AMPS +5 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brie’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi,
Brie switched to Basaglar a few weeks ago and it has really helped her numbers but she keeps having low drops during the day. I feed at shot and +2 and then have been needing to give some HC wet whenever she gets low. The 0.25U reduction a few cycles ago did not agree with her body so we went back to the regular dose. She seems totally normal and is playful and purring when she drops but I know hypo can come on quickly. I have emailed the vet but it's the weekend and probably wont hear until Monday.

Would any of you recommend giving some LC Dry (Tiki Cat 11% carb Dry) at the +2 feed to keep those numbers relatively low but flat?

I havent't changed my signature yet but she is now on 1IU of Basaglar.
 
I think you need to go back down to .75 if you’re following SLGS. Dropping low is her telling you the 1 unit is too high and you need to give the .75 a chance to work. She may have been bouncing from the low numbers and not necessarily not agreeing with the reduction.

what are you currently feeding at +2 and can you also give her some treats at +4?
 
I think you need to go back down to .75 if you’re following SLGS. Dropping low is her telling you the 1 unit is too high and you need to give the .75 a chance to work. She may have been bouncing from the low numbers and not necessarily not agreeing with the reduction.

what are you currently feeding at +2 and can you also give her some treats at +4?

yeah I will go back down to 0.75 tonight for sure. It was just so discouraging seeing her soooo sleepy and higher numbers again for the few days after pretty incredible numbers (for her).

I give her just a Tbsp of LC fancy feast. I work from her AMPS +0.5 to +5. But have an automatic feeder for the +2. I could probably set one up for +4 though too.
She back up to 3.7mmol (66mg) now but just gave her another bit of food with some honey.

I’ll try to get some +2s at night.
 
Whether is FF or Tiki won’t make a difference since they’re both LC. Safer to stay at .75 and you want to give the dose 7 days before deciding to go back up. Unless of course she goes under 90 again because then she eaten another reduction and goes down to .5. My auto feeder has 2 slots so if yours does too, you can set it for +2 and +4
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top