AMPS 86 +12; 98 +13. When and how much to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel's mommie

Member Since 2017
Desperately seeing if I can get Angel into remission, and wondering if these numbers look good. Please advice as to what I should do this morning. Shoot how much and when? I've been doing .75 lantus recently. Thank you.

I'm thinking of going .5 -- Yes?

I need to leave for India to be with my mom in less than two weeks, so it would be awesome if he gets into remission -- without endangering him -- before that. If not, I have a vet tech coming while I'm gone.
 
Last edited:
I see two occasions where angel earned a reduction and it wasn't taken, so absolutely you shouldn't be shooting more than .5. Angel seems to be thinking the same as you - let's not do this dance too much longer! :D

Will the vet tech be just shooting or will he/she be able to come back to test mid-cycle? If not testing, I'd recommend considering a lower dose while you're gone, but let's wait a while before determining that. Be sure to post several days before you leave to get input on dose.

Just a caution: any time you get a "light green" number, you need to continue testing for at least two hours to be sure Angel doesn't drop again, especially if it is before +6 or so in the cycle.

From the sticky on handling low numbers:
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

Keep up the good work, Angel! Mama wants to see you OTJ!
 
I see two occasions where angel earned a reduction and it wasn't taken, so absolutely you shouldn't be shooting more than .5. Angel seems to be thinking the same as you - let's not do this dance too much longer! :D

Will the vet tech be just shooting or will he/she be able to come back to test mid-cycle? If not testing, I'd recommend considering a lower dose while you're gone, but let's wait a while before determining that. Be sure to post several days before you leave to get input on dose.

Just a caution: any time you get a "light green" number, you need to continue testing for at least two hours to be sure Angel doesn't drop again, especially if it is before +6 or so in the cycle.

From the sticky on handling low numbers:


Keep up the good work, Angel! Mama wants to see you OTJ!

Lol, you're right -- I think Angel is getting a little tired of the dance :D. Thank you so much for your response, Tricia Cinco. I will definitely ask for input on dose, as I'm quite stressed about being away for a whole month :(. The vet tech will be testing every second morning, and giving him his shots every morn and night. I've refused to travel for the past six months so as to be able to take care of Angel, but I do need to go be with my 83 year old mom :(.

Angel's cycle tends to peak around +4, and climbs thereafter -- and I feel so bad going on poking him -- so I guess I've tried to watch very carefully and manipulate with HC food instead of testing. But yes, agreed on the testing -- and thank you for the sticky. And for all the advice :kiss:
 
Since Angel is a long term diabetic, he earns reductions when he goes below 40. Good luck with the new dose. It's always safer to have the petsitter shoot a smaller dose while you are gone. Have fun in India!
 
Since Angel is a long term diabetic, he earns reductions when he goes below 40. Good luck with the new dose. It's always safer to have the petsitter shoot a smaller dose while you are gone. Have fun in India!
Will keep that in mind, Wendy&Neko -- thank you as always! Yes, I want to keep things safe while we're gone, and then will come back and try to resume TR more stringently. In my optimistic moments it looks like remission MIGHT happen -- any thoughts on that? I'll be posting around July 9 to get a better sense of dose advice for while I'm gone. Thanks again :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top