AMPS falling number! what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.

cellosmom

Member Since 2011
Woke up this morning for our PS and Cello was only 174 which was lower than my +4 test (notably didn't get a nadir last night) so I didn't feed him and went back to bed for an hour and now he is at 133.

I fed the cats breakfast because if I go much longer they'll have a fit (just gave cello 1/4 FF). But I don't know what to do. Wait how long and test again? When do I shoot? Do I give less insulin if he starts to go up?? If he goes up is it because of breakfast? Right now he is on 1U of PZI. Then if he is going up how do I get back on schedule??

Thanks!

See spreadsheet and reposting in PZI forum.
 
Once we are sure he is headed up, not continuing down, you can shoot a much reduced dose. What is your day like today? Can you be around this morning?

The complication is the food. Understand why you had to feed them, but we want to know that the number you will shoot is true, not influenced by food. How about trying another test 60 minutes after he ate?

BTW, this is complicating but GOOD news. Glad we didn't increase!
 
yes! home all day today, was planning a full daytime curve (a few small errands but I won't be out of the house longer than 2 hours at any point) he has still fallen since breakfast though!! is this still good?? I think so... (SO glad I came here to ask before upping his dose, even more glad I listened)

AMPS(7:15am) + 11:30 - 174
.......(8:15 am)+ 12:30 - 133 1/4 can FF
...... (9:45 am)+ 14 - 109


So I'll wait another while and check again..........??

If he starts to go up then 0.5U or should I wait till the PM shot to shoot again??
 
This looks nice. He went down after eating - looking like his pancreas might be waking up.

Part of this is that you shot late last night so this morning he might be "running behind schedule" but I think most of it is that his pancreas has decided to join the party.

Yes, keep testing. All the tests you get today, along with what food fed when, will help figure out his next dose.

Thank you Cello for doing this on a day Mom would be home.
 
Yes, I did shoot an hour later last night so that could contribute. This is the first time he hasn't gone up after food more than +12 after shot so I'm happy about that!!!!

Will test again in an hour and post results. So happy I'm home today to see what's going on. So much for that curve though :P
 
Just keep on top of the numbers. If he suddenly starts to climb, we want to give some insulin. Since your time to experiment is limited to the weekend, I don't think we should just let him climb without insulin until pmps if we can avoid it.
 
WAke up Cello's Pancreas!!
looking good especially after eating
I will keep everything I have crossed for you 2!!
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Just keep on top of the numbers. If he suddenly starts to climb, we want to give some insulin. Since your time to experiment is limited to the weekend, I don't think we should just let him climb without insulin until pmps if we can avoid it.

OK! will do hourly tests. Testing again soon.
 
AMPS(7:15am) + 11:30 - 174
.......(8:15 am)+ 12:30 - 133 - 1/4 can FF
...... (9:45 am)+ 14 - 109 - ate other half his breakfast sometime around here 1/4 can FF
.......(11:00am) +15 - 120 - I won't be feeding him again until dinner at 5pm, will take away "grazing" food. He is getting freeze dried chicken breast chunks before and after each test

Just a quick questions - he went up a bit (could have been food or just slight variation in reading since it wasn't up very much) but EVEN if he starts going up I wouldn't give him insulin until he is over 150 right?
 
If you can, I would leave out food for him to graze. If food is bringing down his numbers, we want to continue that trend.

Yes, 150, if sure rising, might be a good place to shoot a reduced dose.
 
oh ok!! i'll leave the food out, I always do, just thought it would be more accurate without. He has been napping since second breakfast anyways :P
 
The numbers would be more accurate without food. But if food will continue to bring the numbers down without insulin, this is a good thing. If you want to shoot at some point and remain on a schedule that might work, you can pick the food up and see how and if he rises to 150.

Sorry not to have a concrete plan. At this point, we don't know what will happen. If fed, will his numbers move down again or is his pancreas tired for the day? If food is withheld, will and how soon will his numbers move up enough to shoot?
 
ya I hear you! I'll leave the food out (it's not a lot, a bit less than 1.4 Can FF and usually there are traces left at suppertime anyways) and just keep checking on the hour. He is an older cat and generally he sleeps through this part of the day anyways. If he rises above 150 then perhaps a 0.5U and I'll start a curve 2 hours later? I don't mind being up a bit tonight with this good news :) I will have to be out of the house tomorrow from about 8am-2pm though, so I'd REALLY like to know whats going on today.
 
.5 would be pretty brave, but if you are around to keep testing and intervene if needed, it probably would be okay. He has never gone down to super low numbers although we aren't sure what he did last night. Sometimes being gutsy is what pushes them on a downward trend. A conservative dose could be .25 or .35 but it could also slow the progress you have made today. Or it could be exactly right....... :dizcat

These are the hardest calls for the person trying to help and for the mom - not sure which way will work and don't want to put the kitty in danger. Cello is going to react the way only Cello will react and we can't predict that.
 
I can try to give less! but I have 100U insulin and 100U syringes (with marks only at the 1U), so it will be between .25-.5! it's the best I can do I think measurment wise! So IF he goes above 150 before PM shot time, I'll attempt .25 :P but it might be closer to .5
 
This is us. Just thought I'd share :)

+16 - 131.........slowly creeping up. he got up from napping and had a snack.

caught.jpg


Lise and Cello
 
+17 - 138

Have to head out for a bit over an hour, might miss the +18, but will be back for +19 and home all night after.....
 
+19 (3pm)- 160

I'm going to hold off on giving him his shot. I have a potential pet sitter coming to meet Cello in an hour and a half. So I'll wait until then and test him just before so I can show her the whole thing with preparing the shot and everything.

If he is still lower than 200 I'll give 0.25U if he is over 200 I'll give 0.5U I think.........

Or at this point should I wait until 7PM (his normal shot time) and shoot like normal (1U) ??
 
Though impossible to predict if the same dose would give the same results, but your one unit last night at a 200ish number meant a long duration. And you won't be around tomorrow, so I would be conservative. I think I would wait till the regular time and if he is 200 or over, give a fat .5?
 
When you are doing these small doses that are hard to measure, a fat dose means just a tiny bit more. So instead of a .5, just a "dash" or a drop more than .5 measured on the syringe. There can be both fat and skinny doses.
 
i thought so! that makes sense. I'll see what he is at PMPS at 6:30pm and then either go with 0.5 or 0.5 fat. hard to say what dinner will do to his BG
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
His pancreas kept it low a long time. Still a good day.

Ya I know :) I am happy! will try to get at least +6 and +8 tonight and then re-evaluate in the AM. If he is low I'm not going to shoot before I go out though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top