Erica & Carter
Member Since 2016
Hi all,
Went ahead and skipped this morning dose from advise from others to get him back on a better schedule that works better with my work schedule. 7:15am/7:15pm.
His BG has dropped from 503 this morning, to 382 about 11 hours later WITHOUT any insulin. Ate twice at 7am + noon. Given that is a pretty big drop to have not had a dose, I'm opting to give him only 1 unit of insulin in about an hour.
Does that sound okay?
Given that I probably should have given 2 to air on the side of safety last night when he was in the 400s, 1 unit seems more appropriate now that he's in the upper levels of the 300s. Then I was going to test again at +3 to make sure all is ok.
Definitely switching to the canned food diet is creating some sort of control in the diabetes, perhaps even more than the Vetsulin... happy I'll be able to switch to Lantus here in the next week or two.
He's just about to eat (which usually takes around 30ish minutes) so I'm about to shoot here in an hour if anyone can confirm/deny my if my intuition is correct in the next hour for peace of mind that would be awesome.
**Separately: which brand of Nature's Variety (Instinct) free dried are the low carb ones/good for treat use?
Went ahead and skipped this morning dose from advise from others to get him back on a better schedule that works better with my work schedule. 7:15am/7:15pm.
His BG has dropped from 503 this morning, to 382 about 11 hours later WITHOUT any insulin. Ate twice at 7am + noon. Given that is a pretty big drop to have not had a dose, I'm opting to give him only 1 unit of insulin in about an hour.
Does that sound okay?
Given that I probably should have given 2 to air on the side of safety last night when he was in the 400s, 1 unit seems more appropriate now that he's in the upper levels of the 300s. Then I was going to test again at +3 to make sure all is ok.
Definitely switching to the canned food diet is creating some sort of control in the diabetes, perhaps even more than the Vetsulin... happy I'll be able to switch to Lantus here in the next week or two.
He's just about to eat (which usually takes around 30ish minutes) so I'm about to shoot here in an hour if anyone can confirm/deny my if my intuition is correct in the next hour for peace of mind that would be awesome.
**Separately: which brand of Nature's Variety (Instinct) free dried are the low carb ones/good for treat use?
Last edited:
