Amethyst Lantus Numbers -Going on Day Three Any comments?

Status
Not open for further replies.
here's yesterday's condo


I would be inclined to fast track a little and if numbers stay the same.... imho, I would increase to 1.5 u tomorrow morning.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I am fast tracking the 3 days to 3 cycles because you were already giving a different insulin. But I probably wouldn't do that a second time unless numbers stay above 400.
 
If it were me, I would give this dose another day. The typical wait time with the initial dose of Lantus is 5 - 7 days. You did start your kitty on a much lower dose than was necessary so the increase from 0.5u to 1.0u made sense. I would give the 1.0 dose 3 days/6 cycles before considering doing anything. Otherwise, you will have increased Amethyst's dose twice in 3 days. Every time you change the dose, it has an effect on the depot. Frequent dose changes can yield wonky numbers. If this were my cat, I'd wait a full 3 cycles and evaluate the dose.

 
If it were me, I would give this dose another day. The typical wait time with the initial dose of Lantus is 5 - 7 days. You did start your kitty on a much lower dose than was necessary so the increase from 0.5u to 1.0u made sense. I would give the 1.0 dose 3 days/6 cycles before considering doing anything. Otherwise, you will have increased Amethyst's dose twice in 3 days. Every time you change the dose, it has an effect on the depot. Frequent dose changes can yield wonky numbers. If this were my cat, I'd wait a full 3 cycles and evaluate the dose.
Okay so her dose tonight is 1.0U Then change to 1.5U tomorrow AM????
 
Hi I am sorry I have severe anxiety and want her to get better. 7 months om Prozinc was tooo long I am hoping the Lantus regulates her I will give her 1.0U tomorrow , that is the third day being on 1.0U. I do not want anything to happen to her. Amethyst and JoJo are my world.
 
Sienne is more experienced than I am so if she says to wait.... you should probably wait the true 6 cycles ( 3 days)

I was only fast tracking because you started at a much lower dose than the prozinc was at.
The protocol is considered aggressive enough already.

so you would do as you have in your spreadsheet at this moment..... increase on 7/25....

the numbers will tell you whether to increase by 0.25 u or 0.50 u....
 
Take some time to read over the SLGS and TR protocols. With SLGS, the dose increases are usually only 0.25u. However, SLGS is more easily modifiable once you understand how your cat responds to Lantus and how well you understand the dosing method. With TR, there are more straightforward guidelines. If your cat's nadirs are above 300, you can increase by 0.5u. If they are below 300, then you increase by 0.25u.

And breathe. You have a great deal of support here and there are many people who are very experienced with managing feline diabetes and with these dosing methods. If you're nervous and have a question, just post. There's usually someone around who can lend a hand.

 
Hi I know there is alot of support here Thank God!!! How do I increase to .25 I just looked on line and can not find any 1/4 syringes????
 
yes. you don't have to be perfect on where that halfway is.... you just want to repeat it each time. you can make yourself a paper template or even use calipers.
consistency is what is important.
i will find you the pictures of inbetween doses....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top