AMPS 344.... bounce/rebound?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cellosmom

Member
arrrrgh.

Yesterday I gave Cello his shot 24 hours after the last shot, he stayed in the blues all day, then at 4pm was up to 216. I only gave 0.5U, but it was probably a fat 0.5. At nadir he was the lowest he has been in a long time (63) I probably should have checked again later but took it as a sign to catch up on my sleep. Guess that was a mistake because he was back up to 344 this morning. So I gave a skinny 1U.

I honestly think maybe I gave too much yesterday and this is a rebound (or bounce?) not sure which term is appropriate.

Going to use this as a chance to stay at work all day though.
 
I am really glad you will be home today. Yes, I would guess he went lower than the 63 and that today's amps is a bounce. Not sure what will happen today but glad you will around to handle it.

Next time, don't "shoot the bounce". Stay with your regular dose, figuring that it is not a "true number" but his body's reaction to going low.
 
Yes I'd say it's a bounce (rebound-same thing). KT's one of the Kings of Bounce. Every time their bodies get close to the 'good range', it gets scared and dumps glucose into the blood to raise it back up to where it's used to being. It takes a little while to clear that glucose out - usually starts out about 3 days. As KT bounces more often, they aren't lasting as long. IF we can convince them that it's OK to be that low then the bounces will stop. So...it's normal... :-D KT's spreadsheet is in my signature - notice each time he hits blue or green, within hours he shoots back up.

Hugs - you're doing good!
 
~nadir he is 4.5 and happy as can be. Gotta run out for a few hours but will test him when I get home.

Hopefully he stabalizes in the blues again, if he doesn't should I try to catch him rising about 150 and give a very small dose?
 
That would be ideal. I'd be surprised if it was before tonight some time, but since you aren't on a schedule, it's okay.

He is looking great.
 
I guess 1U is probably too much for him in general now.

Since nadir his BG hasn't changed really +7 - 81 +10 - 74 and now PMPS - 92

I will check him in a couple hours and see if he is shootable, hopefully he doesn't spike back up before I can catch him.

Figure I'll check again around 10 PM, and then maybe set my alarm for 2 or 3am if it isn't shootable yet?
 
Surfing forever would be lovely. :mrgreen:

The one unit this am could have been too much. You want to think about the lows causing a bounce into higher numbers. The higher number is possibly not a "true" number but a reaction to the low. So you would consider not shooting the higher number with a normal dose, but staying with the dose you were giving earlier - like .5

But, bigger picture, it doesn't make much difference. You are and have been completely off schedule anyway and are just going to have the shoot the numbers when they get high enough.

BTw, not a bad problem to have.
 
:smile: oh ok!

well thanks for the continued (and much needed) support and encouragement. It's so hard to know what is the right thing.
 
Besides the first few weeks, the last few weeks are the scariest time of this whole dance. And you got them both at once. It is hard to shoot the tiny doses even after months of figuring out this whole thing - it is worse to shoot the tiny doses when you are just starting out.

You and Cello are doing fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top