Alice 9/4 AMPS 284 / PMPS 354, increase

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
last post 8/31

I am thinking Alice should go back up to 1.5u. It could be this pen I haven’t replaced yet, but regardless, I don’t think I am seeing low enough numbers at this dose. Her diabetes began officially sometime between September and October really, so she is hitting the “long-term” point, too.

Thoughts on increase? I will pick up my other pens hopefully later this week. I could wait for a new pen but she is repeatedly over the renal threshold and she’s also about to start getting chonky and I just want her regulated and her appetite down! :p

Found out I will be traveling for a week at the end of October. I will need to find someone to do pokes. How did you convince friends or family to learn? Lol. -Is there such a thing as a vacation dose that doesn’t require someone to test before shooting? It’s somehow easier to find people to give shots than to test. :(

Hope all your sweet, sweet babies are well. <3
 
If you're following TR you can increase every 6 cycles. Since it's been a while since you've seen a green I'd agree it's time for an increase. At least she's hitting the blues on this dose...but she looks like she could use a nudge.

Is there any way she can travel with you? I just don't go anywhere anymore if I can't take Luci along...she's a good little traveler. :)

Hope your day is pleasant and that Alice will come back to the beach..it's a great day for the Tiki Hut :)
 
Hey girl, hey!

I’ve done both a vacation dose for sitters that can’t test and taken Mowgli with me. Both options have worked but if you want to keep giving Alice her regular dose taking her with you is the only option if your sitter won’t test.

If you choose a sitter that can’t test then just ask for guidance on a good vacation dose 3 days before you leave. That will give you the chance to try the dose and drain your previous dose depot and allow members to give feedback based on more current data

Kind of glad to hear that you’re concerned about Alice gaining weight! Doesn’t it seem like just yesterday she was so struggling to keep it on? She’s come so far!
 
images
 
I will be flying and besides the stress of the trip on her, I don’t know how to fly with a cat....... normally would have the human at home for travels if possible, human is going as well. So anyway I’m not thinking that bringing her will work well.... but I can definitely make sure she has a feed schedule that is adhered to, so that will go a long way in making it so that she doesn’t accidentally dive..... this current dose I feel like in itself would make a perfect vacation dose right at this moment. :p she’s been yellow all day almost every day and the blues I am getting right now are usually after fasting for 4 hours or more, or lower food intake days.......

Anyway it’s not until the last week of October so we have time to work on it. So far I think maybe I can get my nurse friend on board to spot check during the day maybe, for testing? But then I have to have a morning shoot and an evening shoot.......

Eta: also I think we will definitely take the increase tonight. Back up to 1.5! In this case is it possible this (expired) pen has already lost a degree of efficacy? Because I can get another of my spare pens Sunday... then she might need to go right back down.... ! :)
 
Was the pen left out for days? Did it freeze?

If not, it's probably not the pen since you're still getting blues from it...just saying that 9 times out of 10, it's not the insulin, it's the kitty :facepalm:
Thanks. That’s what I really want to understand. If it’s not the pen that’s okay, I just have to rule it out. Hahaha. :banghead::p


I see people mention if kitty’s BGL goes down after food it can be a sign of pancreatic action. But Alice only goes up at +2-+4..... I’m in this weird reduce/“no wait don’t reduce I take it back!” pattern right now it seems like. Cats. Sigh. :confused:
 
I don't even think about a reduction until Luci insists by having a steady show of greens and then doing one of her famous shark-chasing moves....3 times below 50 or 1 time below 40...otherwise she's steady as she goes. It seems to be she's found her sweet spot - too much insulin for my taste but if that's what it takes, that's what it takes..took us a while to get her on Lev...but she seems to be liking this dose a great deal...just a little steering to keep her away from the sharks.....:D
 
I think an increase is a good idea. You can have a vacation dose for someone who doesn't test. It's best to wait until a few days before you are leaving to ask because a lot can change between now and than. As Amanda mentioned, you'll want to reduce about 3 shots before you leave to drain the depot.
 
I don't even think about a reduction until Luci insists by having a steady show of greens and then doing one of her famous shark-chasing moves....3 times below 50 or 1 time below 40...otherwise she's steady as she goes. It seems to be she's found her sweet spot - too much insulin for my taste but if that's what it takes, that's what it takes..took us a while to get her on Lev...but she seems to be liking this dose a great deal...just a little steering to keep her away from the sharks.....:D
Well so before this last reduction I had asked about considering her as long term, and not giving reductions at 50 anymore.... but was met with some disagreement, then she tried to dive again. Maybe that was when I reduced again from 1.75 to 1.5..... I would like to not give reductions so easily, because now she is not holding them the same as before.... but she is such a weird case in the first place since I think her cancer caused the diabetes.....
 
I think an increase is a good idea. You can have a vacation dose for someone who doesn't test. It's best to wait until a few days before you are leaving to ask because a lot can change between now and than. As Amanda mentioned, you'll want to reduce about 3 shots before you leave to drain the depot.
I may be able to get someone to spot test at minimum, so she won’t go a week without any testing, I’m sure I can guarantee at least that! And I know if she eats before her shot and eats at regular intervals she would be okay anyway, in theory. The person that will be around to feed everyone just has a needle problem and I cannot expect them to do the poking part! Feeding 5 animals with specific instructions is a lot already. :p
 
PMPS was 354, +3 was only down to 329.....

Nights when she runs this high I haven’t even tried to test for a nadir. I’ve been taking a chance to relax earlier in bed with less worry. We took that increase to 1.5u and honestly I probably should have sooner.

Would anyone like to remind me how long to hold a dose before I decide it’s not enough? Twice now I feel like I have held her doses a little too long......
 
I got a +6.4 (I don’t know why I am up!) and I forgot what it was exactly, 300-something, but I was quite dismayed by it. No significant change at all, despite not having a lot of large snacks, despite all the running and laser chasing we did together, just very solid solid solid solid pink. :arghh:

Her numbers are just getting yuckier!

—but it was such a delight to see her running and so playful tonight. That always makes me happy. :cat:
 
Back
Top