? AMPS 94, 2u given - feeding instructions

Yvonne A

Member Since 2020
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Thank you so much for the direction on keeping Lexi at 2 units. I have given her a 2 unit injection this morning and will monitor her hourly for the next 3 hours.

I have a question regarding feeding. I measure out her daily food in the morning. I give her about 25% of it with her morning shot. After that I typically give her a small amount each time I take her BG reading and then give the remaining 25% with her evening shot.

Right now her numbers seem to be quite good so can I stick with this feeding regimen?
 
Having a regular feeding schedule can be helpful. Does she get any food after her PMPS dinner?
 
It's a good idea to try to feed similar amounts in the AM and PM. I'd be worried about seeing a green preshot then her not having any food available for the rest of the cycle and no testing afterwards. TR does mean getting a second test each cycle, including the night time. Even one just before bed is helpful. Would it be possible to back up your preshot schedule a bit so you can get at least a +2 test before bed? The +2 can be indicative of what the cycle is going to look like. If you see a big drop at +2 then it'll be a very active cycle than needs more monitoring, or at least some food left out for her to graze on. If she's not a grazer, you can buy automated feeders to give food throughout the cycle, especially closer to the nadir or points when she might be going low.
 
It's a good idea to try to feed similar amounts in the AM and PM. I'd be worried about seeing a green preshot then her not having any food available for the rest of the cycle and no testing afterwards. TR does mean getting a second test each cycle, including the night time. Even one just before bed is helpful. Would it be possible to back up your preshot schedule a bit so you can get at least a +2 test before bed? The +2 can be indicative of what the cycle is going to look like. If you see a big drop at +2 then it'll be a very active cycle than needs more monitoring, or at least some food left out for her to graze on. If she's not a grazer, you can buy automated feeders to give food throughout the cycle, especially closer to the nadir or points when she might be going low.
I will try to back up her shots 1 hour - I think that should be manageable. I could then do the +2 to make sure all looks good. When she finishes eating what she wants at night there is usually food left in her dish which she has access to overnight. She is a grazer so she goes back to her dish and the food is always gone in the morning. Also she tends to wake us up at about 8:00 am and has to wait a long time for her morning food. If I move the shots back then she won't have to wait so long for food in the morning.
 
Sounds like a plan!

Looking at your signature, are you still giving the odd bit of dry food?
 
Sounds like a plan!

Looking at your signature, are you still giving the odd bit of dry food?
Yes - when she is asking for food but all of her wet food is gone (like last night), I gave her about a dozen dry kibble bits. I am using Blue Buffalo Wilderness - High Protein, Grain-Free dry food. In reviewing the ingredients I see it has things like peas, potatoes, sweet potatoes and barley. I bought it because it was recommended on the web as a high protien/low carb food. She used to eat wet and dry food and she does miss the dry food a little. I have 2 cats and I give the other cat about 2T of dry in the morning. She usually eats it quickly but if there are a few pieces left Lexi will eat those when she wanders out to the kitchen. Is there something dry that is "passable" that I can give as a treat or do I really need to eliminate it?
 
OK, if you are still feeding dry food, the you cannot follow TR for dosing. It's a safety thing. And since she's insisting on going below 90, she's earned another dose reduction down to 1.75 units per SLGS.
 
OK, if you are still feeding dry food, the you cannot follow TR for dosing. It's a safety thing. And since she's insisting on going below 90, she's earned another dose reduction down to 1.75 units per SLGS.
Okay - I'll read up on the SLGS method so that I understand that. I will reduce her PM shot to 1.75u. Thank you for all your help.
 
OK, if you are still feeding dry food, the you cannot follow TR for dosing. It's a safety thing. And since she's insisting on going below 90, she's earned another dose reduction down to 1.75 units per SLGS.
Because I will also be moving up the shot 1 hour earlier tonight should I reduce to 1.5u for tonight only and then try 1.75 tomorrow?
 
Don't move the shot up 1 hour tonight. You can move shot time up 15 minutes at a time, or may one 1/2 hour change a day. So you'll get to the desired time in a couple days. Shooting too early can act like an increase which she doesn't need.
 
Don't move the shot up 1 hour tonight. You can move shot time up 15 minutes at a time, or may one 1/2 hour change a day. So you'll get to the desired time in a couple days. Shooting too early can act like an increase which she doesn't need.
Okay - glad I asked. I'll move forward 15 mins tonight.
 
Back
Top