Alice 8/14 AMPS 103, 1 hr late, +4 46 (short video) +5 51 +6 50 +7 67 / PMPS 207 +4 121

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
yesterday she had a low of 49 at nearly +5, today I caught a 46, but once again I think she needed to also eat a little more. She didn’t want the LC that was currently in her bowl so I gave it to my feline vacuum cleaner who will suck up any food in front of him. :p

One more lime and we will reduce I think back to a fat 1.5.....

She’s eating about 1/3 can of friskies 5% so I will test again after an hour or so...... the past has taught me usually she will go up from here, but then again it’s also taught me that sometimes kitties throw curve balls. Haha.
 
Looks like shes playing Oscar's game! :cat:
Close enough! Lol!
I just decided yesterday not to reduce this dose unless she goes below 45, or is lime three times, because she is nearly considered “long-term” and we just increased to 1.75 when the decrease to 1.5 I held for quite awhile just wasn’t enough.... I think we need 1.6u....!!! Whaaaaa! Tricky!
 
Nice catch on the 46! Below is from the Taking Reductions . I highlighted the part that would weren't sure about. . I would still consider Alice a newly diagnosed diabetic.

REDUCTIONS:Newly diagnosed diabetics- less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS.
We highly suggest taking a reduction any time any kitty drops into the 30s or below. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers following TR who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.


.
 
Cute video! Looks like she said,Can't you see I'm busy!
images
 
@Bobbie And Bubba , she was severely unregulated until April, so she spent at least 6 months with no adequate regulation, dx was sometime in October but insulin was not started until the end of December. She did not hold the last reduction to 1.5 well and I tried to hold it for quite awhile, then tried to just fatten up the dose but that did not quite seem like enough either. Her last reduction to 1.5 was based on a very high 40s number too, and I realized later the response seemed preemptive.

Last year in September she was treated for some sort of infection. Prior to that she had been thinning a bit for about a year. My suspicion was that she was probably prediabetic for longer than anyone realized. She weighs more now than she did since she was maybe 10 or 11, though still not overweight.

My thoughts are that she is about a month away from being long-term anyway, splitting the difference at 45, and she did not hold the 1.5u reduction well enough, and I reduced it so quickly this last time because she was chasing reductions like crazy from after her spay and tumor removal in June. I reduced it because I was scared. It seems like the more aggressive I am with her care, the better she has done, though, and even though she has been cranky about pokies lately, she’s easy to look after overall.

I am still somewhat toying with taking the reduction since it is day two lime, and with her shot being an hour late this morning, too..... but 1.5 just wasn’t good enough.... maybe I can play with some colored water to decide what my difference between 1.75 and a fat 1.5 really look like........
 
She is persistently at 50 at the +6 mark. I will be adding a couple of drops of syrup to a little more LC, to help her surf, because I think her tummy is pretty full right now! Re-test at +7. She is surfing really well at this point......

I think I may take a reduction to a fat 1.5, try to get something between 1.5-1.75......?
 
She is persistently at 50 at the +6 mark. I will be adding a couple of drops of syrup to a little more LC, to help her surf, because I think her tummy is pretty full right now! Re-test at +7. She is surfing really well at this point......

I think I may take a reduction to a fat 1.5, try to get something between 1.5-1.75......?
I would just give the LC to help her surf since this in 1/2 through the cycle.
 
If it’s hard to keep her above 50 in spite of syrup or HC, she wants a reduction. I think she does. Up Alice!

Combining taking skinny/fat or smaller reductions plus multiple times under 50 is not recommended. Pick one or the other. Three times under and 0.25 reductions or skinny/fat on below 50.
 
If it’s hard to keep her above 50 in spite of syrup or HC, she wants a reduction. I think she does. Up Alice!

Combining taking skinny/fat or smaller reductions plus multiple times under 50 is not recommended. Pick one or the other. Three times under and 0.25 reductions or skinny/fat on below 50.

Okay thank you. I will give that thought. One or the other. I’m just not sure why 1.5 wasn’t good enough but 1.75 is too much and how the reduction was taken previously.......

She only had LC both yesterday and today though, so I wasn’t needing to prop her numbers up, only mentioned really out of concern for needing to leave the house for a short bit.
 
I did a +11 and we are in the yellow at 207, I suspect bouncing, will take the reduction but since I was late this morning I will be moving her shot up 30 min tonight, will still monitor, of course!
Back down to 1.5u, little miss!!!

Do I need another PS test if she is already yellow? She’s obviously safe to shoot.
 
Do I need another PS test if she is already yellow? She’s obviously safe to shoot.
Probably not , I doubt she will drop any at this point in the cycle. But that said, I would get another test at +12 because that is me..,

If you do and she is the same or higher , you could shoot the same dose through the bounce and take the reduction tomorrow morning. As long as you can monitor tonight.
 
Probably not , I doubt she will drop any at this point in the cycle. But that said, I would get another test at +12 because that is me..,

If you do and she is the same or higher , you could shoot the same dose through the bounce and take the reduction tomorrow morning. As long as you can monitor tonight.
Oops your post hadn’t loaded while I was doing the things! But since I moved her back up 30 minutes as well, I kind of figured that’s somewhere between not taking the decrease and taking it? Something like that!!!
 
Oh +4 was 121, looks like she is clearing the bounce but I am thinking she should surf through the night as long as she eats more, which she will, I’m quite confident. So I hope we get some sleep!
Ever since the post-DKA sleepless marathon I look for sleep everywhere. :joyful:
 
Back
Top