AMPS 134, Should I still shoot?

OrangeFrank

Member Since 2017
Hi All,

This is Franks second go-around with diabetes. This board was very helpful back in 2017.

This morning his BG was at 134 (last night PMPS was 473!) and I'm not sure if I should give him his usual 1u of Lantus?

He ate his low carb wet food last night for the first time in a while so maybe that has something to do with it. There's a tab on the spreadsheet with his food intake but it's mostly been dry because he stopped eating due to the triaditis and that was all he would eat.
 
Are you feeding low carb dry? If you are feeding ProPlan DM dry, that not low carb. Is he back on insulin from 4/2? Was he getting insulin only once a day between 4/2 and 4/6?
Could you please put NS (No Shot) in the U column of yesterday's AM cycle so we know that he didn't get insulin? Thanks!
 
No, he's eating Purina Cat Chow, Taste of the Wild Canyon River and (occasionally Fancy Feast pate and Tiki Cat Mousse). He was eating Fancy Feast pate for years and stopped eating so in an effort to get him to eat I gave him the buffet of dry food. It worked, no regrets after three days of not eating. Trying to ween him off dry now.

Yes, back on insulin as of 4/2. Initially once per day and now twice per day.
 
He wasn't on insulin long in 2017, hopefully he's be here just a short time this time.

If you need to give him dry food to eat, there are lower carb options. Dr. Elsey's dry is one, So is Young Again. I think this last one will send you samples. Some cats get GI upset from it, so good to have Frank try it before buying a big bag.
 
Back
Top