? AMPS 384, increase dose?

tackeee

Member Since 2019
Little One had nearly all his teeth pulled now a month ago and his numbers which were all pink/red/black started to drop to all yellows and blues. I dropped him from 6 to 4.5 of Lantus and he was doing well there it seemed.

However, a few days ago he had an AMPS of 99, and instead of holding his shot, I just gave 3.5 for that day and then 4 twice and then back to 4.5 because his numbers were higher.

I assumed it was just his depot catching up again, but now it looks like he might need to go up again. I can’t do another curve for a few days. Is it typical that his body just reacted over positively to the loss of infection and now he needs a higher dose again?
 
Here is the link to your previous post, for continuity and history for others: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pmps-368-diarrhea-increased-dose.213812/

The depot should be caught up now, after the reduced doses. It does look currently like he needs more juice, and that curve in a couple days should verify that for you. It is possible he is going low on those cycles you missed a mid cycle test and then bouncing, but I think that's less likely.

Did Little One have a follow up visit with the vet to check his mouth after the dental? Just trying to eliminate the possibility of a new infection after the extractions.
 
Thanks! That’s what I’m thinking :/ even though he was doing so well on 4.5 for awhile: He did have a follow up immediately and has seemed sooo much more comfortable. He doesn’t seem to have any pain, but it may be useful to go back again. The vet was super happy with the condition of his mouth already a few weeks ago. Should I increase now or after I do a curve Thursday or Friday? And to 4.75 or 5? (It’s so hard to do the .25 increase and my vet was wary of the inconsistency with it).
 
Thanks! That’s what I’m thinking :/ even though he was doing so well on 4.5 for awhile: He did have a follow up immediately and has seemed sooo much more comfortable. He doesn’t seem to have any pain, but it may be useful to go back again. The vet was super happy with the condition of his mouth already a few weeks ago. Should I increase now or after I do a curve Thursday or Friday? And to 4.75 or 5? (It’s so hard to do the .25 increase and my vet was wary of the inconsistency with it).
I haven't been at this long enough to give dosing advice, but I see you went ahead and did it. I hope you see some lower numbers in the next few cycles! And I totally agree--the .25 doses are hard to do! I know I'm inconsistent with it...I'm considering getting some calipers to dose accurately/consistently.
 
Back
Top