And back down this AM :-) Zeus - numbers back up.

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Very Active Member
Good Morning,

I've never seen this low of a number with Zeus - he didn't have any dry food yesterday. One ear was 88 the other was 118. I'm assuming that I should not give a shot this morning, but I don't know? It's the first low number. I did feed him his usual meal this morning, 1/2 can of purina dm and 1/2 can of ff. The Vet didn't tell me what to do if the numbers were that low - we're still trying to regulate ... I'm waiting for their office to open to see what they suggest.

I've posted on the lantus board as well.
 
Re: Zeus - low number? To shoot or no? Concerned

No, do not give any insulin. Those are great numbers to have :smile: Newbies should not give any insulin if the bg is under 200.
 
Re: Zeus - low number? To shoot or no? Concerned

Go Zeus, Go! Until you have enough data to safely shoot lower numbers, generally think of 200 as the cutoff for shooting. Depending on the type of insulin you use, there are guidelines for shooting lower than that. You definitely made the right call not to shoot a number below 100! Zeus' numbers may be higher at his next preshot...but it's all data for you to use later!

As an aside, I grew up in NH. Can't wait to make a summer visit up home!
 
Re: Zeus - low number? To shoot or no? Concerned

Thanks everyone, I was so nervous this morning, but the Vet did confirm to not give a shot was a good thing. I was able to check on him at lunch time, but couldn't check his bg. Tonight it was back up there, 374 in one ear and 335 in the other. Should I give the 1.5 units that he was on, or up it to 2 units as the Vet said yesterday?

MikeysMom said:
I grew up in NH

Which part? I'm in Lebanon. :-D
 
Re: Zeus - numbers back up.

knolet said:
Thanks everyone, I was so nervous this morning, but the Vet did confirm to not give a shot was a good thing. I was able to check on him at lunch time, but couldn't check his bg. Tonight it was back up there, 374 in one ear and 335 in the other. Should I give the 1.5 units that he was on, or up it to 2 units as the Vet said yesterday?

Just stick with 1.5 units for now. It's normal for bgs to go up pretty high after you skip a shot.

A comment on your SS: instead of putting today's numbers on two different rows, you can just use one row. The PS numbers can be combined in the same box (88/118 and 374/335). The color coding won't be applied but you can easily add in the color yourself or leave it as white/no color.
 
Re: Zeus - numbers back up.

squeem3 said:
Just stick with 1.5 units for now. It's normal for bgs to go up pretty high after you skip a shot.

A comment on your SS: instead of putting today's numbers on two different rows, you can just use one row. The PS numbers can be combined in the same box (88/118 and 374/335). The color coding won't be applied but you can easily add in the color yourself or leave it as white/no color.

Thanks, I fixed it.
 
Re: Zeus - low number? To shoot or no? Concerned

knolet said:
Thanks everyone, I was so nervous this morning, but the Vet did confirm to not give a shot was a good thing. I was able to check on him at lunch time, but couldn't check his bg. Tonight it was back up there, 374 in one ear and 335 in the other. Should I give the 1.5 units that he was on, or up it to 2 units as the Vet said yesterday?

MikeysMom said:
I grew up in NH

Which part? I'm in Lebanon. :-D

I grew up in Plymouth. I did my teaching certification in Lebanon.
 
Re: Zeus - numbers back up.

Nice numbers :) See why I said don't increase the dose and drop carbs at the same time? ;-)

You don't dose Lantus based on preshots anyways. You dose based on the nadir (lowest point of the cycle). TR and SLGS both use different methods I think. Not sure which you're using if at all.
 
Re: Zeus - numbers back up.

Ry & Scooter said:
Nice numbers :) See why I said don't increase the dose and drop carbs at the same time? ;-)

You don't dose Lantus based on preshots anyways. You dose based on the nadir (lowest point of the cycle). TR and SLGS both use different methods I think. Not sure which you're using if at all.

Yes, thanks. I was surprised what a difference it made :-D

I don't think I'm using a method. TR and SLGS - I need to read more about it, I don't have an understanding of the difference.
 
Re: Zeus - numbers back up.

And... the number is back down :-D we're at 145, no shot this morning either. That's some good news.

Now to watch the cats today... I don't know if it was Zeus or Smokey, but someone had diarrhea on the kitchen floor. Yesterday someone vomited, but I really think that was Smokey. It looked more like her partially digested food. Sorry for this topic so early... hope you're not eating breakfast and reading, LOL.

Have a great day!
 
Go Zeus! Hopefully the switch to all wet is going to make a big difference for you guys.

Maybe the change in diet is causing tummy troubles for one of them? Leo gets a little of the same whenever he starts something different, even changing brands is enough for him to react that way. Something to keep an eye on, anyway, so no one gets dehydrated.

Keeping my fingers crossed for you that you keep having these nice numbers.

Kate & Leo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top