Am I doing this right check Mr Grey's SS please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
I have noticed that when I went to 3u after a week at 2.5 Mr Grey's #s seemed to get a little higher and his eyes were getting glassy. I also have noticed that ever since he's started Lantus he purrs/ moans/ high pitch lightly wheezes ? in his sleep or right before falling asleep I hear unusual purring. I know this as he likes to lay near my head on my bed. I have also noticed that pre DX when I used to free feed him Iams dry, other than peeing and drinking water too much he seemed more "normal". I also have noticed that now that he's on Wellness wet chicken and or turkey, he wants to eat every 4 hours it seems. I don't know how much to feed him anymore ? In the comments of his SS I randomly note his feedings but generally I been giving him approximately 2oz of wet @ amps and If my other cat doesn't finish her 2oz he will eat her leftovers if I don't stop him, then a snack to hold him over of maybe .50-.75 oz wet after the +4 BG test before I leave for my work. I end up returning from work usually an hour before PMPS and I know he's hungry but I hold off feeding till after test & shot. I have read up on the Somogyi Rebound and I am suspect that this has happened early on from my vet's very early raising of his doses which I put a stop to as soon as I learned the Lantus Protocol. I hope the way he started out on Lantus didn't make him slightly resistant and now I'm experiencing the results. I hope a guru looks at his SS and can shed some light on the matter. Thanks !
 
hi Rick

I'm not a dosing expert, sorry, but just wanted to say that you're doing a great job on the testing - it really helps building up a picture of how things are going.

Is Mr Grey overweight? If not, he may just need more food. I'm feeding Fancy Feast and Honey has about 2 cans per day (6oz) - she's put on weight and I do have to start being careful. I feed her about every 4 hours - but it does vary. Mainly because my hyper-T cat is always hungry so if I'm giving him food, I might as well give her some.

Also, now that you've got good test data, why don't you post on the Lantus Tight Regulation Board? That's were the dosing experts hang out and you'll get a lot of info. and advice.

Denise
 
Until a kitty is better regulated (i.e., spending more time in numbers below 200), they are going to be hungry a lot of the time. This is the nature of diabetes. Insulin helps glucose get into the cells vs. floating around in the bloodstream. As a result of glucose not feeding the cells, your cat is hungry. Right now, it looks to me like Mr. Grey needs more insulin. Once his numbers begin to drop, his appetite will stabilize. You don't want to feed him as much as he wants otherwise you'll end up with a (how shall I put this tactfully?) "fluffy" cat.

Lisa Pierson, DVM uses a formula to calculate the amount of calories per day you should feed: 13.6 x (kitty's weight) + 70 = amount of calories/day. If your cat is at a good weight, this formula can be helpful. Please note that Dr. Lisa considers this to be a "generous" calculation and you may need to adjust if for your cat.

I do not see any indication of bouncing on Mr. Grey's SS. It just looks like his numbers are pretty flat. Like I said, I'd increase his dose. Given that the majority of his nadirs are above 300, I'd bring the dose back up to 3.0u.

You are welcome to post on the Lantus board. There is a great deal of experience with Lantus use there. It's an active board and help and support are available pretty much 24/7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top