? AMPS +198, 103@+11 PMPS +126, 171@+11

Killua356

Member Since 2022
Hi, my kitty’s insulin time is 12:30-50am/pm I need dosing advice.

She had hypoglycemia yesterday morning, her nadir was 34 & she had her insulin at 184, 65@+6 on 0.8U.

I gave her 0.75U at 126 this afternoon 07/21. Her current BG (+11) is 171 after meal, Is it okay to continue with 0.75U tonight and forward or reduce them?
 
Last edited:
Here is your previous post from main health for continuity.https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-vomiting-uts.266076/
It is best to go up and down in 0.25 unit increments instead of smaller increments.
Because you have done so few tests during the cycles, it is hard to say what would be the best dose, however with DKA in the recent past I think I would give 0.75 units but you really need to make sure you are testing during the cycles to keep Miho safe.
Do you have some higher carb foods available in case they are needed?
Are you giving snacks during the cycles. This is important.
Do you have some higher carb food that you could give Miho for a couple of the snacks tonight to make sure he doesn’t drop too low?
Please make sure Miho is eating well during the cycle.

Don’t feed for the 2 hours preshot as we don’t want the pre shot BG to be food influenced..
 
Here is your previous post from main health for continuity.https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-vomiting-uts.266076/
It is best to go up and down in 0.25 unit increments instead of smaller increments.
Because you have done so few tests during the cycles, it is hard to say what would be the best dose, however with DKA in the recent past I think I would give 0.75 units but you really need to make sure you are testing during the cycles to keep Miho safe.
Do you have some higher carb foods available in case they are needed?
Are you giving snacks during the cycles. This is important.
Do you have some higher carb food that you could give Miho for a couple of the snacks tonight to make sure he doesn’t drop too low?
Please make sure Miho is eating well during the cycle.

Don’t feed for the 2 hours preshot as we don’t want the pre shot BG to be food influenced..

yes I have high carb food just in case. I gave her FF (salmon pate and grilled turkey) along with her usual meal, I try to feed her as much as I can and give her lots of compliments she now eats everytime she sees me or other family members lol

I refrained from testing more than twice a day as I hate to see her in pain :’( but I guess it’s necessary to get the right dose & hypoglycemia prevention. I’ll test more often in the future, thank you for the fast response <3
 
Welcome to LLB. Testing does not cause pain. Lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat and you don’t have tests at nadir, usually between +4-7 although it can be later or earlier. You are putting Miho in danger of a hypo and that has already happened once. As you know DKA is also very dangerous.

Never give insulin with a bg under 40. Looks like you got a 34 and a 40 this morning. How long after was the 65 and did you feed anything or withhold food?
 
She said she gave 0.75 U when the BG was 126 this afternoon ( I think 12.30 pm ) so it’s after midnight here now and I think she shot at 12.30 am.
 
edit: I made
If you want to correct your title with the correct BG To the right you will see the word Thread Tools then tap on Edit Title erase what's wrong and put the correct ones there then tap save
I also see you have been testing for ketones , in the remarks section

I think you should put them in the cells when you test them, members might not see them in the remarks column
 
@Killua356 I am just looking at the world SS and it looks as if you gave insulin when the pre shot was 2.2 last cycle? Is that correct.
Don’t give the dose yet until we sort this out please

….? I don’t understand how you got to this conclusion when I clearly wrote in the same cell I stalled until it was 184 (10.2) I never give insulin dose irresponsibly as I have experienced it myself how a little dose can affect small animals.


@Killua356
The +11 was 171 so I don’t think so. The SS seems to be the wrong thing way around.
I have asked @Bandit's Mom to have a look at the SS. It’s confusing

yes I know it’s confusing. Like I said in my original post, my insulin time is 12:50AMand PM so I had to write down afternoon dose on PMPS and midnight dose on AMPS. I got confused writing them myself. Looks like I wrote 07/22 midnight dose on 07/21 AMP cell. I have now moved it to 07/22 AMPS.
 
Last edited:
Testing does not cause pain.

Testing is drawing blood out of the cat’s ear I don’t understand how you can possibly think that does not hurt your cat.. May be it doesn’t hurt you when you prick your finger since it’s a tiny needle but cats get scared even at the sound of lancet clicking. What’s painless and tiny for you can be huge and painful for the animal.

Never give insulin with a bg under 40. Looks like you got a 34 and a 40 this morning.

I have never given the insulin at below 40. @Bron and Sheba (GA) read it wrong. 34 was on 20th of July not this morning

How long after was the 65 and did you feed anything or withhold food?

Of course not! My cat’s BG wouldn’t have gone back to normal if I withheld food. I gave her sugar water and high carb food. 65 was (+6) post afternoon insulin

Looks like maybe she shot a 127 tonight. Did you? Is that correct?

No I gave at 175..

How should I record SS in the future to make it less confusing?


Ask your vet about using a Libre until you feel more comfortable testing. How are you measuring your tiny dose changes?

I measure them w digital vernier calipers from this link. I have used freestyle libre for 2 months, she’s not currently on them as my vet said she does not need them anymore.
 
Last edited:
If you want to correct your title with the correct BG To the right you will see the word Thread Tools then tap on Edit Title erase what's wrong and put the correct ones there then tap save
I also see you have been testing for ketones , in the remarks section

I think you should put them in the cells when you test them, members might not see them in the remarks column

thank you, I edited them now. I’ve put Ketones in the remarks section from reading Spreadsheet forum but I’m aware it’s hard to notice. I’ll create a new row for them in the future
 
Hi.
How are things this morning. How is the BG level. Have you managed to get any tests in overnight.? please get at least one test in if you can do that we can see how low the dose is taking Miho as well that determines the dose.

I think to be safe you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units twice a day and see how that goes. Are you happy to do that?

If you look at the world SS for 7/21 pm cycle you have 1.9;2.2 and then dose given 0.8 U. That is what I was referring to when I was concerned you gave a dose when the BG was 2.2 and the corresponding cell in the US SS said error. It has changed now and the information that is now in it was on the AMPS column earlier but is now on the PMPS column. I would never think you are irresponsible. I would just like to get the SS sorted out and a safe dose for Miho. I know how stressful it can be.
Would you be happy if I got @Bandit's Mom to have a look at your SS to see if she can fix it to make it easier to look at. Some of the colours need changing and I think the time column should not be line green as we use that for low numbers.
Bron
 
Hi.
How are things this morning. How is the BG level. Have you managed to get any tests in overnight.? please get at least one test in if you can do that we can see how low the dose is taking Miho as well that determines the dose.

I think to be safe you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units twice a day and see how that goes. Are you happy to do that?

If you look at the world SS for 7/21 pm cycle you have 1.9;2.2 and then dose given 0.8 U. That is what I was referring to when I was concerned you gave a dose when the BG was 2.2 and the corresponding cell in the US SS said error. It has changed now and the information that is now in it was on the AMPS column earlier but is now on the PMPS column. I would never think you are irresponsible. I would just like to get the SS sorted out and a safe dose for Miho. I know how stressful it can be.
Would you be happy if I got @Bandit's Mom to have a look at your SS to see if she can fix it to make it easier to look at. Some of the colours need changing and I think the time column should not be line green as we use that for low numbers.
Bron

Hi, I still think you read it wrong…
fJCMGcX2
kSZNsQv
I have recorded 1.9;2.2;3.6;6.3;10.2 consecutively within the same cell and it has been that way since yesterday in both world/US cell (with mg/dL measurement.) I haven’t touched this part at all when I was adding info this morning, so I was just confused why you thought I gave her insulin at 2.2.. you did point out few things in my previous question post (like asking me to put down DKA in my signature when it was already there) wrong and that’s okay, I make mistakes too. My SS *IS* hard to read as I’m new to this. I just needed to clarify. Miho is doing well. I’m not sure about reducing the dose to 0.5 because her ketones have increased by 0.1 when I was giving her midnight dose this morning (12:50am) I’ll test soon and upload

Yes that’s okay let me know if there are better ways to record SS to make it less confusing. I’ll work on the colors soon :)
 
Last edited:
I’m not sure about reducing the dose to 0.5 because her ketones have increased by 0.1 when I was giving her midnight dose this morning (12:50am) I’ll test soon and upload
What were the ketones when you gave the dose at midnight? They are not a concern on the blood meter until are 2.4
Until you can get some mid cycle tests in I would reduce the dose to 0.5 to keep Miho safe.

I can’t read the images you posted up above but here is a screen shot of your SS showing just the 1.9 and the 2.2 in the PMPS column
and two of the AMPS pre shots have disappeared now
BTW it is fine to document the ketones in the remarks column as you have been doing.

upload_2022-7-22_11-59-8.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-22_11-59-8.png
    upload_2022-7-22_11-59-8.png
    156.2 KB · Views: 203
What were the ketones when you gave the dose at midnight? They are not a concern on the blood meter until are 2.4
Until you can get some mid cycle tests in I would reduce the dose to 0.5 to keep Miho safe.

I can’t read the images you posted up above but here is a screen shot of your SS showing just the 1.9 and the 2.2 in the PMPS column
and two of the AMPS pre shots have disappeared now
BTW it is fine to document the ketones in the remarks column as you have been doing.

View attachment 64934

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-22-bg-95-ketones-0-3-should-i-wait.266134/

I have posted a new thread : )
 
What were the ketones when you gave the dose at midnight? They are not a concern on the blood meter until are 2.4
Until you can get some mid cycle tests in I would reduce the dose to 0.5 to keep Miho safe.

I can’t read the images you posted up above but here is a screen shot of your SS showing just the 1.9 and the 2.2 in the PMPS column
and two of the AMPS pre shots have disappeared now
BTW it is fine to document the ketones in the remarks column as you have been doing.

View attachment 64934

thank you for the attachment. Now I see what happened.. no wonder you thought I gave insulin at 2.2. The numbers I have written in the same cell was cut off. I think when you click them you can see. I’m so bad at using Excel Idk how to prevent this from happening.

yes I have deleted two shots to avoid confusion. I have moved 2 midnight shots on the AMPS and afternoon shots to PMPS. So if you want to look at 2 shots given on the same day (e.g 07/21) you have to look at PMPS on 07/21 and AMPS (07/22). This is the best I could come up with atm..

the thing is last time I reduced the dose to 0.5 for the exact same reason she went into DKA. Which is why I’m so cautious :( she throws ketones at BG above 8 I’m scared to reduce the dose anymore than now..
 
Back
Top