AMPS 134, 117 no shot given

Status
Not open for further replies.

nam1026

Member Since 2013
MY AMPS was 134 this am so I waited and retested .5 hr later and it was 117. This is my first number under 150, so i did not shoot this am. I'm at work now. I'm wondering if 2 units is too much. Depending on my number later, should I back down to 1.5 units.

I didn't get a chance to enter my numbers from yesterday in my spreadsheet but they were high-300's for both pre-shots.

Thank you.
 
Hi Deb,

I've looked at Suki's spreadsheet and honestly there is a lot of missing preshot tests as well as mid-cycle tests when she was on 1u that I can't even see what supported the decision to raise the dose in the first place.

With all the holes in the data, I can't tell if she is going very low and bouncing back up to high numbers or if its just not enough insulin.

More than likely you would have been fine to shoot this morning, but I can understand the reluctance to shoot and having to leave especially a still falling number.

So here is what I would do if she was mine. I would roll back to 1.50. Be religious about those preshot tests and grab as many spot checks as you can, even try to get staggered times. Since I don't know what your schedule looks like I don't know when those would be. But kind of what I've done is get my preshot then since most mornings I don't leave the house until 2hours after the preshot so I'd grab an out the door test, then first thing again when I get home, p.m. preshot , then a couple evening test.

Or another approach is get the preshots, a few spot checks the on a day off run a full curve where you test every 2 hours. Both preshots and finding her nadir (lowest point in the cycle) are critical in determining dose with Lantus, since Lantus is based off the nadir not the preshots. But the preshots tell us some important things as well. First and foremost that it is safe to give a shot, but also how fast they are dropping if we see where the cat starts in the 300s but are in double digits by nadir then they are bouncing back to the high numbers. But if the cat stays flat its probably just not enough insulin.

The more points of data you can fill in the easier it will be to figure out what's going on with Suki.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Yes my vet said not to stress at first on home testing-just start getting the shots in her. She is a very difficult cat when taken to the vet or even attempting to cut her nails at home, so we had no idea how she was going to take all this. Took me a few days to get a handle on the home testing.

I do the morning PS and insulin shot and then i'm out the door within .5 hr so its impossible for me to test after the morning shot-unless its a weekend-I tried to get more readings over the holiday. Then I'm not home again until after 5pm and she gets her 2nd shot at 6pm.

Ok I will back off to 1.5 again and get more data. I will be gone for 6 days at xmas so I'm concerned she will be unregulated for that. I have a friend staying at house who can do shots but has never tested BG before so I don't know if she will be able to handle it or not. I'm having her come over next Sat to teach her but I don't want her to stress out over it either.

Thanks. I'll update my spreadsheet tonight.
 
Regulation sometimes takes a very long time. So there is a real good chance she isn't going to be regulated by Christmas.

One tip for having a cat sitter is to take an old syringe and fill it to the dose you are giving with colored water and leave that as a sample and have them compare what they've drawn up to it. Also if your friend is going to shoot blind, back down the dose slightly. That way Suki will still be getting insulin but you lessen the chance of her dropping to low while you're away.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Also if your friend is going to shoot blind, back down the dose slightly. That way Suki will still be getting insulin but you lessen the chance of her dropping to low while you're away.

I second this. When I'm gone, even though my friend always tests Michelangelo before giving him a shot, I also slightly reduce Michelangelo's dose. He always seems to drop lower when I'm not home and often has unshootable pre-shots. I think it's because he eats less and sleeps/hides more if I'm not around to hound him. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top