Melissa and Celle
Member Since 2011
Was the increase too much? Too soon to say? I shot 1.25 again this morning on the theory of not changing things based on one reading, but I'm not sure that was the right thing to do.
Melissa and Celle said:Was the increase too much? Too soon to say? I shot 1.25 again this morning on the theory of not changing things based on one reading, but I'm not sure that was the right thing to do.
pamela and tigger said:I am afraid with this infection that things need to be stepped up a little. I know you are trying not to go past the 'ideal' dose, and you may have to back down on the dose later, but I think with the infection you need to be careful about her not having enough insulin.
I know even without an infection I would be increasing Tigger's dose with these numbers.
That is excellent! When making a dose increase or any change for that matter, there is often a higher than normal BG response. No one really knows why that is, but most of us have seen it and no not to be overly concerned. But it's hard when you're just starting out and anything over 400 seems frightening.Melissa and Celle said:Celle's eating well, and she seems to be OK. Maybe a little off, but nothing that I would really even think about if not for these numbers.
I couldn't get any spot checks today, but PMPS = 311. So good news there. (Yes, a 311 is good news these days.)
pamela and tigger said:I am afraid with this infection that things need to be stepped up a little. I know you are trying not to go past the 'ideal' dose, and you may have to back down on the dose later, but I think with the infection you need to be careful about her not having enough insulin.
I know even without an infection I would be increasing Tigger's dose with these numbers.
Melissa and Celle said:You're right, I'm just hesitant to increase too fast because we had such a hard time detecting when the dose was too high. The 465 this morning was unusually high, but otherwise her values even with the infection haven't been that unusual (I hate to say), so it's hard to see why the infection alone should be reason to increase faster than normal (normal being a little slower than the Tilly protocol based on when we can get enough readings). I guess because the infection creates additional concern about the high numbers?
Melissa and Celle said:My inclination now is to see if we can stay on 1.25 until Friday when I can get some spot checks in at +7 to +12 and then evaluate another increase to 1.5 from there. Presumably the antibiotic might start making a difference soon. It was 48 hours ago that she got her first dose.
Can you recommend what to get? How often do you test? I've been avoiding this on the theory that I don't know what I'd do if she did have ketones. I just don't want to go the route of hospitalization unless it's pretty near certain they could help her.Vicky & Gandalf said:Have you been able to get some ketone test strips? That's more important than a curve right now.