Almost done with the 24 hour curve and we both need a nap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Likameow

Active Member
image.jpeg
I thought it would be a good idea to do a curve using my new sliding scale. Thanks CindI! Given my crazy work schedule, when I want to do a curve it's easier to do 24 hours to see what he does both morning and night then to break it up into two. So I started last night. Just three more hours and we'll be done. Yay!
Ben has been a champ. Here he is waiting for the next test.
 
He is so beautiful and big. He is really a saint and so are you. When I checked your SS this am, I saw that you were up all night. God bless you. He does have a very nice, gentle smile throughout the cycle. I thought it was interesting that this am you had a 341 and on 10/30 a much lower number with higher dose and you almost got the same nadir in the blue. Anyway, great data you have here. Looks like as expected that he may need a little more insulin. So will get back on after the PMPS to see what you think. Great job Lisa and Ben!
 
He is so beautiful and big. He is really a saint and so are you. When I checked your SS this am, I saw that you were up all night. God bless you.

Ben says thank you. Before diabetes he was a chubby 20 pound cat. Now he's a more healthy 13 pounds.
Don't give me too much credit for staying up all night. I work night shift at the hospital so I'm used to that. In fact I had slept until 2 o'clock yesterday afternoon.
I look forward to your advice this evening.
 
I love the expression on his face!

Great job on the curve. It gives us wonderful info and should make a good basis for a sliding scale.
 
PMPS was 366. Thoughts about increasing scale up by 0.2? I'll go ahead and do 1.8U for tonight following current scale.
 
Hey Lisa - Sorry I just got back. I had to run to work for a bit.

You can look at this curve a couple of different ways. Right now you have a safe sliding scale but just based on the last couple of tests, it didn't get you low enough (although I am glad that he didn't give you a 400 number at PMPS). The question that I have is that will this current sliding scale settle him down a little and not give you such wide pre-shot numbers (just for a short time before you change dose)? Or will Ben be ok with an increase and still settle into those doses. Another question, based on the current sliding scale, if Ben was to get that same or close to that same number next time, will he give you the same result?

So with Merlin, before I would move the sliding scale, I would make a note indicating "this number is pending" and when he gets that same or close to the same number with the same result, then I would change his dose. If the mid-cycle number does not get me the same result (after the second time), then that is when I increase or decrease the dose. At least with Merlin, he had to prove it to me twice that that dose needed to be changed. Then the next time when I got the same or similar number, I would change the dose and make sure that I can get some extra tests in to make sure that the new dose is safe.

Does that all make sense? I knew that I was a little conservative on creating the sliding scale however, the numbers within that scale have given you safe green number at one time or another or blue numbers at least. So with that said, I think you have two options; 1) go a few more cycles, get some nadirs and see if it changes or 2) go up 0.2. I don't think you can go wrong either way.
 
What a beautiful boy you have! His face is priceless in that picture.

Yep, this is kind of a your call thing. The dose today left some room to go down...but it could be that he need a cycle or 2...some cats are like that. Whatever you think is best!
 
Starting tomorrow I work for three nights in a row so testing will be limited and AMPS will be higher because of it. So maybe I'll hold tight on the current scale at least till I'm done with my stretch of work.
 
Well today was a seriously stupid day on Ben's SS. 469 in the AM then his dose dropped him to a nadir of 81. Now 169 for PM and I have to go to work. So a small dose for him tonight and then he'll probably be silly high again in the morning. Loving ' the sugar dance.
 
View attachment 17178 I thought it would be a good idea to do a curve using my new sliding scale. Thanks CindI! Given my crazy work schedule, when I want to do a curve it's easier to do 24 hours to see what he does both morning and night then to break it up into two. So I started last night. Just three more hours and we'll be done. Yay!
Ben has been a champ. Here he is waiting for the next test.
What a beautiful boy and photo!
 
How did you get Ben's weigh down? how long did it take?
Thank you

If you split the food into 2-3 mini-meals, your cat won't get so hungry between them. A timed feeder helps greatly with that. That will work with the dry you are currently feeding. You might consider a lower carb dry than the Rx stuff - Evo Cat and Kitten, perhaps? Then back off a smidge on each meal to gradually cut calories. You want this to go slowly in order to prevent hepatic lipidosis.

Feeding canned low carb food will help with weight reduction if you can manage to switch - I had a couple civvies drop weight when I switched the entire house to that.

Adding a tablespoon of water to a canned or raw meal helps provide some volume and maintain hydration.
 
How did you get Ben's weigh down? how long did it take?
Thank you
Diabetes got Ben's weight down. He lost almost 4.5 lbs between his steroid overdose and when I figured out he was diabetic. (Which was a little over a month-scary stuff)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top