AlphaTrak 2 meter and control solution

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlyMcF

Member Since 2014
How important is it to use control solution each time you get a new vial of strips and change the code? I forgot to get new control solution and switched to a new pack of strips yesterday. I used the 11 month old control solution and it read 70. That's not in range so I figure it didn't work. But does that mean that my meter is now not reading accurately? Did I break it by using old solution? Or is the control solution just a sanity check for us to make sure the meter is working? The other thing is I accidentally ended up putting control solution on both side dots which the manual says not to do. :/

For another comparison and sanity check, I had taken Sketch's BG reading with the last of the old test strips and got a 284. He ate, 20 min passed (during which time I was recalibrating the monitor for new strips and trying the control solution) and I tested him again with the new strips. I got 329 for this reading, a 45 point difference. Could 20 min and a small meal account for the jump? Or is it possible there could simply be that much variation? Or did I break something?

Thanks for any advice you can give.
 
Remember, all meters can vary by as much as 20%...even on the same drop of blood!

That 284 could be as high as 340....and that 329 could be as low as 263....so they're basically both within that 20% meter variance
 
Thanks for the info. I read today that vein blood and capillary blood can read different. Honestly I sometimes wonder about all this testing and maybe it's not as helpful as it should be partly because of the natural inaccuracies of the meters. We spend a lot of time stressing over numbers. Meanwhile my neighbor had a diabetic cat for 8 years who eventually went into remission and she never even owned a monitor.
 
I used the 11 month old control solution and it read 70.
Hi, Alyssa. Sounds like your control solution was no longer viable. Once opened, it only lasts for 3 months or so. The control solution is designed to make certain each vial of strips is working properly with the meter. (You can't break the meter by using expired control solution.)
Could 20 min and a small meal account for the jump?
Yes, actually it could! An example: Whenever Bat's nadir has dropped too low, I steer with her usual low-carb* FF; 1/4 can ( a mere 0.75 oz.) usually raises her BG# significantly in just 15-20 minutes.

*This works for my cat (she's super carb-sensitive anyway), but ECID; others may truly need to use medium to high-carb food to steer out of a too-low BG, so cannot endorse my own method for anyone else's cat.

Perhaps I've just been lucky, but have to say that by storing/using/& replacing the control solution as directed, I've never seen a variance of more than a few points when using two AT2 strips from the same vial in quick succession (meaning two tests within 60-90 seconds) whether I've used the same drop of blood for both tests or a new drop for the 2nd test. I always test the first strip out of a new vial with control solution.

So, your easiest solution: Get new control solution. (And don't worry, I don't think you've broker your meter.:))
 
Last edited:
What blows my mind is that they don't include a bottle of control solution with each new bottle of strips. It makes me feel like it can't be that important, because they make it so hard to get. At this moment, the quickest way I can get a bottle of control solution in my hot little hands is to order a whole new kit, which with Amazon Prime could be here by Monday. I'll be 25% of the way through with my bottle of test strips by that point.
 
Have you tried calling the company? I'd think they'd be willing to send you a free bottle of control solution

I know with the Relion meters, they don't even sell control solution anywhere...the only way you can get it is to call the company but they've always been willing to send it out without charge.
 
Have you tried calling the company? I'd think they'd be willing to send you a free bottle of control solution

I know with the Relion meters, they don't even sell control solution anywhere...the only way you can get it is to call the company but they've always been willing to send it out without charge.
OK I just called and they did not offer a free bottle of control solution. They suggested asking my vet or ordering from ADWDiabetes.com

They did tell me that control solution is not required to make the meter work correctly, but they advise using it if you replace the battery in the meter or if you are getting numbers that don't seem right. So it is more of a sanity check thing that a requirement to make the meter work.

[I would have called them sooner but I hate the phone and yesterday I couldn't get through. Their system says "For a possible human exposure, press 1. Pet owners, press 2." and I'm like...what? I pressed two, but wow.]
 
So it is more of a sanity check thing that a requirement to make the meter work.
Apparently, whoever that cust. service rep. is that you got at Abbott is not well-trained. The statement that "control solution is not required to make the meter work" is true.

However, we probably shouldn't assume that the person you spoke to on the phone meant that "it is more of a sanity check thing." The meter will still "work" with expired control solution and provide a result; but that test result may, in fact, be an erroneous one. (Hence the "70" you got when you used expired control solution.)

You really should test the first strip in each new vial of AT2 test strips with control solution that - once opened - has not expired, to ensure that the new vial's strips will test within the range shown for cats printed on the side of that vial (range is also printed on the package insert that comes with the strips).

And the chief reason for this quality-control test: Once a package of strips leaves the manufacturer, they have zero control over (whether in shipping or while stored in an end-user's home) the package of strips has been held or stored at temperatures below 40 degrees F. or above 86 degrees F., or have been left sitting in direct sunlight or excessive heat. (Just think about a package being left in a closed car midday in Phoenix, AZ for a few hours!) Strips can also be compromised if, say, they fall out of the vial and onto the floor, get exposed to moisture, or are handled with unwashed hands prior to testing.

I know that using the control solution is a pain in the butt (and it's not that inexpensive, either).:( Although it annoys me that I have to test every new vial of strips (changing the meter code as needed), following the protocols as outlined for the AT2 helps ensure accurate test results when using the system. I get mine from Countryside Pet Supply for $18.95 (package of 2 vials solution, shipping costs are minimal); here's a link if you want it: http://www.countrysidepet.com/alphatrak-2-control-solution/

They also sell the AT2 strips at a better price ($53.99) than is available via Amazon Prime ($56.90) or at ADWDiabetes.com ($56.70) - just checked this today.:)
 
You really should test the first strip in each new vial of AT2 test strips with control solution that - once opened - has not expired, to ensure that the new vial's strips will test within the range shown for cats printed on the side of that vial (range is also printed on the package insert that comes with the strips).

And the chief reason for this quality-control test: Once a package of strips leaves the manufacturer, they have zero control over (whether in shipping or while stored in an end-user's home) the package of strips has been held or stored at temperatures below 40 degrees F. or above 86 degrees F., or have been left sitting in direct sunlight or excessive heat. (Just think about a package being left in a closed car midday in Phoenix, AZ for a few hours!) Strips can also be compromised if, say, they fall out of the vial and onto the floor, get exposed to moisture, or are handled with unwashed hands prior to testing.

So I'm expecting a new bottle of control solution to arrive on Monday, but what if I test my bottle (or any future bottle) of test strips with fresh (or younger than three months) control solution, and find it is out of range?
 
what if I test my bottle (or any future bottle) of test strips with fresh (or younger than three months) control solution, and find it is out of range?
Good morning, Alyssa!

One of the things I've found: I need to be super-careful about making sure that the droplet that comes out of the control solution bottle only contacts one edge of the strip. A couple of time, I ended up with an error code on the meter because the d*%$!ed droplet of control solution can be so HUGE :banghead:that it spreads across the surface of the strip, contacting both edges of the strip; hence, the error code. So now I just barely touch one edge of the strip to the droplet - just long enough for the meter to start those little lines running around the edge of the screen that indicate it's calculating a #. Why they couldn't have made the hole in the bottle (that the droplet comes out of) smaller I do not know. (Arrrgh. :arghh:)

But other than that, I've never had a control test of a strip from any new vial fall outside the range for cats printed on the side of the vial. I guess if I were to have that happen, I'd test a second strip (:banghead:) from that vial - and as long as I knew my meter was clean/undamaged, that I'd stored/handled both solution & strips as directed in the Abbott literature and coded the meter to that vial before running the control solution tests - then I'd call Abbott and report that I'd tested two strips from a brand-new vial and appears that this vial of strips is bad ... and tell them, "I'll be happy to return it to you for a (free of charge) replacement." (Which is what the company should do if you've done everything correctly, yet a fresh vial of strips repeatedly tests out-of-range!)

Let us know how things go on Monday after you have your new bottle of control solution, ok? :bighug: - Robin
 
Good morning, Alyssa!

One of the things I've found: I need to be super-careful about making sure that the droplet that comes out of the control solution bottle only contacts one edge of the strip. A couple of time, I ended up with an error code on the meter because the d*%$!ed droplet of control solution can be so HUGE :banghead:that it spreads across the surface of the strip, contacting both edges of the strip; hence, the error code. So now I just barely touch one edge of the strip to the droplet - just long enough for the meter to start those little lines running around the edge of the screen that indicate it's calculating a #. Why they couldn't have made the hole in the bottle (that the droplet comes out of) smaller I do not know. (Arrrgh. :arghh:)

But other than that, I've never had a control test of a strip from any new vial fall outside the range for cats printed on the side of the vial. I guess if I were to have that happen, I'd test a second strip :)banghead:) from that vial - and as long as I knew my meter was clean/undamaged, that I'd stored/handled both solution & strips as directed in the Abbott literature and coded the meter to that vial before running the control solution tests - then I'd call Abbott and report that I'd tested two strips from a brand-new vial and appears that this vial of strips is bad ... and tell them, "I'll be happy to return it to you for a (free of charge) replacement." (Which is what the company should do if you've done everything correctly, yet a fresh vial of strips repeatedly tests out-of-range!)

Let us know how things go on Monday after you have your new bottle of control solution, ok? :bighug: - Robin
Yes I had that problem with my last test...huge spreading drop. I'll try to be more careful next time. I'm also going to have two meters in my hot little hands come Monday night because that was the fastest way for me to get control solution...order a new meter with its 30 lancets and 25 strips via Amazon Prime(the addition of those plus control solution makes it seem worth it). Then I will also have another meter to play with if I don't trust what the other one is giving me.
 
Yes I had that problem with my last test...huge spreading drop. I'll try to be more careful next time. I'm also going to have two meters in my hot little hands come Monday night because that was the fastest way for me to get control solution...order a new meter with its 30 lancets and 25 strips via Amazon Prime(the addition of those plus control solution makes it seem worth it). Then I will also have another meter to play with if I don't trust what the other one is giving me.


What I have found to make it easier when doing the test solution is to put a drop of the test solution on a teaspoon and then carefully "dip" the side of the test strip into it, much in the same way you apply the strip to a drop of blood. When I would put the solution on the strip I usually wasted 2-4 strips, but using the other method it has been working fine with just one strip. :)
 
The last few days I've been having a problem with the strips not reading the blood - I know I have more than enough blood on the strip but nothing happens-then I take then strip out of the meter, put it back in and I get the Er code 3. I've used over 12 strips to get 3 readings due to this Ugh!!
 
then I take then strip out of the meter, put it back in and I get the Er code 3.
Hi, Carol - Sorry to hear those pesky strips are misbehaving!:banghead:
(Just an FYI: You will always get an error code if you remove the strip from the meter and try to reinsert it.)

Is it possible your battery is low? And are you making sure you only use one edge of the strip? The other thing is to make certain you're only just "touching" the blood droplet with one edge; a couple of times I tried "scooping" it on there (like when the blood droplet spreads out, ugh) and that always popped me an error code. (I hope at least one of these tips may help?:))
 
The last few days I've been having a problem with the strips not reading the blood - I know I have more than enough blood on the strip but nothing happens-then I take then strip out of the meter, put it back in and I get the Er code 3. I've used over 12 strips to get 3 readings due to this Ugh!!

Are you breaking the bead of blood with the little sticky-outy bit on the side of the sample-half-dot? (Inventing my own words here but if you look at the strip I think you will see what I mean). That sticky-outy bit is supposed to break the surface of the blood and help with wicking it into the strip.
 
Are you breaking the bead of blood with the little sticky-outy bit on the side of the sample-half-dot? (Inventing my own words here but if you look at the strip I think you will see what I mean). That sticky-outy bit is supposed to break the surface of the blood and help with wicking it into the strip.
@AlyMcF I like your invented words! :D
 
how do you know if the battery is low? I thought I was putting too much neosporin on it, so I have stopped and the blood doesn't bead too well - maybe that's my problem I probably am not wicking properly - I have not broken the bead with the sticky out things - are you talking about the little things on above the black dots?
 
how do you know if the battery is low? I thought I was putting too much neosporin on it, so I have stopped and the blood doesn't bead too well - maybe that's my problem I probably am not wicking properly - I have not broken the bead with the sticky out things - are you talking about the little things on above the black dots?

I'm talkin' about the little things that poke out on either side of the test strip, on the blood half-circle spots where you collect the blood. You poke the side of the test strip into the bead of blood and essentially break into it with those little pokers.

Hopefully I've just uploaded a picture to show you.
 

Attachments

  • teststrip2.jpg
    teststrip2.jpg
    9.7 KB · Views: 159
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top