Amps +13.5~189 +3~166

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Please take a time looking at Nonitta's SS

She's so low today. so I'm skipping her Amps shot.

as shes very hungry to i just gave her 1Ts o fancy feast beef with gravy .

its almost 30 min pass her am shot
 
Re: Dose Help

Hi, I cannot give dosing advice, you might change your subject line to say - Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)
Anyway.. your spreadsheet looks GREAT!! I suspect your kitty might not be on the juice too long :mrgreen: Good Luck!
 
Re: Dose Help

Thank you Nicole, I don't know whats happening .. just moved her to Lantus recently
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Good stuff is happening here.. believe me! Great job with the subject line.. I am giving you another bump & those experts will be along soon :mrgreen:
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Hopefully ,, thanks again Nicole .. seems all the kitties are sleeping now confused_cat
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Rather than skipping, can you stall a little while? I would wait, don't feed, and test again in 30 minutes to see if the number is rising. Are you available to monitor today, or do you have to leave the house soon (is it morning there?).

This post might help with your decision-making process.
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

The thing is that i already gave her a small meal .. she was so hungry mowing didn't know what else to do.

but if you take a look at her SS on the 2/12/10 . that day she was 8.2 when i decided to give her the regular 1u she went too low ..hypo actually
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

that's ok, if you can test again 30 minutes after the meal we can see what is going on and decide whether to shoot. Usually we don't feed when we are stalling, because the food spike from the meal makes it difficult to see whether the number was rising naturally (due to the end of the cycle) or if it is rising artificially due to the food. We can work through it, though.

Was she having hypo symptoms in the 70's, or are you referring to the fact that her numbers were low? What kind of meter are you using?
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

she seemed ok to me. but as i told you the machine started to send warning sound.

the machine is Accu-Check Go
12022-accu-check-roche.jpg
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

did you give insulin already? are you home to monitor?

bump**
hope the experts can chime in....
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

I will be home, but this is the maximum i can go .. because this will miss-up my scheduled big time ;(
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Gosh.. well.. I am not an expert.. but if it were my kitty I would shoot... kitty is 151. I would shoot, feed & get a +1 & +2, but please do what makes you feel comfortable.
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Apparently no one here, so i was thinking the same but i was thinking of .5 u

let me check again and see if shes up or down .. confused_cat
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

if you're home to monitor, then I would shoot. You have shot lower than this before and it worked out fine.

The meter was probably starting to warn of hypo because in people that would be starting to get into a range where they need to pay attention. For cats it is a very normal number - we aim for numbers to be between 50-80 as much of the time as possible. There is an animal meter that is calibrated differently and if you were using that meter then 70's would be getting pretty low, but on human meters most of us try to get our cats into the 70's all the time.
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

I re tested again +1.5 shes 10.5 so i shot 1u . and will keep on monitoring
thats true Libby i didn't think about it this way . thanx for clearing up .
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

Great job, I'm happy you went ahead & did what's best by shooting..it can make you nervous in the beginning but a necessary step to get the best results. You might change your subject line now since you have shot :-D
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

If I may ask a favor....

It will help a lot if you can convert your mmol/L numbers into the format we use in the US (mg/dL) by multiplying your number by 18. Most of us don't sit by the computer with a calculator handy and it makes it hard to get a clear picture of where your kitty's numbers are at or get you help quickly if we're having to do the multiplication. There is a version of the SS that does these conversions automatically. I believe it is now posted in the Tech Center.
 
Re: Dose Help Needed ASAP (past shot time)

hehhe yea i know .. nailbite_smile

i will wait for 15 min to check her +1 and change the topic accordingly ;D
 
Re: Amps +13.5~189

Dear Sienne,

please take a clear look at my SS. it has both US and world (an automated version).. u just need to click on the option at the bottom of the SS.

no calculator is needed though
 
Re: Amps +13.5~189

Your SS wasn't up to date and the numbers were in your condo!

(Oh, and I didn't realize that the conversion was now on the bottom. It used to be tabbed at the top. Thanks!!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top