AMPS 158.... I didn't shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

cellosmom

Member
I feel like Macbeth. To shoot.... or not to shoot.... that is the question.

We are on day 6 with no insulin.

He was at 158 this morning, but I have a long day ahead, I'll be out of the house for 10 hours, so I didn't want to risk shooting, especially since yesterday he dropped from AMPS of 137, to PMPS of 86 (no insulin) so I thought it better to play this out conservative and see how he is in the evening...... yes?
 
Good decision. Cello has shown you some green PS's and some blue ones. But with no insulin for now 6 days, it is obvious that his pancreas is working, and almost "healed". Hold off as long as you can. If he continues to creep up, he might need another token shot of .25 or even less. But I'm betting his PMPS is going to be lower than the AMPS tonight.

Carl
 
ya, I'm hoping it will be lower again, the smallest shot I can give him on the 100U syringes is a skinny 0.25 (half the time I don't even think there is an y insulin in tehre) but hopefully he won't nee dit
 
Your spreadsheet changed as I looked at it. (Always see that as magic :-D )

He did so well yesterday bringing himself down by pmps.

So about the dry food. Can we help you brainstorm? It looks like it will always be an issue for him (once a diabetic, always a diabetic) Can you get your other kitty on wet? Or always feed them separately and then pick up the dry?
 
that's what I'm trying to do (feed her and then take it away) but twice I left for like 5 minutes while she was eating and I guess he muscled in :cool:

Going to try to get her completely on wet, especially now that cello is doing well I have more time on finding new foods and figuring out what they both like. She will eat the fish fancy feast but I think she is a bit allergic cause she loses the hair on her ears a bit, but she isn't a fan of the non-fish ones, will eat a bit when I put freeze dried chicken in, but just a bit....
 
You might try mixing the fish with another flavor. Put the fish on the bottom with a little on top so she has to dig down.

Have we told you about FortiFlora? It works for some cats, but not others. It has the animal digest that is in dry food but is completely no carb. You sprinkle it on top of the food and sometimes it makes all the difference. Sometimes you can get it from your vet, or the vets at PetSmart or on line. (It is a probiotic so shouldn't involve a prescription unless the vets are feeling difficult.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top