Hi,
Sarafina's chart is high and flat, Nadir barely shifts from the 342 mark despite increasing doses, her behaviour is positive, outside and active, eating normally peeing maybe twice a day in normal amounts. Ketones have dropped from 1.5 to 4 range to trace range
Question - I Increased dose from 4 to 6, very slight impact on nadir from 18 prior day to 16.5. should I wait longer than 24hrs to increase again (ie the 6 cycle guideline), or try and break what seems to be a 'floor' or wall.
Conscious of breaking through and sharp drop considering potential for delayed reaction (depot). Could also argue switching Insulin and dropping dose, means increasing again much quicker than the normal suggestion, is in fact, a failed reduction and going back to what 'worked' (although it didnt) very confusing, and no clear path to follow, to me at least.
On previus Insulin, increasing doses over 24hr periods increased her peaks (500+) Nadirs were shorter and sharper.
Question - she has been in the 300+ range for 2 weeks now, has resistance increased or something else going on such as an infection (gingivitus?) What other causes should I be looking into?, will be speaking to vet Re Acromegaly again. Last conversation, again, vet was reluctant to go down that path. Happy to push for the test.
She seems happy, which is great, but nagging doubts/concerns over her lack of response to insulin dosing.
Any shared experiences or suggestions, very very welcome.
Thanks everyone,
Chris and Sarafina
Sarafina's chart is high and flat, Nadir barely shifts from the 342 mark despite increasing doses, her behaviour is positive, outside and active, eating normally peeing maybe twice a day in normal amounts. Ketones have dropped from 1.5 to 4 range to trace range
Question - I Increased dose from 4 to 6, very slight impact on nadir from 18 prior day to 16.5. should I wait longer than 24hrs to increase again (ie the 6 cycle guideline), or try and break what seems to be a 'floor' or wall.
Conscious of breaking through and sharp drop considering potential for delayed reaction (depot). Could also argue switching Insulin and dropping dose, means increasing again much quicker than the normal suggestion, is in fact, a failed reduction and going back to what 'worked' (although it didnt) very confusing, and no clear path to follow, to me at least.
On previus Insulin, increasing doses over 24hr periods increased her peaks (500+) Nadirs were shorter and sharper.
Question - she has been in the 300+ range for 2 weeks now, has resistance increased or something else going on such as an infection (gingivitus?) What other causes should I be looking into?, will be speaking to vet Re Acromegaly again. Last conversation, again, vet was reluctant to go down that path. Happy to push for the test.
She seems happy, which is great, but nagging doubts/concerns over her lack of response to insulin dosing.
Any shared experiences or suggestions, very very welcome.
Thanks everyone,
Chris and Sarafina