? Amps HI ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Little Man's mom (GA)

Member Since 2021
So this morning was quite a struggle to get tested.

He had been after me for breakfast an hour before. Jumping up on and back off bed. Pretty worked up. When I went to test first test errors out cause it took forever to get him to hold still to put blood on strip. But the time I got a second test in him all it read was HI.

So of course I'm trying not to just cry here. Hoping it's because he got fairly worked up this morning. I plan on checking him again at about the +2 this morning just to see what is going on.

I raised his insulin to 1.25u yesterday thanks to @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom help. No help from my vet no surprise still havent heard back from them since I talked to vet tech and sent over his spreadsheet link.

Just really feeling frustrated and tired and trying not to panic. He seems ok obviously jumping around this morning LOL
 
Do you have an autofeeder that you can program to give him a snack say 3 hours before his morning shot? That might make him less hungry and more amenable to testing at AMPS. It's also okay to feed a teeny amount of food or a freeze dried treat if that will calm him down enough to let him test you.

Hang in there! Testing gets easier with time. I know that seems impossible now. This journey can be very overwhelming in the beginning! :bighug:

You want to put HI under AMPS in your SS. I wonder if that's a bad strip...HI means a number over 600.

Btw, since you are only feeding wet food, do you want to look at following TR rather SLGS?

Now that you're pretty much set up on the SS/Signature front, you could start posting in the Lantus forum. You will get more inputs from experienced Lantus users there.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
 
Do you have an autofeeder that you can program to give him a snack say 3 hours before his morning shot? That might make him less hungry and more amenable to testing at AMPS. It's also okay to feed a teeny amount of food or a freeze dried treat if that will calm him down enough to let him test you.

Hang in there! Testing gets easier with time. I know that seems impossible now. This journey can be very overwhelming in the beginning! :bighug:

You want to put HI under AMPS in your SS. I wonder if that's a bad strip...HI means a number over 600.

Btw, since you are only feeding wet food, do you want to look at following TR rather SLGS?

Now that you're pretty much set up on the SS/Signature front, you could start posting in the Lantus forum. You will get more inputs from experienced Lantus users there.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

I do not have an autofeeder... there are times he wakes me up at about 3 am wanting food and I have given him a small snack. Recommendations for a decent one?

I have been giving him freeze dried chicken before testing...usually one piece before and one after as a reward. Usually this works this morning was clearly a rough morning.

I fixed the AMPS to read HI. I just took his bg again it's at 446 so still pretty high. Perhaps a bounce from the insulin increase yesterday.

I can look into TR. I guess I'm just so nervous about dosing him and guessing myself what he needs yet. I will need lots of guidance as I feel right now like I just cant seem to get it right. All I can think about is these numbers staying so high is destroying his kidneys and liver. When he had the original testing vet said everything was working in perfect order all organs so I am worried about that changing.

Yes I will start posting in lantus forum from now on. I really didnt even realize since this is main forum.

Thankyou for helping to try to reground me...really need to get back to a yoga class:blackeye:
 
Hi if you are only looking for an automatic pet feeder for that one meal when he wakes you up I found this one and it says it comes with an ice pack
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Cat-Mate...c-Pet-Feeder-BPA-Free-48-Hour-Timer/532465278

When you go to the link I see it gives you the option to purchase a two compartment one also


There are also other ones that members use but they are 5 compartments if you need one like that

Hope this helps :cat:
 
Last edited:
I think I would get an auto feeder with 5 compartments. Two just isn’t enough if you leave the house or want to sleep. Look at the Pet Mate available at Amazon.
Actually the one referenced above comes in a 5 compartment model and it has ice packs which the pet mate doesn’t. You can put ice under the dishes with the Petmate though.
 
Last edited:
Some use this one
https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...gital/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
It doesn't come with ice packs so I did a search on the forum and this is what members said about ice packs

There is room in the bottom of the feeder to put an ice pack if you want, you'd just have to find one that will fit
Try reusable ice packs that are meant for lunch boxes and the like. Some are gel-filled which can be smushed under the tray to keep the food cool.


I used the Petsafe5 and loved it as did Gracie. I put these small dishes in the compartments so she didn’t have to eat off plastic.
The Petsafe 5 is a good feeder and it has space for an ice pack (need to purchase it separately). The compartments might be a little deep but you can get little dishes that fit into them
https://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/open-kitchen-dip-bowl/?pkey=s|dipping dishes|63
 
Last edited:
I do not have an autofeeder... there are times he wakes me up at about 3 am wanting food and I have given him a small snack. Recommendations for a decent one?

I have been giving him freeze dried chicken before testing...usually one piece before and one after as a reward. Usually this works this morning was clearly a rough morning.

I fixed the AMPS to read HI. I just took his bg again it's at 446 so still pretty high. Perhaps a bounce from the insulin increase yesterday.

I can look into TR. I guess I'm just so nervous about dosing him and guessing myself what he needs yet. I will need lots of guidance as I feel right now like I just cant seem to get it right. All I can think about is these numbers staying so high is destroying his kidneys and liver. When he had the original testing vet said everything was working in perfect order all organs so I am worried about that changing.

Yes I will start posting in lantus forum from now on. I really didnt even realize since this is main forum.

Thankyou for helping to try to reground me...really need to get back to a yoga class:blackeye:
My cat Mikey is the king of HI. he was HI this morning. It shows that the insulin is working to put it very simply. It sounds like you have a bouncing cat! Not to worry. It very well could be the change of dose.
I am new on here, so I am more of a take advise guy. But go to the Lantus forum and the experts on there will guide you thru this. Don’t fret, it is all part of the regulation dance

Tom
 
Thanks so much Tom. I'm a take advice kinda girl myself LOL. Increasing dose again this morning going full on tr I guess so we can get these numbers down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top