AMPS: 199; 98@+4.5; 98@+9.25; PMPS: 150

Sheila and Minky

Member Since 2024
I am really struggling because Minky's numbers are going lower and lower and I am having to give medium or higher carb food to boost her numbers when she goes low. I don't always post it in the notes in my spreadsheet when this happens. Tonight she is 150 and if I give her a shot I am very concerned she is going to go really low. Last week she was at 61 with no symptoms. The only way I knew was by testing her. I used to be able to leave food out all the time but now her sister has lots of food allergies and things have been horrible when she gets into Minky's food. I can't leave any wet food down for any of them currently. I might be able to give .25 but lately her body is very much reacting to shots I give her. Advice is helpful.
 
Last edited:
I am really struggling because Minky's numbers are going lower and lower and i am having to give medium or higher carb food to boost her numbers when she goes low. I don't always post it in the notes in my spreadsheet when this happens. Tonight she is 150 and if I give her a shot I am very concerned she is going to go low. I might be able to give .25 but lately her body is very much reacting to shots I give her. Advice is helpful.
Tagging
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Christie & Maverick
@Angela & Cleo
@Suzanne & Darcy

Can you look at her SS , it doesn't look like she is really following SLGS correctly


Hi ladies. can you tell me if this is the correct information for when using the Alpha Trak since that's what Sheila is using following SLGS

With SLGS you need to reduce the dose if the BG drops under 90 with whatever meter you are using.
I know the test strips are expensive for the Alpha Trak. I don't want to give the wrong information
Most of us use human meters
 
Last edited:
What’s your feeding schedule like these days? I remember you asking about an auto-feeder recently but don’t remember the resolution. Maybe there’s a way to slow some of those steep drops with LC.

Hopefully one of the member’s Diane tagged stops in and helps you find a dose you can give at both shot times. It just gets so confusing imo when the dose is changing.
 
I am waiting for Dr. Elseys food to come and then I will order another Sure Feed. I have one right now for her sister who gets regular high carb food.
 
Sorry for the delay in responding! There have been too many dose changes for one to know which dose is working. We don't dose based on preshots but on how low a dose is taking the cat. Preshots don't necessarily determine how a cycle will play out - a cat can start a cycle in the 300s and drop to the 50s and vice versa. Lantus is actually very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.

Do you think you would be comfortable with staying with say, 0.75U for a few days till she drops below 90 and earns a reduction?
 
I am very nervous because I work and am only home for 25 minutes 3.5 hours into her cycle. I was consistently giving her 1.25 units until she starting dropping drastically. I have noticed even at 1 unit or a half unit she has been dropping 200 points or even 100 points in a few hours (please see her spreadsheet). If she were to stay on that same trajectory for the next three hours until she got to her low point of six hours she would be drastically low. If she were to drop drastically and I were not home I would never forgive myself.
 
Back
Top