AMPS = 433 Increased dose too soon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Celle

Member Since 2011
I feared another bounce after seeing 229 at +4 last night. Seems like that's what happened because we're over 400 again this morning.

Did we increase too quickly? Or would time settling in at 0.6 maybe allow things to even out a bit more?

This is starting to seem impossible.
 
I don't think you increased too fast.

I kinda think that one or the other of the am #s from yesterday is an error. I don't see how she could go from 130 to 409 in 45 mins. But there does seem to be some bouncing going on. I would hold the .6u and see if the numbers come down and bouncing stops. Unfortunately, shooting .5u this am on the 433 is probably going to set you back to square one on the settle time.
 
Melissa and Celle said:
This is starting to seem impossible.

I know how you feel, Melissa!! It seems every time I take one or 2 steps forward, it's another step back. One tiny drop can make such a difference.

Keep up the great work and I hope Celle settles in a little at her new dose. :-)
 
Yeah, the .6U should settle for a few more cycles to show what it can do.

Also, I'm wondering if there is anything different about her feeding schedule at night than there is during the day because her PM +4's are always lower and look good. Without later tests say at +8 overnight, it's hard to tell where she went after the +4. If she's nose diving on this small amount of insulin, food may be a factor. Perhaps during the day she eats a lot, but at night she eats very little.

Just an idea because I noticed that on the spreadsheet.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Also, I'm wondering if there is anything different about her feeding schedule at night than there is during the day because her PM +4's are always lower and look good. Without later tests say at +8 overnight, it's hard to tell where she went after the +4. If she's nose diving on this small amount of insulin, food may be a factor. Perhaps during the day she eats a lot, but at night she eats very little.

Celle always has food available, and with multiple cats, It's hard to track what's going on.

The evening PM +4 readings are pretty consistent regarding her food in that she always eats shortly before the reading when I put out some fresh food before bed. She also tends to graze between shot time and bed time. I suspect that she eats again early in the morning shortly before her AMPS reading, but I'm not sure, and I don't know what she does while we sleep.

During any day that I can get an AM +4 reading, I think she's probably eating in a similar pattern to the PM readings. We are around and giving her fresh food occasionally to keep her eating (until about +8 when I stop trying to encourage more eating).

During the days at work, I imagine things are different, but I never have readings then to know how it affects things.
 
The PM +4 is interesting, especially regarding the fact it's done after she's eaten. How long after she eats is the test? An hour or less?

Would it be possible to get tests at +2 AM & PM and +10 AM/PM? Does not have to be the same day. There is a typical pattern to Lev, a lot of times there is a rise within 2 hours of the shot. Also with a +10 you might catch a late nadir and would see if there is significant climb after that with the preshot. It's probably not going to show too much, but catching anything out of the ordinary can be significant. A lot of times people don't think these tests so soon after or before a shot mean anything, but the rate of climb or decline is helpful.

I am gone all day today so may not be back online till tomorrow AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top