There is no correct one day to calculate the dosage. Rather we look at either a week of data on the same dose (if following SLGS), or a minimum of 3 days/6 cycles if following TR. I did look at the spreadsheet, but you are dose hopping around so I can't tell what would be a good dose. The depot is being interrupted all the time. My suggestion is to pick a dose and stick with it, follow the guidelines of SLGS if that is what you are using and follow it for the required times, then evaluate the dose. The one exception is if Porto earns a reduction by going below 90, in which case you would reduce by 0.25 units. Maybe try 2.0 units, youndid start to get some data on that dose. But first a question, has Porto ever tested positive for ketones? You should be testing daily when he is in high numbers. If yes on ketones, then a higher dose may be appropriate.
If you can't get mid cycle tests during the day, then at least get a before bed test at night. Many cats go lower at night anyway, so it's a good time to try to spot those lows.
The answer to shooting lower numbers depends on your experience, the data you have gathered, and your ability to monitor that cycle. In the beginning you may skip, but as you gather data you lower your nonshoot number. As you have observed, he will shoot up the next cycle if you skip.
Thank you so much, Wendy! You cant imagine the feeling of someone looking at the sheet and commenting on it. Very helpful everything you say!
So, if the nadir doesnt fall below 90, I dont reduce?
I want to be thorough so english not being my first language, I want to ask my question right, hoping you could answer.
If the preshot number is way lower than the preshots before, but the nadir wasnt lower than 90, I shouldnt reduce? I was doing 2 ud on 400s because with 3 ud we had a very low peak after a vomit (55 at 6+). So I got scared and I lowered the dose with 1 ud to stay on it for a while and see how it goes. I was also planning to change the diet, I figured it will be a safe dose in case vomits appear. And then, 5 days into 2 ud, and after a vomit at +3 am he got to 260 preshot (after staying in the 400s for the last days), i reduced with 0,25 not knowing where this is going and that gave a nadir of 129. then, the next preshot number was lower than the one before, 188. So I only gave 0.50 because I got too scared to shoot 2 ud or 1,75 like before. Should I have kept shooting 2 ud given that he still didnt reach 90 in nadir? I would like to know if there is logic in my questions, if I understand it correctly. Sorry if I am annoying, just want to get it right.
I may be too scared to shot if the preshot is low. Now I feel safe shooting 2 ud if the numbers are in the 300 or higher but going lower I get scared of shooting the same dose because of unexpected vomits but I am past shooting nothing. We had one ugly emergency hypo vet visit after a sudden vomit at shot time so I am quite scared of these unexpected vomit drops. I also dont want to take steps back in helping him get regulated. I want to proceed with caution but it seems Im doing worse...
I do test the ketones but the way I do it, I stick the strip under the pee and wait a few seconds, pull out and then check. It was always negative. They also read glucose and the glucose does get coloured so I assume they work.
He is sleepy today, more than usual, losing a bit of fur again, not seeming himself. He had a bit of a flare up, I think, last night and he may still feel the aftershock? I pray it has passed, since the new diet, they seem to get less serious but now I need to care for the diabetes and I am at a loss... Thank you so much for trying to help us!!