? AMPS 84, +11 174, PMPS 222 not really eating

Tucker's Mama CS

Member Since 2019
Good morning,

I do not have it on his SS yet but Tucker's AMPS is 84 and I'm terrified that if I shoot he's going to have a severe hypo episode while I'm at work!! He's never had a number this low even for a nadir and I'm panicking.

Okay to hold the dose this morning? Or what should I do?
 
Good morning,

I do not have it on his SS yet but Tucker's AMPS is 84 and I'm terrified that if I shoot he's going to have a severe hypo episode while I'm at work!! He's never had a number this low even for a nadir and I'm panicking.

Okay to hold the dose this morning? Or what should I do?

I'm not familiar with your kitty but will ask this most important question - Are you HOME today to monitor? If so, and that test is on the human meter - not the pet meter - I would give the insulin. Lantus/Levimer is a depot drug - but you will want to monitor and be able to feed higher carb foods IF necessary.
 
I'm not familiar with your kitty but will ask this most important question - Are you HOME today to monitor? If so, and that test is on the human meter - not the pet meter - I would give the insulin. Lantus/Levimer is a depot drug - but you will want to monitor and be able to feed higher carb foods IF necessary.
I will not be home, I'm leaving for work in about 10 minutes. I'm going to retest in a few and see what is what.
 
I will not be home, I'm leaving for work in about 10 minutes. I'm going to retest in a few and see what is what.
I looked at his SS...he's got some high numbers...you might consider leaving out a medium carb food and giving him his dose...no one around to check on him sometime during the day? Could you get away at lunch? His typical numbers are so high I hate to see him miss a shot altogether.
 
I juat rechecked and he was 112. No, I live alone and work 45 minutes away so there is no way I can break away for lunch. I don't know what is the best thing to do here as this has never happened. His pre-shot has never been this low!
 
I juat rechecked and he was 112. No, I live alone and work 45 minutes away so there is no way I can break away for lunch. I don't know what is the best thing to do here as this has never happened. His pre-shot has never been this low!
It sound like he's going up - and he'll most likely keep going up - I'd give the shot, put out medium carb food. He'll probably go even higher today and the MC food will help...but missing doses will put him in even higher numbers...he needs to hopefully level it out rather than going way way up by this evening...you know your kitty...use your best judgement here.
 
I hope Tucker stayed safe for you today and you left out plenty of food. As per SLGS, you skip if preshots are under 90. You have never shot a blue before (almost with that 200), much less a low blue. Admittedly preshots can be lower with Levemir because of the later nadir, but you don’t have the data to shoot low and run out the door. Plus he earned a reduction with that 84. Your new dose is 2.0 units.

Keep us updated as soon as you get home. It’s likely he will bounce and be safe today. And that green is preogees..
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko . I am terrified, I tried to find someone to cover me this afternoon so that I could leave early, but no one was available so I have asked my sister to please go check on him today if she gets a chance. Not sure if she will be able to check on him or not. When I rechecked his BG he wa 112 so I shot 1 unit and left down plenty of food, just hoping he eats!! I have been in panic and worry mode all morning and finding it hard to concentrate. :(:arghh:
 
I am glad you left plenty of food out. If he goes low, he will go looking for food. And like I said, he does have a good chance of bouncing. Just next time he gives you a low AM number, it’s Ok to be conservative.
 
I am glad you left plenty of food out. If he goes low, he will go looking for food. And like I said, he does have a good chance of bouncing. Just next time he gives you a low AM number, it’s Ok to be conservative.
I just hope he doesn't go so low that he can't get up to get food. I gave him a handful of high carb treats before I left and filled the automatic feeder, plus left another bowl of his favorite food down. I am just so scared!
 
Last edited:
BG at 1833 was 222. Has barely eaten anything for me other than a few treats. Should I still give his Levemir @Wendy&Neko ?? I gave him his Mirtazapine to see if his appetite increases.
 
Could going so low make him not feel well?? He just looks like he is not feeling the best, and I am starting to get concerned.
 
Yes. If a cat is not used to good numbers (lower numbers) it can make him/her feel bad until they get used to those kind of numbers. Did you give any insulin tonight?
I wound up giving him 1 unit again tonight. I hope I am not screwing him up too bad, but with him not really eating, I'm terrified of him bottoming out!
 
I am glad you got some insulin in him. Keeping safety first is never screwing up. :bighug:

Did you notice if he ate much of the food you left out? I wonder if he filled himself up.
 
I am glad you got some insulin in him. Keeping safety first is never screwing up. :bighug:

Did you notice if he ate much of the food you left out? I wonder if he filled himself up.
The food in the feeder was barely touched. The food in the other 2 bowls was pretty much gone. Unfortunately, I never know whether it is him or his sister that is getting the food. He usually dominates, though I doubt that was the case today just based on the way he's acting. I am going to keep a close eye on him.
 
@Wendy&Neko , his appetite seems to have improved over the last hour or so. BG is at 418 at +2 (I'm glad I gave at least some insulin!).

My question is regarding dosing for in the morning, in case I can't reach you or someone else...if his AMPS is closer to his recent norm (200-300), should I still do the reducie and give 2 units? If it is low again, should I give less like I did this morning? I just want to be prepared with what to do so I don't panic like I did this morning. Thank you so much for all of your help.

I can't thank you and everyone else enough for all of the help!
 
Yes, down to 2.0 units in the morning, even if he’s higher than normal. We determine dose by how low it takes kitty. I expect with the bounce and two cycles in a row of reduced dose, you won’t have to worry about shooting low tomorrow.
 
Back
Top