AMPS 323 been testing and tracking 11 days, do I need to increase dosing?

Meeps' Momma

Member Since 2021
Hi! My cat Meeps was diagnosed a week and a half ago. I've been tracking and BG testing multiple times a day and trying to understand what it all means. How is this looking as far as the dosining is concerned? Should we keep it here or increase to 1.5U? He's on Lantus and we are doing 1.25 currently. The vet had originally recommended 3U and after 2 days we quickly saw that was a bad idea, and that was before we were home testing. My cat is thankfully very cooperative, he loves to eat and will let me test him as much as I need to.

Thanks!

Sam
 
Hi Sam! We like to add your previous post to each new day's post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...antus-yesterday-194-pmps.244991/#post-2764620

I don't give dosing advice so hopefully a more senior member will be around shortly to help you with that, but from what I can see, Meeps is getting some good blue nadirs and seems to be responding well to his 1.25 considering he just started on it. It's awesome that you were able to switch him to lower carb foods and that you're testing, but it's important that you test before each and every shot you give him to keep him safe. Unregulated kitties can sometimes reach their lowest points (nadirs) at shot time, and because you don't have enough data to know how he would react, you should test him and feed and shoot shortly after that if he's in safe numbers. Until you build more data it's recommended that you stall after any preshot number below 200, don't feed, and post here for advice on how to proceed. You might want to read and bookmark this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Also, in order for us to advise you well on dosing, we'd need to know which dosing method you'll be following, as each method has a different number for reductions. For example, if you follow Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), you would reduce your dose whenever your kitty has dropped below 90, but if you follow Tight Regulation (TR), you reduce when you drop below 50. You seem to test enough for TR, which is the method that will help you get kitty to remission most quickly but it's also quite aggressive. You'll find a lot of helpful info here about the two dosing methods: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

This is a lot of information to take in, but don't worry, it gets easier and you're doing really well! :bighug:
 
I noticed some different shot times on your spreadsheet the last couple days. With Lantus, we try to shoot as close as we can to a 12 hour schedule. You can vary by 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour once a day. Moving the shot up over an hour like you did yesterday morning acts a bit like an increase. Is it difficult with your schedule to do the shots 12 hours apart?

I'm glad Margaret gave you the link to the Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. People here follow one of two dosing methods. By one of those methods you would increase now, by the other you'd wait at least another day before increasing, unless you saw lower numbers. Which is why it's important to see which dosing method might best suit your lifestyle and goals.
 
Thank you!
I'm still trying to figure out between the two dosing methods, if TR is the one that's best for remission, then I'll see if I can follow that one.
I just got back into town after working out of state for the last 6 months, so my boyfriend has been managing all of this on his own and I was trying to explain to him that the shots really need to be 12 hrs apart if possible. Right now I'm out of work for a while and then once I start back up I work over 12-15 hours a day generally (film industry), but my boyfriend works from home.
I can take advantage of us both being home for now and try to adhere to the strict schedule and testing.
 
Thank you!
I'm still trying to figure out between the two dosing methods, if TR is the one that's best for remission, then I'll see if I can follow that one.
I just got back into town after working out of state for the last 6 months, so my boyfriend has been managing all of this on his own and I was trying to explain to him that the shots really need to be 12 hrs apart if possible. Right now I'm out of work for a while and then once I start back up I work over 12-15 hours a day generally (film industry), but my boyfriend works from home.
I can take advantage of us both being home for now and try to adhere to the strict schedule and testing.
You can choose to do TR if you're going to be home and can be consistent and then if you go back to work you can switch to SLGS where increases happen a lot more slowly. That being said, many people are able to do TR with a full time job, but you'd still have to give insulin 12 hours apart for it to be effective.
 
TR is a more aggressive protocol, but higher odds of getting your kitty regulated faster, which in turn increases the chances of remission. If you've got the time to for it, I would. However, with that more aggressive comes the requirement for testing. In addition to the two preshot tests each day, you also need to get at least one other each, that means day time and night time. You don't have to stay up all night, but if you can get a before bed test that is at least 2 hours after the shot, that's a good start. Then if you see a big drop then you might need a later test.
 
Thank you for all the links and advice!
If I'm going to start TR would I increase to 1.5 tomorrow morning then?
 
Glad Wendy was able to help you with the dose! Now that you've chosen TR, please put it at the top of your spreadsheet and in your signature so that when you need help in the future, members will not have to ask which method you're following and can provide you with assistance right away. Good luck with the increase! :)
 
Hi, welcome on the forum and great job at testing Meeps and reading up. It is very helpful that Meeps is not a picky eater and will gladly accept new foods.
Our Chico struggles with a sensitive tummy for a few months. One thing to consider is a more gradual transitioning between foods, here is a link to an article about it. Changing food can give diarrhea on its own, we want to avoid doing anything that might trigger diarrhea with an upset tummy. Trying S. boulardi is definitely a good way to start as well, i saw @JaxBenji already gave you some info about it. What helped Chico a lot was switching to home made/raw food, we started with chicken and now we switched to turkey which really helped getting rid of diarrhea. I am sure you can find a lot of commercial raw food brands.

Another rule in this group that helps it make the threads easier to follow is we only post 1 thread a day and there is a convention in naming the thread like:
31/3 Meeps AMPS 323;

good luck in managing Meeps diabetes, it might seem overwhelming in the beginning but it gets easier fast. You are doing great :)
 
Last edited:
Hi, welcome on the forum and great job at testing Meeps and reading up. It is very helpful that Meeps is not a picky eater and will gladly accept new foods.
Our Chico struggles with a sensitive tummy for a few months. One thing to consider is a more gradual transitioning between foods, here is a link to an article about it. Changing food can give diarrhea on its own, we want to avoid doing anything that might trigger diarrhea with an upset tummy. Trying S. boulardi is definitely a good way to start as well, i saw @JaxBenji already gave you some info about it. What helped Chico a lot was switching to home made/raw food, we started with chicken and now we switched to turkey which really helped getting rid of diarrhea. I am sure you can find a lot of commercial raw food brands.

Another rule in this group that helps it make the threads easier to follow is we only post 1 thread a day and there is a convention in naming the thread like:
31/3 Meeps AMPS 323;

good luck in managing Meeps diabetes, it might seem overwhelming in the beginning but it gets easier fast. You are doing great :)


Thank you! I ordered some S Boulardi to put him on since I'm currently using the probiotic pouches the vet recommended. Once it arrives I'll switch him over to that to try out. I've been mixing his old food with the new food for the last few days and it seems to be going well. I also ordered the Zobaline, he's not walking on his haunches but he does seem to be waddling around and walking slower that he used to. So i'm wondering if that supplement could be helpful too.

I really appreciate everyone in here. :bighug:
 
Back
Top