Andy 3/17 update and a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Andy &BJ (GA)

Member Since 2015
Andy has been doing ok on the lower doses. I think he needs a few more cycles to determine if he needs an increase. I've been using .6u and .8u if too high with u100 syringes w 1/2u markings. Andy is still very prone to bouncing if he gets into the lower blues and is super sensitive to small changes in dose. I am trying to keep him in those higher blues and the yellows as much as possible via snacks etc. to avoid his bouncing.

I purchased a Relion micro and did our first comparison test. Relion=196 and Alpha=255
I set up another spreadsheet to track the Relion. I think the only diff in the spreadsheets is in the lowest range (green). Is that correct? If you use these human meters, do you just assume a roughly 50 point difference and go by that to determine dosage etc.? I am keeping the Alpha as backup and eventually plan to try those other strips that work with it (can't remember right now- freestyle?).
 
He is so bouncy! And you are getting so good at understanding what he needs, when.

There is a huge thread on Think Tank addressing ReliOn and AT. The conclusion handed down by the moderators was that we know only the low point for both meters (50 for human, 68 for AT because there are vet studies supporting these ranges) Any comparisons at ranges higher than that are estimates. At one time, we said an AT ran about 30 points higher than a human meter but when compared meter to meter on the same sample and same cat, there wasn't enough consistency to give that kind of an estimate. It's like everything else - ECID.

If you are going to start using the ReliOn, I would start with the 200 preshot number and the 50 hypo range and go from there. The colors on the spreadsheet correspond to the human meters. Pretty soon you will get a feel for where he drops with the ReliOn and where to add a little more. Make any sense?
 
Last edited:
He is so bouncy! And you are getting so good at understanding what he needs, when.

There is a huge thread on Think Tank addressing ReliOn and AT. The conclusion handed down by the moderators was that we know only the low point for both meters (50 for human, 68 for AT because there are vet studies supporting these ranges) Any comparisons at ranges higher than that are estimates. At one time, we said an AT ran about 30 points higher than a human meter but when compared meter to meter on the same sample and same cat, there wasn't enough consistency to give that kind of an estimate. It's like everything else - ECID.

If you are going to start using the ReliOn, I would start with the 200 preshot number and the 50 hypo range and go from there. The colors on the spreadsheet correspond to the human meters. Pretty soon you will get a feel for where he drops with the ReliOn and where to add a little more. Make any sense?

For the time being, I plan to use the alpha at preshot and the relion in between to get a ballpark idea of where he's at. Since the relion supposedly reads lower we should be ok in between shots. If he goes "wacky" in between, I can double check w alpha. That should save me a lot of alpha strips since I test so often. So I'll only be posting the alpha numbers for awhile on his viewable spreadsheet. I will have the relion data on a separate ss. If he continues to bounce so much, it may be time to reconsider changing his insulin again. :( This is so hard to fine-tune such small doses!
 
Hi Yvonne - it is the freestyle lite strips that work with the alphatrak meters - I use them all the time I would find the human meters so confusing - sometime when I look at spreadsheets and the numbers seem good, I pull back when I think "well, wait a minute, they are really 30-50 points higher -they are just using the human meter. Consider getting the freestyle lite strips and compare with alphatrak - I've done it many times and they are right on I personally find it much less confusing
 
Hi Yvonne - it is the freestyle lite strips that work with the alphatrak meters - I use them all the time I would find the human meters so confusing - sometime when I look at spreadsheets and the numbers seem good, I pull back when I think "well, wait a minute, they are really 30-50 points higher -they are just using the human meter. Consider getting the freestyle lite strips and compare with alphatrak - I've done it many times and they are right on I personally find it much less confusing
Thank you - I do plan to try this also after I go through my current supply of alpha strips.
 
Hi Yvonne - it is the freestyle lite strips that work with the alphatrak meters - I use them all the time I would find the human meters so confusing - sometime when I look at spreadsheets and the numbers seem good, I pull back when I think "well, wait a minute, they are really 30-50 points higher -they are just using the human meter. Consider getting the freestyle lite strips and compare with alphatrak - I've done it many times and they are right on I personally find it much less confusing
Where do you get your freestyle lite strips? I just did a quick search and found amazon around $60 for 100. Walmart is $160+ A hugh diff!
 
I get mine either from Amazon or from ADWdiabetes.com - price there is ~ $35 for 50 strips -- ADWdiabetes.com has some good deals
I don't buy anything at Walmart (never set foot in one) so don't know about their prices
 
I get mine either from Amazon or from ADWdiabetes.com - price there is ~ $35 for 50 strips -- ADWdiabetes.com has some good deals
I don't buy anything at Walmart (never set foot in one) so don't know about their prices
Thanks - ADW is where I got my alpha strips - did not think about checking there. :O
 
Hi Yvonne - it is the freestyle lite strips that work with the alphatrak meters - I use them all the time I would find the human meters so confusing - sometime when I look at spreadsheets and the numbers seem good, I pull back when I think "well, wait a minute, they are really 30-50 points higher -they are just using the human meter. Consider getting the freestyle lite strips and compare with alphatrak - I've done it many times and they are right on I personally find it much less confusing
Carol - I tried the freestyle and they are reading a few points (10-15) higher. I did not use the code on the container - should I? I thought I saw where you just used the last alphatrack coding. Thanks.
 
The code on the container is for humans so no, definitely don't use that - that's interesting that is higher- I guess it could be due to the 20% variability that strips can have -- I use the code for felines on the alphatrak

Whenever I have tried mine, they were about 5 points apart but can't remember if there was any clear direction (higher or lower) Some think that these are exactly the same strips, but marketed differently
 
The code on the container is for humans so no, definitely don't use that - that's interesting that is higher- I guess it could be due to the 20% variability that strips can have -- I use the code for felines on the alphatrak

Whenever I have tried mine, they were about 5 points apart but can't remember if there was any clear direction (higher or lower) Some think that these are exactly the same strips, but marketed differently
They do look identical! I am not worried about that small a diff - my guy is erratic anyway. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top