BanditsMom
Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone!
If you could review Bandit's spreadsheet, I'd really appreciate it. We've had a bit of a rollercoaster so far, but have been really lucky to find you all here on FMDB and gain some stability.
So, when Bandit was first diagnosed, the vet prescribed a really high dose of prozinc, 3U. Bandit's BG got really low. Then I changed his dose to .5U. for about a week, he was pretty much all blue, but on the higher end. I wanted to increase his dose just a little to get him to green, but didn't want another hypo. I finally got the courage to up it to 1U when his numbers were above 200 in the AM. Unfortunately, the first time I gave him 1U, I think I got a fur shot. Since I wasn't able to monitor him over the evening, I gave him a PM shot of .5U and tried again the next day giving him 1U. I had plans that evening and was counting on my husband to test, feed, and medicate. This was his first time and he decided not to because he wanted a few more lessons. Bandit's numbers had been pretty good. So Bandit did not receive his PM insulin. In addition, he was fed the high carb food I had on hand just incase he went hypo. D'oh!!! Luckily, the numbers didn't seem to go that high as a result. For the last couple of days, I have been giving him insulin in the morning and not at night due to low numbers.
Bandit's AMPS was 109 today. So I haven't given him insulin yet. Should I? I fed him at 9AM and haven't taken his food up yet. What should his numbers look like after eating? When should they go back down? If they don't should I give him .5U? and skip the PM shot if the numbers are still good? What should I look for? Is he more of a 1 shot a day kind of kitty?
Thanks so much I can't tell you how grateful we are for your advice and support! My other kitties are now enjoying the wet food as well and we've started feeding them all together. Bandit was PLAYING the other day! His fur is so much nicer and he's back to his old self again!
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! There are tears in my eyes as I type.
If you could review Bandit's spreadsheet, I'd really appreciate it. We've had a bit of a rollercoaster so far, but have been really lucky to find you all here on FMDB and gain some stability.
So, when Bandit was first diagnosed, the vet prescribed a really high dose of prozinc, 3U. Bandit's BG got really low. Then I changed his dose to .5U. for about a week, he was pretty much all blue, but on the higher end. I wanted to increase his dose just a little to get him to green, but didn't want another hypo. I finally got the courage to up it to 1U when his numbers were above 200 in the AM. Unfortunately, the first time I gave him 1U, I think I got a fur shot. Since I wasn't able to monitor him over the evening, I gave him a PM shot of .5U and tried again the next day giving him 1U. I had plans that evening and was counting on my husband to test, feed, and medicate. This was his first time and he decided not to because he wanted a few more lessons. Bandit's numbers had been pretty good. So Bandit did not receive his PM insulin. In addition, he was fed the high carb food I had on hand just incase he went hypo. D'oh!!! Luckily, the numbers didn't seem to go that high as a result. For the last couple of days, I have been giving him insulin in the morning and not at night due to low numbers.
Bandit's AMPS was 109 today. So I haven't given him insulin yet. Should I? I fed him at 9AM and haven't taken his food up yet. What should his numbers look like after eating? When should they go back down? If they don't should I give him .5U? and skip the PM shot if the numbers are still good? What should I look for? Is he more of a 1 shot a day kind of kitty?
Thanks so much I can't tell you how grateful we are for your advice and support! My other kitties are now enjoying the wet food as well and we've started feeding them all together. Bandit was PLAYING the other day! His fur is so much nicer and he's back to his old self again!
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! There are tears in my eyes as I type.