amps 130- 6am

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow, just learning myself but I am so happy for you. Good Job. I can only hope the same or close for my boy. By the way my dogs name is Henry :lol:
 
Whatever you are doing, just keep doing the same thing! Looks like Henry has decided he can manage his own BG numbers. :-D

Carl
 
Thanks, everyone- I feel SO good about this- so relieved (but taking it one day at a time- I know we're not out of the woods yet)

I actually found myself wondering, OK Henry- are any of these numbers too low? But I guess that would be the 60 and below range -- plus, you guys are my barometer! And when you send cats cheerleading and smiley faces, I know all is well ;-)

Do I dare think he will be considered non-diabetic within the coming weeks? Time will tell- Im only testing amps and pmps right now, to give him a break-

I know someone has shared the OTJ/remission rule with me, but I forgot---I know its 14 days with no shot, and he'd be considered OTJ - looking at his sheet, he hasnt 'needed' insulin since Feb 19 (disregarding pmps shot in error on Feb 23)

What do you guys think?
 
It's "14 days without insulin, with readings between 40 to 120, with most of the numbers in double-digits".
If he isn't getting insulin, his numbers won't go "too low" on their own.
What is Simon's feeding schedule?

Carl

P.S. - things are looking REALLY GOOD for Henry!
 
Carl & Bob said:
What is Simon's feeding schedule?


Carl, do you mean Henrys feeding schedule ? (I bet you are keeping an eye on lots of kitties- luckily for them)

If so, I have a civvie as well, Ben, (who is now completely off the dry)- and I sort of 'free feed' them- Henry has always eaten food like it was his job (still acts hungry - even with free feeding) so I leave out like 3 cans of FF in the AM , or perhaps 1 can of Friskies 5.5oz- its almost always gone when I come home around 4pm- I then usually give one or 2 more little FF cans, or the other half of the Friskies
 
Lol, sorry, I just came over from Simon's thread ohmygod_smile

Yes, Henry's feeding schedule.

Free feeding is good. Spreading the food out during the day or night has a couple of big benefits.
It spreads the BG boost from eating (as opposed to just two meals a day).
And, if his pancreas is trying to work on its own, it can do so more often, and more easily.

Carl
 
Great- thanks Carl- feels good to get reassurance
that I'm on the right path here. So always having food out is a good plan? Henry
tends to be a bit of a glutton, and I just dont want him to get 'round' again..
Hes not a long and lean guy like Benben. Henry is built like
a little pear. Short legs and on the husky side..and i think hes the type who is prone to gain but perhaps the FF will help curb that...
 
Hi kitty savers--just checking in- as you can see, our boy is doing really well! Im only testing 2x a day and may go to once a day, then once a week. We have a house call appt tomorrow at 2:30. Hes been through enough without a trip to the vet. Its worth the extra 62 bucks. Ive heard such good things about Dr Baugh and I look forward to meeting her. Will update you tomorrow night

hope you all are well!
 
AMAZING NEW VET!

Met with the new vet today, Dr Betty Baugh. She too agreed that 3 units (as prescribed by my EX vet) was very high as a starting dose. She usually starts out with 1 unit. She thinks home testing is KEY, scorns dry food, and is very progressive and forward thinking. I love this woman. She thinks that I'm doing all the right things- (I told her all of my actions in the last couple of weeks were directed by my faithful friends on the board, and Dr Lisa Pierson)
The new doc asked that I not shoot under 225, and to call her right away if he's above that.

all is well in Henry-Penry land!

thanks...
 
5pm- Just tested 61- oooh thats low- my vet had asked me to call if he was below 70.
Since its after hours, i got the emergency people. They said i can bring him in.
Or retest in a half hour. He seems fine, acting normal and happy- just ate a nice meal. Will retest in a few minutes.
 
I can't open your ss on my phone, but don't panic. If you haven't given insulin, he can't hypo. If there's insulin involved, you're on track w/ feeding & testing. With most metrs, I wouldn't worry unless it's under 50 (exception is alpha track which runs higher). Normal for a non diabetic is 40-120.
 
Hi again-

tested 106 at 8pm-- That is not a bad number, I know, but I'm a bit disheartened, as he's been ALL green for the most part of the last 5 days :(

I hope we're not trending up-

It occured to me that because I was a bit scared of the 61, I fed him high carb FF with gravy afterwards, and that could be the main reason for 106- ?
 
Taisia&Henry Richmond VA said:
5pm- Just tested 61- oooh thats low- my vet had asked me to call if he was below 70.
Since its after hours, i got the emergency people. They said i can bring him in.
Or retest in a half hour. He seems fine, acting normal and happy- just ate a nice meal. Will retest in a few minutes.
Like Lisa said, if he's not getting insulin, numbers below 70 are not a problem. Even a 40 is fine on a human meter. You're just going to have to get used to "normal" :lol:
Carl
 
We are getting the confetti and party hats ready for the OTJ party (anti jinx). I can't get your ss to go below 3/5 (probably my iPad). How are things going?
 
Hi Sue!!!

Someone else said my SS was acting up- wonder why ?

We are officially OTJ!!! :RAHCAT flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat


Hes perfect- more playful- slimmer, shiny fur- all becasue of a diet change!!!!!!!

Im so blessed for the help you all gave us----- Will test every week- then if all is well, once a month (good plan?)

I've been wondering about my civvie, Ben- who has always had a long, lean, slim build- but with the new low carb food, he's really lost weight- I can feel his little chest bone, and his shoulder blades- But he's tearing around, playing, clear eyed and seems perfectly normal- Should I post the question in the feline health forum?
 
Hurray, Hurray. party_cat party_cat party_cat Why don't you start a new thread with the OTJ sign so we can party? Also, please add your story to the remission thread at the top of the forum page so others can benefit from your experience.

Yes, I'd test every couple of days, then once a week, then once every two weeks, then once a month.

About your civie - a check up at the vet might be in order? There are so many things that can cause weight loss. But yes, post on Health and see what direct experiences others have. Are you sure feeding him enough?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top