? AMPS 503 +391, dose help

tackeee

Member Since 2019
Little ones numbers were doing better on the increase and now they seem to be getting worse again. Are there signs of insulin resistance here? His nadirs also seem to hit later than normal and thus I might be missing bounces at night.

Should I up to 4units? I need to call vet again, but she has been less than useful overall lately it seems.
 
Little One definitely likes to bounce. According to SLGS, you would hold a dose with nadirs under 150, which you are seeing. Can you remind me why you are following SLGS? Most days you seem to be able to get a second test during the day, but not always the night. He might be hitting low to him numbers at night. I think he could use an increase, which you could do under TR.
 
Little One definitely likes to bounce. According to SLGS, you would hold a dose with nadirs under 150, which you are seeing. Can you remind me why you are following SLGS? Most days you seem to be able to get a second test during the day, but not always the night. He might be hitting low to him numbers at night. I think he could use an increase, which you could do under TR.

He must be bouncing from relatively safe numbers too, as I only ever saw a nadir under 150 twice several days ago. Even when I test his numbers several hours after he eats in the evening they’re still quite high. I opted for SLGS only because there are some days where I work crazy hours and am not around and others when I can get more tests in. I figured it would be safer to SLGS unless from my testing you think TR is ok if there are random days when I miss more tests?
 
Kitties bounce when they see numbers they aren't used to. In Little One's case, that could very well be lowish blues, which are still safe. The more time he spends there, the less likely he'll bounce.

Did you read the part on Doing TR with a Full Time job, that is now part of the Dosing Methods Sticky Note? Libby's schedule in that post had her away for almost 12 hours some days. She would just wait longer before increasing, to make sure she had the data she needed first. Might be some other tips in that post for you.
 
I'll look at TR with a full time job post later today. I have a vet appt for Little One at 5pm to check in with the vet who I haven't seen in weeks, and after that I hope to up to 4units. I'm so frustrated with his current numbers - whatever bounce he had the other day seems to be still affecting him cause his numbers are going higher again persistently. I tried to catch a low number last night when I was up at 3:30am last night and it was still showing a consistent flat high line. I am worried about an upcoming work travel mid March and hope to have him more regulated by then because I can't afford how expensive this poor little dude is getting. I think I could train a friend to give him insulin, but not test his blood for a two-day period.

Little One's stubborn internal organs are driving us both bonkers.
 
Over the last 3 days his nadirs don't look great, of course with no test on the pm cycle on 2/4 it is possible he dipped then.
But as a whole I agree the nadirs are not looking great and he could probably do with an increase. It might be an idea to run a curve he's been on his dose a week.

I am worried about an upcoming work travel mid March and hope to have him more regulated by then because I can't afford how expensive this poor little dude is getting. I think I could train a friend to give him insulin, but not test his blood for a two-day period.
I trained a friend to test and shoot George when we went away, if you have a friend that is good with animals I would approach them sooner rather than later.
Another thought, I have two meters, but my regular meter takes a larger blood sample, my backup is a freestyle freedom lite, the strips are quite expensive for the freestyle here in europe (not so much US/canada), so I don't use it regularly, but because it takes such a tiny sample, and therefore easier to use, when I go away my friend uses that one and has no problems.
When we've gone away, my friend sometimes comes and house sits with George other times we take George to hang out at her place.
She has many animals of her own so we help eachother out when we've got poorly pets, or when we are away on vacation.

Another option might be to see if there is a board member that lives near you, I have known members help eachother out.
 
Agreed! At the vet tonight he got an antibiotic shot to help with his stomatitis (and any urinary tract stuff with elevated BG). We agreed to go up to four and let it sit there for awhile to see how he reacts and if things are taking longer to settle for him. I asked too about the any vet techs who do house calls on the side and she said to let them know, so I'll look into what my options might be re: teaching friends vs. having someone visit. I'll also make another post shortly for SE Michigan folks!
 
Back
Top