Amps 451 +6.5 45

Chislow

Member Since 2018
Need some guidance on Cinncy's numbers, if the numbers are low I don't shoot and by the end of the day numbers are in the red, today we dropped from 451 to 45 at +6.5. Using One Touch Ultra, Lantus 4.5, feeding mostly raw, tiny tiger, ff pate and sometimes Dr Elsey dry kibble, any thoughts and guidance would be appreciated
 
With numbers below 50, you need to give a bit of carbs to get your kitty back into a safer zone. Please test now. If numbers are still in the 40s, add some high carb food -- preferably a canned food with gravy. If you don't have a gravy-based food, add a couple of drops of Karo (corn) syrup or honey to Cinccy's usual low carb food. These numbers are lower than your comfort zone.
 
I wanted to get the previous post up and respond to your post. Since you have to follow SLGS with Cinncy still eating dry food, you want to reduce the dose since numbers dropped below 90. There are several instances where the nadirs have been below 90 in the last week (i.e., on 4/9, 4/11, and this cycle).

It's helpful to remember that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot number. Please reduce Cinncy's dose to 4.0u at PMPS.
 
At 6.5 I gave her half can if tiny tiger, just tested again at 8.25 hours and it is now at 40, just gave her a hand full of high carb kitty treats, she is up and playing at the moment
 
I wanted to get the previous post up and respond to your post. Since you have to follow SLGS with Cinncy still eating dry food, you want to reduce the dose since numbers dropped below 90. There are several instances where the nadirs have been below 90 in the last week (i.e., on 4/9, 4/11, and this cycle).

It's helpful to remember that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot number. Please reduce Cinncy's dose to 4.0u at PMPS.
Thank you for the help, will reduce her units, I am a little confused at what point I don't shoot, when I do not it sky rockets into the red zones
 
A lot of the decision making is based on your experience and comfort level as well as what dosing method you're using. I followed TR and once I got the hang of how to steer the curve with food and progressively shooting lower numbers, I would shoot anything above 50. So from the perspective of TR, numbers above 50 are safe if you know what you're doing and can be home to monitor. I would not shoot that low if I couldn't keep an eye on Gabby's numbers.

Cinncy is bouncing. That can make things hard. You get a low number, he bounces sky high, and the bounce breaks at shot times and you skip and then numbers skyrocket. It's frustrating. With SLGS you have several options if you get a low pre-shot number:
  • You can stall. You don't feed and you re-test every 20 or so minutes until you see numbers rising.
  • You can reduce the dose. There isn't a specific way to decide on how much to reduce the dose but giving less insulin may be helpful. Keep in mind that sometimes dose reductions don't always have an impact during the current cycle.
  • You can skip.
Each of these options has an effect on the depot. There's no one right or wrong choice.
 
Back
Top