Amethyst 01/13/2018 PMPS 49 NO SHOT THANK YOU EVERYONE!

Status
Not open for further replies.
She has been eating all day the more she eats the lower she goes
Amethyst's nadir is late in the cycle on Levemir. It's natural that she would go lower later in the day, in spite of eating. Many Levemir kitties nadir around the next shot time. Plus she could have some IAA action going on - antibodies can release stored insulin at the most inconvenient of times. When Amethyst's dose is a bit too high, it seems she likes to nadir quite late in the cycle.

As Julie suggested, I would experiment with different high carb foods. Some cats (acro or not) need higher high carb, maybe 25% carbs food. Some need less - most of the time I could get away with 16% carbs with Neko. But if she went below 40, out came the syrup (karo).

It will really help you to put comments in the Remarks column as to what time you give extra food, what carbs and amount. For example, when you saw that drop to 65 @+8, I might have given her some higher carb food to see if I could stop the drop, knowing she still had 4 hours until the next shot time. Once you keep track of the data on your spreadsheet, you'll get a better idea of what food works and when. You want to avoid having to miss shots, cause it makes it harder to figure out what dose she should be on.

As for new dose size, I would try 6.0 units again. Even though it didn't do anything this time, it might work this time.
 
I prefer staying away from high carb dry food. But whatever works for the cat. Experiment and see.
 
another possibility is something like whipped cream or ice cream, that might be something she would eat on her own.

Just remember that if she won't eat and it's feeling critical, you can rub it on her gums or even her anus. Her body absorbs it that way too. Any mucosa type membrane.....

I'm so glad to see that she's improving for the big picture.....
 
Hi Pamela,
I rarely post anymore, but know Wendy is out today. I saw your situation and wanted to see if I could help for next time you have a similar situation.

With a higher dose cat, it often helps to think of dose changes in the 10% range, both increasing and decreasing, with the caveat that they can have a changing circumstances so sometimes you have to be more flexible and take larger increments of dose reductions. Especially if a cat is going down the dosing scale!!

If punkin (acro) had low numbers and was earning a dose reduction, I typically gave him a 50% dose shot, followed by a return to a new 10% lower dose with the following shot. Nothing wrong with skipping a shot like you did tonight, either, especially if either you or Amethyst is worn out.

Wendy found Neko did well with a one time 66% dose, followed by a new lower dose.

You are at the data-gathering stage. Make comments in her ss on what you gave her to bring her #s up, both what it was and how much quantity. It will help you tremendously as you navigate ahead.

With higher dose kitties you will want to find something that she will eat that can successfully raise her bgs and stock up on it. Try some different gravy choices, add honey or Karo to it to increase the carb value.

As someone said, deli meat may not have much carbs and I don't think cheese would have any. I just looked at some cheddar and it had 0 carb's and 0 sugar. I think that's why you weren't seeing her numbers raise - she needed high carbs, over 16% to change the trajectory of her cycle. It wasn't so much that eating was driving her numbers down, but that the Lev cycle was reducing her bgs and what she was eating wasn't bringing her up.

It can really help to dole out the high carb and keep her hungry. When you're dealing with low numbers, you don't want to feed her anything that isn't helping. Many people alternate gravy with the meat- the gravy raises the bgs and the meat can help sustain it.

Next time following low numbers, you might want to try a 2/3 dose, or a 1/2 dose for the following shot to see what each of those do. Your notes will help you figure out what works best for Amethyst. Remember the onset of the following shot isn't going to be for several hours.

Hope some of that is helpful as you think about next time. I'll look later to see of you have any follow up questions.
 
THank you very helpful I wish I had read this before I gave her 6U this morning She is doing the same thing the morning that she did yesterday She just went from 340AMPS to +2 262!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top