we had a 63 last night! :smuggrin: lol
One thing I was told about Lantus is that it's really good with handling lower numbers, hence the "shoot low to stay low". Bouncy kitties are still probably going to bounce on Lantus but her SS does have more blues and greens :cool:. Something else is the sliding scale, from my understanding (still learning too ;)), is not for the depot insulins as it can mess up said depot. Hang in there :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top