ASHFUR
Member Since 2021
Hello again...
At the end of this post I included links to my previous posts/questions in case someone needs to refer back to a previous conversation. Basically I finally increased my cats dosage from 2.0 to 2.5 BID (I hope that means twice a day) and the first day was great. I was super excited to see some numbers in the 200's finally and thought we were finally getting somewhere. However; that same night and following days to come his numbers climbed back up like they were post dose increase. I had a long hard think about what could have been different that day and nothing comes to mind. The only thing that could be a HUGE factor is his kibble (Purina-DM) and maybe he just didn't eat as much of it the day of the dose increase and that is the factor involved. In order to test this theory, I took his kibble away today and have been feeding him wet only. His numbers still stayed in the 300's and never reached the 200's.
My question is should I continue to see improvements on a daily bases after a dose increase? Why would he respond great the first dose and then go back to previous numbers? And is it dangerous for me to now switch him to a wet only diet considering I just increased his dose? Even though his numbers are still showing pretty high should I let him have his kibble and start a diet change a week from the dose increase?
Links to previous Questions of mine:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2748584/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2749160/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-2-ashfur-amps-344-question-about-dosage.243990/
At the end of this post I included links to my previous posts/questions in case someone needs to refer back to a previous conversation. Basically I finally increased my cats dosage from 2.0 to 2.5 BID (I hope that means twice a day) and the first day was great. I was super excited to see some numbers in the 200's finally and thought we were finally getting somewhere. However; that same night and following days to come his numbers climbed back up like they were post dose increase. I had a long hard think about what could have been different that day and nothing comes to mind. The only thing that could be a HUGE factor is his kibble (Purina-DM) and maybe he just didn't eat as much of it the day of the dose increase and that is the factor involved. In order to test this theory, I took his kibble away today and have been feeding him wet only. His numbers still stayed in the 300's and never reached the 200's.
My question is should I continue to see improvements on a daily bases after a dose increase? Why would he respond great the first dose and then go back to previous numbers? And is it dangerous for me to now switch him to a wet only diet considering I just increased his dose? Even though his numbers are still showing pretty high should I let him have his kibble and start a diet change a week from the dose increase?
Links to previous Questions of mine:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2748584/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2749160/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-2-ashfur-amps-344-question-about-dosage.243990/
