Amoxicillin driving numbers up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Mopem was diagnosed with a UTI on 6/11/20 and we FINALLY got his antibiotics. The vet prescribed 150mg of amoxicillin every 12 hours. Never said when to give/not give meds w/Prozinc. This morning his AMPS was 409@ 7:20am. As a reward for being good for his test I gave him his first antibiotic tablet wrapped in a piece of pill pocket. I gave him his Fancy Feast pate and 1 piece of Fancy Feast chicken treat (real chicken, comes shrink wrapped) for breakfast and his 1unit of Prozinc at 8:10am. His numbers are climbing throughout the day; 414 @ +6 hrs and 429 @ +7 hrs. Does anyone know if antibiotics will make his numbers go up? Should I space out his meds more? I was planning on giving him his pm antibiotics at 7:30pm as a treat for his test (he thinks the pill pocket wrapped pill is a treat) and then his dinner and then Prozinc around 8:10pm. Or are the pillpockets really that high in carbs? Advice on managing this for the next 10 days would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 
The infection itself could be raising his BGL. I did read that antibiotics may have an effect as well. But if he needs the med, he needs the med.

I'm not sure about the pill pocket being enough to have an effect. An easy and low carb substitute is to wrap the pill in a little soft cheese, like an American cheese slice. I do that with my sugar cat, and he gobbles his pill right up.

I'm sure more experienced people than me will be in to advise you as well, but I would take care of the infection first, then deal with the fallout. A few days of higher blood sugar might be a setback, but also isn't the end of the world. I don't know if you should change his insulin dose during this, but hopefully someone else can help us with that.
 
Thanks for your input. He does not like cheese...weirdo. I am trying to avoid pilling him, we have enough stress right now. He likes pill pockets. I didn't give him the whole thing though. I was wondering if spacing them out more would make a difference. Thanks again
 
I agree with Juls. An UTI will likely raise the BG numbers. I’m going through something similar with Minnie as she’s on 2 antibiotics for pneumonia, diuretics, and steroid for her IBD Her numbers have been higher for weeks now so I had to increase the dose, but you may not have to give antibiotics for that long. I don’t think spacing them out makes a difference and the priority is getting rid of the UTI. I also don’t think 1/2 a pill pocket would be the cause. Minnie used to get her anti nausea meds and gabapentin wrapped in them so about 2 pill pockets a day and it never affected her numbers. She’s decided since she no longer likes them. I may try the cheese idea because I keep having to pill her now which is not fun for either of us :(
 
Poor Minnie- so many issues. Ironically he was low (low for him anyway- in the 100's) all night. Can't figure out why. I know he didn't have any dry food yesterday and he ate pretty well at dinner. I simply cannot find a pattern or understand what makes his numbers bounce all over. We are on Amoxicillin for 10 days as per the vet. I guess it's just going to be a crazy few weeks. Thanks for your input and advice. Hope Minnie likes cheese and feels better soon.
 
Thats it in a nutshell... We've all been there. Aren't you glad you've found people to commiserate with? :p You'll get there. Patience isnt just a virtue, its essential. ;):coffee:
And now we have 475 two hours after 182 and insulin. I'm going to lose my mind. Does anyone think different antibiotics would help us get off this rollercoaster? Or will all antibiotics affect him this way? He's currently on 150mg of amoxicillin 2x a day for his UTI. And yes, VERY grateful to find people who understand, don't yell, and use their experience to try to help strangers. VERY GRATEFUL indeed.
 
Check the ingredients in the Pill Pockets. I believe they contain corn syrup which is high in carbs. That's at least one of the culprits.

I also think you're seeing a bounce. That 108 last night may have resulted in those red numbers today.

Also, be attentive. Once the antibiotics kick in, numbers can drop quickly.
 
And now we have 475 two hours after 182 and insulin. I'm going to lose my mind. Does anyone think different antibiotics would help us get off this rollercoaster? Or will all antibiotics affect him this way? He's currently on 150mg of amoxicillin 2x a day for his UTI. And yes, VERY grateful to find people who understand, don't yell, and use their experience to try to help strangers. VERY GRATEFUL indeed.
I totally feel your frustration. Take a look at Minnie’s ss and you’ll see what I mean. For us, it didn’t make a difference when the antibiotics kicked in or not. Her pneumonia is gone and the numbers are still all over the map, but still dealing with steroid for IBD and her cardiomyopathy. And her numbers were way better when she was eating pill pockets daily. Try to cut that off and see if it helps but I honestly doubt it. Just be patient. The culprit here is the UTI and once that’s cleared out, you’ll have your sanity back :oops:
 
My cat Buddy has a UTI at this time and his BG have been out of sight. The last time Buddy had a UTI he was put on Amoxicillin and after a few doses his BG started going down. Buddy, was at the vet yesterday for a UTI and I asked for Amoxicillin, it is a gentle drug (that is what the vet said) a lot of the meds will make the kitty's have loose stools and an upset stomach. It might take a few doses to bring his BG down.
 
My cat Buddy has a UTI at this time and his BG have been out of sight. The last time Buddy had a UTI he was put on Amoxicillin and after a few doses his BG started going down. Buddy, was at the vet yesterday for a UTI and I asked for Amoxicillin, it is a gentle drug (that is what the vet said) a lot of the meds will make the kitty's have loose stools and an upset stomach. It might take a few doses to bring his BG down.
It does not matter when you give the Prozinc in combination with the Amoxicillin, just that each 1 should be given 12 hrs from the last dose.
 
@Teresa & Buddy thanks. Mopem's numbers are all over the place. Today is the start of the fifth day out of ten for amoxi. I'm trying to space the amoxi and prozinc an hour apart. I'm hoping we get a pattern of some sort and some lower BG #'s soon. Good luck with Buddy, and thanks for your input!
 
@Teresa & Buddy thanks. Mopem's numbers are all over the place. Today is the start of the fifth day out of ten for amoxi. I'm trying to space the amoxi and prozinc an hour apart. I'm hoping we get a pattern of some sort and some lower BG #'s soon. Good luck with Buddy, and thanks for your input!
Buddy, has had several UTI's and most of the meds that are used are very harsh on the stomach such as Baytril, the last time he used Baytril it really upset his stomach. The next time they used Amoxi and I was very happy with the results, once he had enough in his system it brought his numbers down. I have never tried to space his insulin with the Amoxi, but if that works for Mopen, then that is the thing to do. Hopefully, this will be over soon and both are kitty's are over their UTI's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top