Kjensoc
Member Since 2019
Need some advice.
I am looking to start the TR protocol.
Simba was diagnosed 2/7 and had BG of 569
Vet gave him 3 Units of Lantus
I started checking his BG and was concerned the 3 units was too high (see spreadsheet).
Unfortunately I had a 2 week work trip and boarded him at the vet's. I shared my concern and they said they would check his BG and do a curve. Well- they said he was too difficult and never tested his BG (does he look difficult to you)
They kept him at 3 units. (I shared the numbers I was getting the 2 days prior). Dropped as low as 52.
Just got him back last night and I am working to get his numbers all weekend. He was at 84 PMPS so I dropped him to 2 Units. I am thinking that is where I should get his baseline. (He is 18lbs. (lost 1 pound already)!!!!! so that seems like the right number based on the calculations provided).
Also, the vet asked me for a curve with 2 hour intervals. The TR protocol says every 3 hours. So is it fine to do both?
He eats fancy feast pate 3X/day (at injection time and later in the morning). His numbers look good to me. I am looking for encouragement and that I am going in the right direction. And that 2 units makes sense to start. I have not done ketones test yet. I have 2 cats and haven't figured out how to get that sample yet...
I am looking to start the TR protocol.
Simba was diagnosed 2/7 and had BG of 569
Vet gave him 3 Units of Lantus
I started checking his BG and was concerned the 3 units was too high (see spreadsheet).
Unfortunately I had a 2 week work trip and boarded him at the vet's. I shared my concern and they said they would check his BG and do a curve. Well- they said he was too difficult and never tested his BG (does he look difficult to you)
Just got him back last night and I am working to get his numbers all weekend. He was at 84 PMPS so I dropped him to 2 Units. I am thinking that is where I should get his baseline. (He is 18lbs. (lost 1 pound already)!!!!! so that seems like the right number based on the calculations provided).
Also, the vet asked me for a curve with 2 hour intervals. The TR protocol says every 3 hours. So is it fine to do both?
He eats fancy feast pate 3X/day (at injection time and later in the morning). His numbers look good to me. I am looking for encouragement and that I am going in the right direction. And that 2 units makes sense to start. I have not done ketones test yet. I have 2 cats and haven't figured out how to get that sample yet...